We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Delightful and entertaining stay”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Plockton
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Plockton Gallery - The Manse
Ranked #10 of 14 Plockton B&B and Inns
Northumberland
Level Contributor
277 reviews
119 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 254 helpful votes
“Delightful and entertaining stay”
Reviewed 30 September 2012

The Manse is right in the centre of Plockton. A lovely village on a sea lock. Rooms are charming with some wonderful paintings -the Manse is also a gallery. (We nearly bought one until we realised we had missed a zero in the price!). Rooms are wonderfully laid out with superb bathrooms. Breakfast is superb and set you up for the day. The owner is extremely welcoming and entertaining and recommended some superb walks. (One out of centre of Plockton is highly recommended after a large dinner). A highly recommended stay in a superb location.

Room Tip: Most rooms are delightful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank ninebanks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    40
    1
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
11
20
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gourock
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2012

This is a lovely house and garden festooned with original art! Extremely clean and comfortable room with tea making facilities. Beautiful bathroom with lots of hot water and some quirky bits and pieces! Breakfast was amazing with fresh bread and home made jams. Plockton is extremely picturesque and we were so lucky to have sunshine in September! Will definitely be back!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
miriamclare, Owner at Plockton Gallery - The Manse, responded to this review, 25 September 2012
Thanks, Jan, it was good fun meeting you two, too! I couldnt find a card for your glass artist friend, please tell her to send me info. I am always interested in new artists. Narrative glass light boxes sound amazing. Glad you enjoyed your weekend here. Miriam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
71 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2012

Great place to stay where you are left to your own and can come and go as you please.
We had a great time and would definitely recommend.
Breakfast was lovely and Miriam was flexible with when we wanted it.
Some great restaurants in Plocton too.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank peter_mm_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
miriamclare, Owner at Plockton Gallery - The Manse, responded to this review, 25 September 2012
Thank you for taking time to review. Do come back again. Best wishes, Miriam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dundee, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2012

This was our first stay at The Manse and it was part of a short break trip to celebrate a birthday. We were welcomed by Miriam's French assistant Annabelle and were offered coffee. Miriam was out on the water helping Calum with his afternoon seal watching boat trip!
The facilities were excellent — the bedroom was spotless, large and very comfortable with a four poster bed and the usual tea making facilities, with fresh milk and lovely biscuits. The bathroom was spacious with a large free-standing bath and endless really hot water. There were also terry towelling robes and lots of little extras, soaps and lotions.
As the house is also an art gallery, it was full of paintings and other artworks, some of which were by Miriam herself. This led to an inpromptu wine and nibbles event in the early evening whilst Miriam entertained some customers.
On Miriam's recommendation we ate at The Shores Restaurant and had a wonderful meal. Afterwards, in Miriam's company, we enjoyed a ceilidh in the Plockton Inn across the road from The Manse.
Breakfast the following morning was also wonderful with a fresh fruit smoothie, porridge and full Scottish breakfast with home made breads and preserves — all very tasty indeed.
We delayed our departure from magical Plockton to enjoy one of Calum's entertaining seal watching trips on the Sula Mhor, with Miriam assisting him again.
We will certainly be returning to The Manse as both it and Plockton are wonderful!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank KenCameron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
miriamclare, Owner at Plockton Gallery - The Manse, responded to this review, 25 September 2012
Hi Ken and Helen, THANK YOU! That's an OTT review... You should have said we were at school together, otherwise everyone will expect wine and nibbles in the drawing room and a full session in the pub later! it was brilliant fun catching up with you, come back again soon. mx
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2012

Absolutely beautiful location and an equally beautiful place to stay. I stayed at The Manse for a creative writing course and I could not have been more impressed. This property is full of character and right in the centre of Plockton. It backs on to a stunning view of the sea lake and provided the perfect setting for creativity! My room was on the top floor and extremely comfortable and clean. Can't wait for my next visit!

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Knight0511
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
miriamclare, Owner at Plockton Gallery - The Manse, responded to this review, 25 September 2012
Belated thanks Criona, for your nice review. It was a totally stimulating week, which I thoroughly enjoyed as well. I am looking forward to the next one in a few weeks time. take care of yourself plus the extra one!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2012

I stayed here for a week for a writing seminar and loved every minute of it. Miriam is a jewel and the The Manse is reflective of her warmth and creativity. I don't do breakfasts but the diverse and delightful options offered changed my mind. My room was spacious and lovely.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank harriethd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oban, Scotland, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 May 2012

We had a lovely time earlier in May when we stayed for two nights. Plockton was beautiful and the house itself was absolutely stunning. We stayed in the large four poster room, the bed is the most comfortable bed we have ever slept in and the room met all of our expectations and more, the bathroom was huge and had lots of little extras such as soft dressing gowns to wear. Miriam herself was a wonderful host; she was so welcoming and helpful and told us of the best restaurants/activities to go to. Her full Scottish breakfast we had each day was amazing with freshly baked bread which was a nice touch, but there was also plenty of other options for breakfast too!! By the end of our stay we definitely didn’t want to leave this magical place and can’t wait to stay at Miriam’s beautiful house again!!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christine L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Plockton
3.4 mi away
Tingle Creek Hotel
Tingle Creek Hotel
#1 of 1 in Erbusaig
4.5 of 5 bubbles 359 reviews
14.1 mi away
The Torridon
The Torridon
#1 of 1 in Torridon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 555 reviews
4.5 mi away
Kyle Hotel
Kyle Hotel
#2 of 2 in Kyle of Lochalsh
3.0 of 5 bubbles 334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.6 mi away
Cuillin Hills Hotel
Cuillin Hills Hotel
#1 of 6 in Portree
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,010 reviews
24.4 mi away
Shieldaig Lodge
Shieldaig Lodge
#1 of 5 in Gairloch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 134 reviews
9.7 mi away
Hartfield House Applecross
Hartfield House Applecross
#1 of 2 in Applecross
4.5 of 5 bubbles 46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Plockton Gallery - The Manse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plockton Gallery - The Manse

Property: Plockton Gallery - The Manse
Address: The Old Manse Innes Street, Plockton IV52 8TW, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Ross and Cromarty > Plockton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Plockton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Its a big old house, a former manse, with views of the sea loch- Loch Carron- from all the rooms. Big rooms and bathrooms. Full of paintings, lots of which are for sale. Log fires in the winter. BBQ's in the summer. Opposite the Plockton Inn and round the corner from the Plockton Hotel and The Shores, excellent meals out are easy to arrange.As an article in the May 2013 Yachting Monthly says, " if anything, you've too many views around Plockton. Snuggled around a sheltered cove on the south side of Loch Carron, the place is absurdly picturesque."n.b. There is no B&B sign outside, we are opposite the Plockton Inn and there are a lot of sculptural pieces in the garden. Wrought iron gate and grey front door. There are working locks on all bedroom doors and for the front door, just ask me for the keys if you require them. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Plockton Gallery - The Manse Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing