We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the prettiest places ever”
Review of Tigh nan Saor

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Plockton
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Tigh nan Saor
Ranked #7 of 14 Plockton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
86 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“One of the prettiest places ever”
Reviewed 25 June 2013

Room was great with wonderful view comfy bed and good breakfast. Very friendly people without being intrusive. A beautiful village with some great short walks wonderful eating houses and views galore.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Denise H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    26
    31
    21
    4
    0
See reviews for
12
48
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2013

Plockton is a charming village in a wonderful location. Tigh nan Saor B&B is on the main street and overlooks Loch Carron. Although we arrived early we were able to leave our luggage at the premises. From reading the other reviews it would seem that bedroom 1 is the most popular and this is where we stayed. The views from the window are magnificent even on a misty morning. Wake up at about 4.30 and you can see the sun rise over the loch without getting out of bed!
Our hosts were business like and provided a good breakfast each morning. They tended not to engage in much conversation though! Communal eating at breakfast was good and guests took the opportunities to share experiences of previous days.

Room Tip: Room one overlooks Loch Carron. It faces east so you may get a stunning sunrise in the morning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
117 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2013

Plockton is certainly a lovely place to stay with some lovely hikes, great views, and a charming town. Our room was quite small and sad to say our beds not so comfy. Breakfasts were very tasty and our hosts pleasant and helpful.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leigh on sea, Essex
Level Contributor
56 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2013

Plockton is a stunning location and undoubtably the views from the rooms at Tigh nan Saor across Loch Carron are stunning, rooms 1 & 2 at any rate.
The rooms are light and cleanly modern in decor, room 1 being the larger and therefore better for a longer stay. This was unexpected from the name sign outside, which could do with being replaced by a more appealing sign if passing custom is sought.
Arriving by the one train from Inverness we were early, but hoped to be able to drop off our luggage before going on a walk. The owner seemed surprised to see us as if no one were booked in. We were allowed to leave luggage in the dining room, almost begrudgingly. When we returned later, having done two lengthy walks he appeared to not remember us at all. Not the most enthusiastic welcome.
The beds were comfortable and waking to the view across the Loch really nice. The shower in Rm 2 ran hot and cold with lacklustre flow, which after a day's walking was annoying.
Breakfast as a communal affair is nice, encouraging the swapping of recommendations. Breakfast options of porridge OR cooked breakfast seemed a little mean compared to the other b&bs we have used. Breakfast was well cooked, but a check on how things were going in terms of toast or drinks would be nice. As the main point of service between owner and guest this is something to get right. The lady of the house seemed more affable.
However the view was great, the room clean and comfortable so am I being niggly? Maybe, but we had just come from another b&bs charging £10 less with a brilliant breakfast.
Would I return? Yes, I would come back to Plockton.

Room Tip: Room 1 is spacious! Room 2 less so
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ray S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 11 May 2013

This is our 11th consecutive year staying at the tigh nan saor and it certainly wont be our last. Its a beautiful location with fantastic hosts who always give you a warm welcome even when we are dripping wet and muddy after 400 miles on a motorbike!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lucygog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradford, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 30 September 2012

We stayed at Tigh Nan Soar twice in the same week whilst cycle touring around Scotland. We had two different rooms but they were both really spacious and well furnished. Lots of character - no cream or beige in sight but not fussy either. The view from the front room over the bay was gorgeous whilst the room at the back was very relaxing full of the sounds of the birds in the garden.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PhillipandWendy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2012

We spent one night at Tigh nan Saor late Summer/ early Autumn 2011. We found the property on the main street along the shoreline at Plockton, all the house are very pretty along this row. The B&B itself is well maintained and furnished to a high standard. We stayed in room 2 which was clean, bright and airy. It had one window facing out to Loch Carron, the views were stunning and made out stay even better. It had an en-suite with walk in shower, again clean and tidy.

Breakfast is served in the dining room on a large table with other guests, which as its a small B&B can be a nice way of exchanging conversation. Cereals are out to help yourself and the full cooked breakfast which we also had was good.

Whilst you are staying in Plockton, I recommend you can take a boat trip out on the Loch if you have time. You get the chance to see lots of seals and other wildlife! The boat departs just a few minutes down the road from the B&B.

We were also able to pay for our room with PayPal as they didn't accept card, so this was helpful. Would definitely recommend this B&B to anyone.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank J2012UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Plockton
3.6 mi away
Tingle Creek Hotel
Tingle Creek Hotel
#1 of 1 in Erbusaig
367 reviews
13.9 mi away
The Torridon
The Torridon
#1 of 1 in Torridon
566 reviews
4.0 mi away
Balmacara Hotel
Balmacara Hotel
#1 of 1 in Balmacara
211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Kyle Hotel
Kyle Hotel
#2 of 2 in Kyle of Lochalsh
344 reviews
14.5 mi away
Hotel Eilean Iarmain
9.6 mi away
Hartfield House Applecross
Hartfield House Applecross
#1 of 2 in Applecross
48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tigh nan Saor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tigh nan Saor

Property: Tigh nan Saor
Address: 39 Harbour Street, Plockton IV52 8TN, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Ross and Cromarty > Plockton
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Plockton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tigh nan Saor is a traditional stone house on the waterfront with spectacular views over Plockton Bay and Loch Carron. All our rooms are en-suite, with spacious shower-rooms or bathroom, LCD TVs, wireless internet access and hospitality trays. Our house is tastefully decorated throughout, with books and paintings everywhere, but still retains its character as a family home. Many stay with us as a base for walking nearby or exploring beyond Plockton, and we can provide full information on all these and more. View up-to-date booking availability and book on-line at our web site. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Tigh Nan Saor Plockton, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing