We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Smoking good”
Review of Plockton Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Plockton
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Plockton Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Plockton
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 June 2014

The Plockton Inn in the small village of Plockton is a short drive from Eilean Donan Castle and the perfect place to stop for Lunch after having visited the castle. The Inn has its own smokehouse so the local fish and shellfish arrived beautifully smoked in your plate and I must admit it has ben a long time since I hate Salmon that was perfectly smoked. The outside terrace is nice in sunshine with a view down the street of the peaceful picture postcard village. If you like fresh sea food that tastes as it should then this is the place to go.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Yvettetravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (478)
There are newer reviews for Plockton Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

247 - 253 of 478 reviews

Reviewed 15 June 2014

We choose the Plockton Inn in preference to the Plockton Hotel for Sunday lunch. Likely both would have been fine. As it was a lovely day we were able to sit outside which would be your best option as the dining area inside looked a little dreary, still plenty of punters seemed quite happy there. The food was surprisingly good and would recommend the sea food, apparently locally sourced. We really enjoyed mussels and prawns for starters. Main courses, not an abundance of choice and we played safe with beef burgers and chips, but again tasty and well cooked.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Nos6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Welcoming and helpful staff, comfortable rooms and excellent food. I have no hestation in recommmending this hotel, and will certainly stay there next time I am in the area. The Americans in our party were enormously impressed with Plockton, and the sea food.

Room Tip: If you are really tall, ask for a non-attic room.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

This is a very nice bed and breakfast to stay in whilst visitng the beautiful village of Plockton. We had a nice, well equipped twin room with ensuite. Staff were helpful and very pleasant. The breakfast was excellent, i especially enjoyed my scrambled eggs with the home smoked salmon on the side so tasty. We also dined here for an evening meal, the bar and dining room was very busy the meal again was of excellent quality, i enjoyed my guinea fowl with bacon and red wine sauce and my husband enjoyed the catch of the day.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank brunodog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2014

Stayed one rainy night here. Room in house across the road, which must have been the disabled room. Comfortable twin rooms and just about everything you could want except somewhere obvious to plug the kettle into.The wet room was appropriately named - everything in the bathroom got wet when the shower was on. Ate in the restaurant, which was really excellent, if a little pricey, and by 7.30 half the specials were off. The bar was a warm and friendly place.Breakfast was ample and the home-smoked haddock the best I've ever eaten.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andrea T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2014

Stayed at Plockton Inn for two nights. Room in house over the road. We had an attic room - very spacious but ensuite facilities - especially the shower and WC had to be negotiated with care. Limited headroom. Overall a very good room though.
Evening meal was very good. Once in the small restaurant once on the bar - more atmosphere in the latter, Nice menu with specials.
Breakfast straightforward - the hot food tasted freshly cooked.
Plockton is a beautiful location and well worth the visit.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Pwcrafton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2014

We were staying in Balmacar and was recommended the Plockton Inn by our hosts. Really busy and popular Inn. Very good quality food, word of warning in that the soup is hot hot hot...in heat..burnt my mouth on first spoonful and had to wait over 15 minutes to start eating it...me and my husband have still been wondering how on earth they can get it that hot! The bowl was steaming. But apart from that I would still encourage anyone to make a visit..

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Stuart A A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Plockton
3.5 mi away
Tingle Creek Hotel
Tingle Creek Hotel
#1 of 1 in Erbusaig
389 reviews
3.9 mi away
Balmacara Hotel
Balmacara Hotel
#1 of 1 in Balmacara
235 reviews
14.0 mi away
The Torridon
The Torridon
#1 of 1 in Torridon
601 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Kyle Hotel
Kyle Hotel
#2 of 2 in Kyle of Lochalsh
359 reviews
14.4 mi away
Hotel Eilean Iarmain
20.6 mi away
Cuillin Hills Hotel
Cuillin Hills Hotel
#1 of 6 in Portree
1,068 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Plockton Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plockton Inn

Address: Innes Street, Plockton IV52 8TW, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Ross and Cromarty > Plockton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Plockton
Hotel Class:3 star — Plockton Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Also Known As:
Plockton Hotel Plockton
Plockton Inn Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing