We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really nice place to stay.”
Review of Plockton Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Plockton
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Plockton Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Plockton
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 July 2014

Spent two nights here in June 2014. We had an attic room in the annex directly across the road from the main building.
Room was spacious and comfortable with a nice view of the back garden and the sea beyond. En-suite was a bit unsatisfactory with the toilet in a cupboard with cut-away door to accommodate the sloping ceiling and the shower in an alcove with shower door directly into bedroom. This would be OK in a single room or for couples where modesty isn't an issue. Not so convenient for sexagenarians!
Our meal in the restaurant was excellent followed by a traditional music session in the bar later made for a very pleasant evening. I've been to many traditional music sessions in Scotland and Ireland and whilst this one was OK it lacked a bit of atmosphere and was a bit "tame".
Breakfast was very good and all in all we enjoyed our stay in this beautiful village.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Anthony G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (499)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

259 - 265 of 499 reviews

Reviewed 3 July 2014

Charming inn in a charming village! We spent two nights here on our visit to Isle of Skye. The room was somewhat small, but had all that we needed and had a cozy feel to it. Our room was above their restaurant/kitchen, so the breakfast bacon smell traveled up and woke us up :) The staff was courteous. We ate dinner at their restaurant both nights, which was very good. Make reservations early as they tend to get full very fast.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lv2Teach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014

A great location in Plockton. We had a suite of rooms with a garden, across the road from the main Inn. The Inn had great evening meals (be sure to book a table) and excellent breakfast. I had kippers - enormous and tasty. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: The suite of two rooms across the road from the Inn would be ideal for a family
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jasminetea53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2014

Nice 2nd floor corner room with lots of space and modern bath on the 2nd floor overlooking the street. Don't worry there's not enough traffic in this small town for any appreciable street noise! But best of all was the restaurant. Call ahead to make sure they have enough scallops and pre-order them if necessary. Have eaten scallops all over the world and these were flat out the best anywhere and prepared to absolute perfection in a light sauce. And the clam chowder is also outstanding. Service can be a little slow but our meals were always taken in a full house and the staff hustled gamely to keep the food coming and the patrons happy.

Just a short block from the small harbor in a great town for walking. Which is about all there is to do in Plockton ... walk, eat, and sit with friends over good food and a few drinks while watching the other walkers, eaters, and drinkers move about about this beautiful little town!

Room Tip: We were in #6 and friends in #7 and we liked both rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MNEAustin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

We took the opportunity of a cheap deal from ScotRail to travel to Plockton by train and stay a night. Weather was great and it is a wonderfully scenic train journey from Inverness on the Kyle of Lochalsh line. The village is a half mile downhill walk from the tiny station and the Plockton Inn is on the left as you enter the village.

The Inn is really a pub with rooms and a restaurant. Our room was fairly basic but perfectly adequate.with its own bathroom with bath and shower (Room 7). Meals are in either the dining room or the bar but the same menu applies. Strong on seafood, the main menu is supplemented by a range of specials depending on what is available from the day's catch. We indulged in local langoustines in garlic butter followed by whole dover sole - a real treat.

While we were there by train just for a short visit, the Inn would be a good base for exploring Skye and Wester Ross.

Room Tip: Our room was in the main building but they also have rooms in a house across the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Campbell36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014

The Plockton Inn in the small village of Plockton is a short drive from Eilean Donan Castle and the perfect place to stop for Lunch after having visited the castle. The Inn has its own smokehouse so the local fish and shellfish arrived beautifully smoked in your plate and I must admit it has ben a long time since I hate Salmon that was perfectly smoked. The outside terrace is nice in sunshine with a view down the street of the peaceful picture postcard village. If you like fresh sea food that tastes as it should then this is the place to go.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Yvettetravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2014

We choose the Plockton Inn in preference to the Plockton Hotel for Sunday lunch. Likely both would have been fine. As it was a lovely day we were able to sit outside which would be your best option as the dining area inside looked a little dreary, still plenty of punters seemed quite happy there. The food was surprisingly good and would recommend the sea food, apparently locally sourced. We really enjoyed mussels and prawns for starters. Main courses, not an abundance of choice and we played safe with beef burgers and chips, but again tasty and well cooked.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Nos6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Plockton
24.4 mi away
Shieldaig Lodge
Shieldaig Lodge
#1 of 5 in Gairloch
190 reviews
3.5 mi away
Tingle Creek Hotel
Tingle Creek Hotel
#1 of 1 in Erbusaig
395 reviews
14.4 mi away
Hotel Eilean Iarmain
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14 mi away
The Torridon
The Torridon
#1 of 1 in Torridon
635 reviews
20.6 mi away
Cuillin Hills Hotel
Cuillin Hills Hotel
#1 of 6 in Portree
1,123 reviews
4.5 mi away
Kyle Hotel
Kyle Hotel
#2 of 2 in Kyle of Lochalsh
369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Plockton Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plockton Inn

Address: Innes Street, Plockton IV52 8TW, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Ross and Cromarty > Plockton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Plockton
Hotel Class:3 star — Plockton Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Also Known As:
Plockton Hotel Plockton
Plockton Inn Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing