We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An affordable castle stay with beautiful views across to Plockton”
Review of Duncraig Castle

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Plockton
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Duncraig Castle
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
58 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“An affordable castle stay with beautiful views across to Plockton”
Reviewed 4 December 2011

We stayed at Duncraig Castle for one night in late August on our travels around Scotland. The castle is being renovated, but this did not affect our stay. The views across the bay were spectacular and the room we stayed in was huge and very clean and comfortable. The staff were very friendly and welcoming. The dining room is beautiful and would make a wonderful venue for a wedding reception. The open fire at breakfast time added to the specialness of this place. We spent most of the evening exploring Plockton and didn't take full advantage of the very large sitting room available for guests at the Castle. Two nights here would have been great, but we were on a tight schedule. I highly recommend this great B & B castle.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view across the bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sharyn1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    31
    13
    3
    8
    3
See reviews for
9
41
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
nz
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2011

this was to be the highlight of our 4 month trip to the UK (we travel to the UK every 2 years so call ourselves experienced travellers) and though the castle was great we could not walk around it or go down to the beach. The beds were the most uncomfortable ones we had during the trip and the breakfast was very limited in choice. The window did not open in the bathroom and in general thought the place had the feeling of being run on a shoe string. After one night we left and moved on feeling it could have been run much better.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Nearyfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
merseyside
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2011

We strayed across this castle somewhat by accident and booked on the spur of the moment. What an absolutely wonderful hotel, fabulous setting, some of the friendliest staff I've met with nothing too much trouble. We were encouraged to explore the building and surrounding area. We were only supposed to spend one night in Plockton but stayed the whole week, travelling and walking and even managed to take in the Highland Games in Skye. Plockton and the castle have to be one of the most relaxing and beautiful places I have ever been fortunate enough to visit.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Keeno1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2011

An amazing experience in an amazing location with friendly staff. Sorry it took sonlong to review we have just come back down to earth after our trip. Duncraig Castle is a special place and highly recommend a drive over Applecross for an experience you will never forget. Thankyou to all the staff Cathy Josey Matilda & Nick .Forster Australia

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Fuggie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weybridge, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2011

My fiancé and I stayed at the castle in July and can't wait to return. The scenery on the way from the airport is breathtaking and though the castle is a little off the beaten track we found this added to the experience of staying in the castle.

What a truly impressive building in such a tranquil setting the perfect romantic getaway.
We were welcomed by Sarah who made us feel at home. Sarah showed us to our room 'Applecross' the room was very spacious with a lovely ensuite and had a spectacular view across the peninsular.

Sarah helped us to make restaurant reservations and booked us a taxi into Plockton.
From Plockton we had a picture post card view of the castle and after an evening of good food and wine we had a good nights sleep in a luxury bed.
Breakfast was served in the grand dining room and we thoroughly enjoyed our full Scottish whilst listening to the bag pipes playing.

We were sad to leave and would recommend any one looking for a taste of Scottish life to visit this stunning castle steeped in history.

Don't be put off by others comments on the new build, I understand the owners are making plans to remove this, however it would be a shame if you missed out on staying in such a stunning castle because of something that is essentially part of it's history.

Our stay at Duncraig was the perfect, relaxing and peaceful weekend we wanted, so much so, we have re booked for four days in October.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Applecross room it was stunning. En suite clean and the homemade shortbread was del...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Charlotte G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2011

The castle has a real romance and the antiques and history made this an unusually engaging stop-over.
The dining room was spectacular and the breakfast cooked with generosity and care.
Rooms are very spacious and well appointed.
The only slight downer was no ensuite, or indeed robes to wear whilst walking to the bathroom and the vulgar concrete building adjacent.
I would however recommend this to anyone looking for a taste of Highland history with that Victorian hunting party feel.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dibblydowcus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle-under-Lyme, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 August 2011

I took my girlfriend for a birthday treat, and we had 2 great nights at Duncraig Castle. It's quite an imposing building from the outside, but the welcome from the staff is warm and friendly, and our room was wonderful

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Snappo113
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Plockton
13.8 mi away
The Torridon
The Torridon
#1 of 1 in Torridon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 555 reviews
14.6 mi away
Hotel Eilean Iarmain
3.9 mi away
Tingle Creek Hotel
Tingle Creek Hotel
#1 of 1 in Erbusaig
4.5 of 5 bubbles 359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Kyle Hotel
Kyle Hotel
#2 of 2 in Kyle of Lochalsh
3.0 of 5 bubbles 334 reviews
24.4 mi away
Shieldaig Lodge
Shieldaig Lodge
#1 of 5 in Gairloch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 134 reviews
21.1 mi away
Cuillin Hills Hotel
Cuillin Hills Hotel
#1 of 6 in Portree
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,010 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Duncraig Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Duncraig Castle

Property: Duncraig Castle
Address: | Ross-shire, Plockton IV52 8TZ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Ross and Cromarty > Plockton
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Speciality Lodging in Plockton
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Temporarily closed for renovation. OPEN SPRING 2018. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Duncraig Castle Hotel Plockton
Duncraig Castle Plockton, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing