We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice get-away from Beirut!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Rest House Tyr Hotel & Resort
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Sur
Gatineau, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Nice get-away from Beirut!”
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Tyr is a pleasant drive south of Beirut. Right off the ocean, the beach and outdoor areas are decent. Lounge chairs on beach could be updated. Room was clean and food was good but smiles were hard to come by! Don't expect to find beer or booze in any of the small shops however. The town is "dry" outside the resort.

Room Tip: Our room was ocean-side however a wedding reception was held in the outside area and music played in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mimiKigali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    13
    15
    20
    11
    7
See reviews for
20
15
3
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Beirut, Lebanon
1 review
Reviewed 23 June 2013

had a wonderful stay....
Lovely environs and private beach
Xcellent swimming pool n facilities with superb room service

Spl mention to Mrs Bankhalife and her team

The buffet bfast can be better....though with more options

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NitinWason
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beirut, Beyrouth, Lebanon
1 review
Reviewed 18 April 2013

it was absolutely amazing!!! the place is great!! the rooms are exquisitely clean and well prepared, the service is far beyond excellent!! the buffets at breakfast and lunch and dinner were indeed well prepared, very tasty and had a uniques sense to them.
the beach was a whole different experience, whether it is the clear blue water, the white sands or even the pools, rest house tyr provided me with an astounding way to spend my vacation. it was very relaxing and worth every penny of it!!
i highly recommend to visit it because it gives you a different taste of lebanon and of the south!!
a very enriching experience

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Reem K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 16 April 2013

The rest house is one of those rare, impressive places.
I loved everything about this hotel , the location , the staff and the room were all very nice . the service and the facility are one of the best i ever seen before.
All in all a very nice place.. Highly recommended !!
You will not regret it!!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dimababa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malmo, Sweden
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2012

Beirut hotel staff are used to visitors from other countries. South Lebanon towns like Tyre and Saida have had a very limited exposure to international visitors (except for UN staff). This shows clearly at hotels. Tyre Rest House is located very nice on the beach. Walking distance to what ever you like (small town). As of now no other hotel, in Tyre, is close to the standard of Rest House. Don´t expect a smile from the front desk though. It seems that only managers, and up, are trained in service.
However, due to location and room standard, I am sure to return.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Diamond19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yokohama
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2011

The service at The Rest House was amonst the worst I have encountered anywhere. There was no shortage of poorly trained and inept staff. It seemed that they were not well managed and that clear communication lines had not been established.

The rooms were clean and a good size. The tv was a relic!

Breakfast was reasonable (apart from the fake juice) and the freshly made to order breads available on the weekend were absolutely delicious. We escaped into town for lunch and dinner at a local shwarma shop, the Petit Phoenician and the lovely bar Salt up at Murex Hotel. They also have free WiFi in the cafe at the Murex.

Reception staff were initially unhelpful with our request to organise a car / taxi back to Beirut. Note to hotel: not all guests bring their own cars!

The beach was clean but the water was not. Faeces and plastic in the swimming bay. Yuck.

It was a relief to get back to the service standards and professionalism of Beirut hotels.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JRSinYokohama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Sur hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sur
17.7 mi away
Sea Life Hotel
Sea Life Hotel
#2 of 7 in Nahariya
233 reviews
18.7 mi away
Shtarkman Erna Boutique Hotel
14.7 mi away
Maskit Suites & Spa
Maskit Suites & Spa
#1 of 1 in Liman
89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.5 mi away
Nea Resort & People
Nea Resort & People
#1 of 1 in Shavei Tzion
107 reviews
1.1 mi away
Dar Alma
Dar Alma
#1 of 3 in Tyre
76 reviews
1.1 mi away
Al Fanar Resort
Al Fanar Resort
#2 of 3 in Tyre
20 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rest House Tyr Hotel & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rest House Tyr Hotel & Resort

Property: Rest House Tyr Hotel & Resort
Address: Tyr, Sur 1601, Lebanon
Region: Lebanon > South Governorate > Sur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Sur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Number of rooms: 62
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Rest House Tyr Hotel & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rest House Tyr Hotel & Resort Lebanon/Sur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing