We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fell short for a special occasion”
Review of Duncraig Castle

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Plockton
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Duncraig Castle
Reviewed 7 July 2011

Looking for a romantic place to take my wife for her 40th birthday, I found Duncraig Castle's well presented website. However the experience failed to meet expectation and at £139 per night it was poor value.
Heading down the driveway, the first thing you see as you emerge from the trees is the monstrous modern extension - thankfully due for demolition, so we were told. More effort could be made to soften the austere exterior of the building - e.g. signage, banner, planting etc.
The owner, unusually for a B&B, was nowhere to be seen. The service from the two young members of staff was variable - one gave a genuine, friendly and helpful welcome - whilst the other tried very hard but seemed to be following a set script ("did you enjoy your cereal?") and a little out of her depth.
The room was very pleasant and comfortable with a superb view, but the bathroom had a wobbly toilet seat and a dirty bath. We had a problem with a group of guests who were partying in the lounge until after 1am. The lounge faces directly onto the corridor with bedrooms. Things improved when I asked them to close the lounge door!
Breakfast was disappointing - old, soft cornflakes and a smaller than average cooked breakfast. We were unable to pay by cheque, which I haven't come across at a B&B previously.
To be honest we've stayed at numerous B&Bs (for £30 each per night) which were better than this one. A bit disappointing.

Room Tip: 'Applecross' has good views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank rossy02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (58)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

13 - 19 of 58 reviews

Reviewed 28 June 2011

My Wife and I have just had a wonderful stay at Duncraig Castle. The warmth and hospitality of Louise and Hazel helped to make us feel welcome and relaxed .
We had a room that was in fact a suite with amazing views down Loch Carron.
There was a visitors lounge, on the same floor as our bedroom, which also had amazing views and a cosy log fire.
We had breakfast in the grand dinning room, again with stunning views and log fire.
The breakfasts were fine. We had porridge and a cooked breakfast which we varied each day. It was all very relaxed and nothing was too much trouble.
We will be visiting Duncraig again . Fantastic value !

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank henryhutch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2011

Duncraig Castle is a must if visiting the area. It was lovely to look across the loch from Plockton to 'your castle'. The staff were excellent and really worked hard to make sure your stay was great in every way. They even make sure any new guests get the best table in the dining room for their first breakfast with the view to the Applecross peninsula being breathtaking. We are already discussing our next trip.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Doodle46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2011

Being heavily pregnant my husband and I decided to holiday in the UK this year and so booked a stay at Duncraig for the bank holiday weekend.

The drive up from York to Plockton was absolutely beautiful the scenery around Plockton is quite simply stunning and as much as we tried it was impossible to catch the beauty on camera....so you will just have to visit and see for yourself!

The Castle is well hidden behind its private woodland and as the drive emerges on the edge of the woodland the grandeur of the castle is revealed, it is magnificent with a huge open simple lawned garden to the front.

On arrival we received a very warm welcome from Suzanne and Duncan. The inside of the castle did not disappoint the rooms are enormous with lovely period features and sympathetic furniture and decoration throughout.

We stayed in the Lady Matheson suite which certainly made us feel like we were Lord and Lady of the house! The mattresses, duvets and pillows were the best that I have slept on, what one can expect from the finest hotels, unfortunately for other B&B owners it has made me more picky! The towels were equally luxurious!

The staff were all superb, they were incredibly friendly and polite and nothing was too much trouble so when we learnt that the two girls had only been at the castle for less than two weeks we were somewhat impressed!

The breakfast was delicious and hearty served in the dining room which must be equivalent in square footage of new two bedroom apartments! Quite something.

Plockton was a lovely friendly little fishing village we ate at the Plockton Inn and the Hotel on the waterfront. Both were super but if you only have the one night I would recommend the Plockton Inn, you wont be disappointed if you are a seafood fan.

Duncrag Castle is a truly unique experience most of these superb old family homes of this size and scale have been bought by large hotel chains and made somewhat impersonal. Not at Duncraig Castle it is still a family home which means that you get a true taster of what life would be like living in such a house and best of all they are offering all of this as a B&B and therefore at B&B prices......truly unique!

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SaraandGlenn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2011

Absolutely fantastic! Nothing bad to say about this place : location is gorgeous, castle is splendid, furniture and decoration is lovely, staff & Suzanne are very welcoming, price is very reasonnable... We absolutely loved it! Don't forget to go down to the private beach and watch the sunset over Plockton from there!

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank luce_lm_TripA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2011

Duncraig Castle is a truly unique place to stay. Upon arrival i was greeted personally by Lady Duncraig who made me feel most welcome. The castle has been very tastefully restored with an eye for the original detail. This is complimented by the vast knowledge of Suzan and her staff with the willingness to spend time explaining the history as you are guided to your room.

The Room was warm and welcoming with very comfortable furnishings and a magnificent en suite. The view out into the highlands and across Plockton is breath taking and offers something different every time you look. The guest lounge has games and books on offer to use whilst sitting by the open fire.

Breakfast is prepared and served with attention to the smallest detail. Home made bread accompanies a very traditional breakfast to set you up for the day. The background music of Scottish Pipes and the crackle of the open fire only adds to the experience.

I would thoroughly recommend Duncraig Castle to anyone wanting a unique and personal experience within a building of true character.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AGL05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2011

We drove to Duncraig Castle from Loch Lomond via a very circuitous route (very beautiful scenerey and well worth the journey) using satnav .... as we neared the Kyle of Lochalsh our satnav took us on a quite a wild route .... we found out later in the day there is an easier way but it all added to the fun.

Whichever way you take though ... your final approach is along a one track road ... the you turn off onto a driveway and then you see a building - this is not the Castle .... keep going and after a couple of hundred yards all is revealed ....!!!!! The castle is there ... a huge and splendid building ... unfortunately to the right is a 1960's annex which was used byh a school .... they are trying to get permission to demolish it.

So, eyes forward and to the left and what you see is superb ... then it's in through the front door and into a bygone age ... huge rooms with 20 feet high ceilings and trappings from yesteryear. We met Trevor the manager .... a very helpful young man ... who turned out to do everything ... not a problem as whilst we were there only 3 rooms were operating and 6 more are being refurbished.

Our room was upstairs (remember how high the ceilings are ..!!!!) ... and the room was massive ... about 25 by 30 feet with separate dressing area and a huge bathroom with bath and shower. The bed had the biggest and heaviest duvet we have ever seen.

There is a guest lounge upstairs with superb views to Plockton whilst breakfast in on the ground floor in a large dining room with real log fire .... breakfast was made to order and all the usual trimmings were available - including porridge.

From the Castle it's a n easy drive to Plockton for some good restaurants and in about 15 minutes you are over the bridge and on to Skye.

Next time we are in the area we will stay at the Castle again but saty for longer as one night was not enough.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank portisheadblue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Plockton
24.4 mi away
Shieldaig Lodge
Shieldaig Lodge
#1 of 5 in Gairloch
190 reviews
13.8 mi away
The Torridon
The Torridon
#1 of 1 in Torridon
635 reviews
14.6 mi away
Hotel Eilean Iarmain
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Haven Guest House
The Haven Guest House
#1 of 14 in Plockton
290 reviews
0.6 mi away
Seabank Bed & Breakfast
Seabank Bed & Breakfast
#3 of 14 in Plockton
76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Duncraig Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Duncraig Castle

Address: | Ross-shire, Plockton IV52 8TZ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Ross and Cromarty > Plockton
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Speciality Lodging in Plockton
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Temporarily closed for renovation. OPEN SPRING 2018. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Duncraig Castle Hotel Plockton
Duncraig Castle Plockton, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing