We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent food at a reasonable price”
Review of Plockton Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Plockton
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Plockton Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Plockton
Certificate of Excellence
Telford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Excellent food at a reasonable price”
Reviewed 31 July 2014

We arrived without booking as visiting Plockton was a last minute decision. The welcome was warm and friendly and we were sitting at our table and drinking cask ale within 5 minutes of arriving. We all had the fish chowder which was filling and tasty. Good choice of local real ales all reasonably priced, a true fish-lovers paradise with local produce being the king.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Debbie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

444 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    211
    150
    58
    21
    4
See reviews for
86
227
17
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2014 via mobile

First time visit to tranquil Plockton, arrived here on a whim whilst travelling back south from Skye and stayed for one night at the Inn. We had a large room across the street in the hotel's other premises which was very clean and comfortable. The well stocked bar was awash with good whisky and the seafood platter was a joy to behold. Friendly staff and locals, a place we will visit again in the near future. Four stars only because of the short visit.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Graham P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
329 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2014 via mobile

Had a meal there food very nice price was fair for the food local beers top rate you need to book a table for meals we did a walk up and got luck ! Staff know what they are talking about re menu and beers etc Plockton a great place but parking could be fun in high season

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank johnwhite18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014

Had 2 rooms here back in late June , 1 x family and a double.( 6 x people )
Both rooms were extremely spacious and conveniently located just across the road from the pub.
The family room on the ground floor has access to a rear garden , walk to the end and you are right on the loch.
The Restaurant was a bit of a disappointment , the tables are far too close together and at times it was a struggle to get in and out from your seat particularly with two young children sat at the table.
The Restaurant is small and there are simply too many tables and chairs in there , it also gets very busy as does the bar where you can also eat . ( Probably a better option if you can get a table )
The actual food was fairly average , depending what you order , quite small portions so good idea to order a couple of side dishes .
Not much choice of draught beers .
Breakfast in the morning , average , and served in the somewhat cramped restaurant .

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank woz72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow
Level Contributor
102 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014

Plockton is just a beautiful place, and this hotel is in Plockton. The Plockton Inn has rooms across from the main building where we stayed. The room was on the top floor and was quite small but was clean and reasonable value.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank smoboz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poole, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2014

From our first view as we arrived here it was a delight, the rooms in the annex across the street from the restaurant were unbelievable in both their cleanliness and comfort. The staff couldn't have been more accommodating if they tried, they were all very friendly and helpful, in all ways they were all too willing to enter into a friendly banter that makes holidaying here more enjoyable. We stayed three days and even with changes of staff as the system decreed they were ALL without fail in the same mould. The food in the restaurant was unbelievable in both its variety and its amount. Breakfast was a joy and the evening meal was great giving a nice feeling to the eating experience followed by a 2 minute stroll to the front where the views and the silence was exceptional to ensure that the day completed with the thought that maybe this heavy world in which we live isn't so bad after all.
Thank you to all the staff that made a beautiful setting more than just a great view.

Room Tip: We used the annex across the road, and since that is where we were for our stay, I can only say this...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JPscot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2014 via mobile

Spent two nights here in June 2014. We had an attic room in the annex directly across the road from the main building.
Room was spacious and comfortable with a nice view of the back garden and the sea beyond. En-suite was a bit unsatisfactory with the toilet in a cupboard with cut-away door to accommodate the sloping ceiling and the shower in an alcove with shower door directly into bedroom. This would be OK in a single room or for couples where modesty isn't an issue. Not so convenient for sexagenarians!
Our meal in the restaurant was excellent followed by a traditional music session in the bar later made for a very pleasant evening. I've been to many traditional music sessions in Scotland and Ireland and whilst this one was OK it lacked a bit of atmosphere and was a bit "tame".
Breakfast was very good and all in all we enjoyed our stay in this beautiful village.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Anthony G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Plockton
3.9 mi away
Balmacara Hotel
Balmacara Hotel
#1 of 1 in Balmacara
213 reviews
14.0 mi away
The Torridon
The Torridon
#1 of 1 in Torridon
567 reviews
3.5 mi away
Tingle Creek Hotel
Tingle Creek Hotel
#1 of 1 in Erbusaig
368 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Kyle Hotel
Kyle Hotel
#2 of 2 in Kyle of Lochalsh
344 reviews
14.4 mi away
Hotel Eilean Iarmain
20.6 mi away
Cuillin Hills Hotel
Cuillin Hills Hotel
#1 of 6 in Portree
1,027 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Plockton Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plockton Inn

Property: Plockton Inn
Address: Innes Street, Plockton IV52 8TW, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Ross and Cromarty > Plockton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Plockton
Hotel Class:3 star — Plockton Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Also Known As:
Plockton Hotel Plockton
Plockton Inn Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing