We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice room, friendly owners”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Plockton
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Haven Guest House
Ranked #1 of 14 Plockton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Nice room, friendly owners”
Reviewed 22 August 2014

The owner of Applecross Inn called her friends at Haven Guesthouse to get us a room in Plockton on a Sunday night in August. Nice result! We had attentive, friendly service from the owner and her daughter, and really enjoyed our spacious room and bath. Other than a "doggy" smell when you open the front door, we had no complaints. And the doggies themselves were well-behaved. Breakfast is in a cheerful room and the still-warm scones were delicious. Be forewarned that Plockton has only three restaurants available for dinner. We were able to squeeze into the Plockton Inn bar (highly recommended) but as others have noted, you might end up with no where for dinner if you don't plan ahead. Plockton itself is charming. We loved the waterfront and were sorry we couldn't stay longer.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank KkkkKatie1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

235 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    178
    52
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
49
120
7
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2014 via mobile

On august 2013 me and my boyfried get lost on our way back to isle of Skye... After many "no vacancies"... We found ourselves alone without cash, hopes and it was about to get seriously dark... I knocked on the door and the wonderful owner told me the hotel was closed, i was about to go away and ready to spend the night in the car... But the lovely lady ultimatley run after me and asked me if i had any other place to go. Obiviously the answer was no. Then she arranged us in the only room furnished and gave us everything we need. The day after she gave us a wonderful breakfast even if they were not meant to, and let us all the time to find a bank without asking documents or anything. In the end she saved our life, she and her housband were extra gentle and i cant say anything else... I hope one day i can get back and give her on other hug... Maybe booking in advance this time :-)

PS sorry for my english, i hope it is clear enough :-)

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Stefano G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2014

For Highland hospitality in a setting of stunning beauty this will take some beating.We stayed for a week in July..lovely comfortable rooms,excellent service and a breakfast like a 5star hotel.That was our experience.And will we be going back?? You bet!! OCH AYE

Room Tip: Book early...They get visitors from all over theworld
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 144harvey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2014

This wonderful family run guest house is a real find, fab comfy beds and rooms and great. breakfasts. Please ignore the old reviews as nothing to do with the new owners. We'd just arrived from Gleneagles and were a little nervous that it would be a big change but they delivered superbly - most definitely on the breakfast front as we're all still raving about them. It's just up from the front and handy for everything. Calum's boat trip is good fun and worth doing too.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 19NN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2014

We had a double room which was dog friendly. Ideal place for short stay. All staff / owners warm and friendly an encouraged to enjoy an excellent hearty breakfast with home baking. Even our dog, Alfie, was encouraged to enjoy the small piece of sausage which my wife left.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Gerard G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2014

We stayed here as part of a family trip to Scotland, 6 people in 3 rooms. Originally scheduled for 3 nights, we had to extend our stay for several days due to an injury to one of our party. The staff went out of their way to accommodate our situation, and were kind and helpful beyond our expectations. The rooms are well equipped, very clean and quiet. WiFi is fast with a strong signal throughout. Breakfast is quite good with the usual Scottish/English food and good service. Dinner is not served but several restaurants and pubs are an easy walk from the hotel. A pub with good food is next door and a chippie is across the street. The harbor, pier, and visitor center are a block away.

Room Tip: Singles, doubles, and family rooms are available. A 2 bedroom chalet is in back. The top floor has...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Todd M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Berwick, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2014

A great place to stay, i was in room 4, huge double bed, very comfy Egyptian cotton sheets, very clean. large flat screen tv, and all other essentials, and after a long day of bike round this beautiful area, i was able to have a bath. total bliss.

They also have a great lounge area, with old chesterfields, my sort of place, shame their not licensed to serve alcohol or do food at night that would of been great, as when i was there, we couldn`t get into any of the restaurants as everything was fully booked. But if your just looking for a bed and a good all you can eat breakfast then definitely come here.

Room Tip: use room 4, i liked it very much
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ross M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Plockton
14.4 mi away
Hotel Eilean Iarmain
14.0 mi away
The Torridon
The Torridon
#1 of 1 in Torridon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 555 reviews
20.6 mi away
Cuillin Hills Hotel
Cuillin Hills Hotel
#1 of 6 in Portree
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,011 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Kyle Hotel
Kyle Hotel
#2 of 2 in Kyle of Lochalsh
3.0 of 5 bubbles 334 reviews
3.5 mi away
Tingle Creek Hotel
Tingle Creek Hotel
#1 of 1 in Erbusaig
4.5 of 5 bubbles 359 reviews
24.4 mi away
Shieldaig Lodge
Shieldaig Lodge
#1 of 5 in Gairloch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Haven Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Haven Guest House

Property: The Haven Guest House
Address: 3 Innes Street, Plockton IV52 8TW, Scotland (Formerly The Haven Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Ross and Cromarty > Plockton
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Plockton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A friendly family owned Guest House which has been newly refurbished. All rooms are en suite with a tv and tea making facilities. We also offer free Wi Fi in lounge areas. A full Scottish breakfast with a hot and cold buffet. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Haven Hotel Plockton
The Haven Guest House Plockton, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing