We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (567)
Filter reviews
567 results
Traveller rating
299
179
58
15
16
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
299
179
58
15
16
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslovely hotelbeer gardenthe main hotelgreat foodthe pubvaried menusea viewprawnsfresh milksmall hotelboth nightsherringseafoodlovely viewisle of skyedining roompalm trees
Filter
Updating list...
72 - 77 of 567 reviews
Reviewed 29 August 2017

Rooms really spacious and comfortable and views from the front bedrooms overlooking the loch were stunning. The food and service was excellent. It is a great place to stay whilst exploring Plockton and surrounding areas.

Room Tip: Choose a room overlooking the loch.
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shelly T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2017

Plockton is very special to me as my maternal grandmother was born here and I came here every year on holiday as a child in the early to mid 70s. The Plockton Hotel was a great place even then. I have returned many times over the years and was last here in July 2016 with members of my family. We had a meal here one evening and it was to die for. The fresh seafood in particular was just amazing. Lovely atmosphere, great service and friendly staff. Can't wait to come back.

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank jo_rennie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2017 via mobile

Staying in Plockton whilst touring the area..this place is a gem...but very busy as peak season, so try and book your table if you can. We ate here on several nights, varied menu, great food..good wine and gin choices..lovely staff, who were very accommodating. Plockton is a picturesque village, sit in the Hotel's beer garden and enjoy the views..

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Liz R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2017

4 of us on a tour of Western Scotland. Stayed 2 nights at the Plockton Hotel as a base for going on Skye. Stared poorly as we had asked for and booked the ground floor room and it had been reallocated. We got a room on the first floor which was a little inconvenient but we managed. However the Hotel served our purposes admirably.
It is in many ways a pub with rooms and a lively busy pub at that. It has a Dining room to the rear and the service and willingness to be helpful and friendly was excellent. Meals were good from an extensive menu inevitably favouring sea food
The rooms were well furnished and clean and the beds were comfortable.
The atmosphere in the pub was welcoming and being on the front at a very pretty seaside town with great views it was a very good choice for our tour

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Philip K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2017 via mobile

We visited for a Saturday night stay in August. We'd booked in May and were told the hotel was full, but there was room in their annexe at £45 per person. We accepted this over the phone and didn't hear anything back. I called to check a week before and after some searching the booking was located. Emails had gone unanswered.
On arrival, we wanted to leave our luggage whilst we went for a seal spotting boat ride. Eventually after locating staff, we did so and returned to check in 90 minutes later. After locating staff, we were taken 4 doors down the road to our room. It was in a house that had 4 rooms divided for guest with a small kitchen area at the entrance door. Our room was located at the front with a lovely view over the Loch. It had a double bed and ensuite shower room. Clean and comfortable.
There isn't any wifi available in the annexe - which to me in 2017, is very strange. It's the easiest item a hotel can add for guests - especially in an area without mobile phone signal. I pity foreign tourists needing this to connect with home. The wifi in the hotel was (as staff described it) "poor". They said if it works, it's best in reception. Most of the time it said it wasn't available.
We'd accepted their offer of a table in the restaurant and said we'd be there for 1930 for dinner. On arrival it was chaos in the bar and someone informed me that staff had been taken sick in the kitchen and most restaurant bookings were being cancelled. Our reservation still stood, but it was obvious how rude staff were being to other tourist when they were told "no more reservations". Maybe they all need to have better customer service training!
We sat in the snug overlooking the loch and our 3 servers were fantastic. Food was great too - but passer bys must have thought it odd to see a restaurant empty on a Saturday evening that wasn't accepting customers. Eventually it filled up again as they let people in again!
We had breakfast the next morning and sat down as there wasn't anyone meeting diners in the restaurant - a massive choice of food too!
We returned to our room to pack and came back to reception to check out....once we'd located staff!
A nice stay was had, but not having good wifi in 2017 is very odd - and maybe staff could be updated on their individual responsibilities - even having the reception bell attached electronically to a member of staff would make them more accessible instead of customers having to hunt them down all the time. Even the restaurant could do with someone to meet diners as they come in for breakfast and evening meals.
Maybe if these items are looked at to bring the hotel up to the expectations of a 2017 visitor we'd return for another stay, but until then....

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Paul C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews