We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very nice park” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pog Lake Campground

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Algonquin Provincial Park
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Pog Lake Campground
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
129 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Very nice park”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2012

We had site 244 it's a big site with water, not to far from the facilities. The site is very flat, so it's good if you have a tent. You can also buy wood for fire. The only problem we had it was with the camper neighbor, they were just yelling at each other. maybe they wanted to scare the bears away. After a couple hours everything was very quiet and we could enjoy the place. But you have to play the park fees and the camp fees. so it about 40$ for the day, but you can enjoy the park with bicycle rental.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank marcogliese
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    17
    20
    2
    1
    2
See reviews for
29
6
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2012

All of Algonquin Park is spectacular and breathtaking, but it's Pog Lake campground that has kept us coming back for 21 years.
We always camp there, and we hardly ever make a reservation. They have plenty of first-come-first-serve campsites and we've always been lucky, even before a long weekend.
Hiking, canoeing, fishing and atmosphere at its best.
Our 2nd home...

Helpful?
12 Thank Paulina L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trenton, Canada
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2012

While Mew Lake seems to be a favourite for many of us, the reality is that POG Lake is the best overall along Hwy 60. The main reason is that the sites offer good privacy, its a good sized lake, and from Pog Lake you can canoe to a series of attached lakes, one of which is Whitefish, which is just around the corner and offers two beaches (paddle to find the second one) almost as good as Canisbay Lake. Site 331 at POG is a good corner lot with nice privacy. Note however, if you camp on a weekend, you won't get much sleep as the parks have cut staff and the partiers know it, you cannot call anyone as you will only get the OPP on the line and they have more important things to do. So go in the week, have a good time, and get some sleep at night.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
10 Thank sockers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Collingwood, Canada
Level Contributor
33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2012

Great trip over the May long weekend with ours and two other families. We had site 210 which was a huge site just over the road from the beach. We were dealt with very quickly at the gate, the toilets and showers were kept very clean. The weather was great, the canoeing fantastic and my son even caught a couple of fish (lake trout and a sucker). Great nights around the campfire which was ideal for cooking the steaks. Water was lovely, if a bit cool and beach was very clean. Good nights sleep too. Great site and would be happy to go back.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank MarkOPoloManchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2011

The only problem with this trip was the surly reception we received upon arrival. Unless the Park's plan is to make sure that visitor's feel as unwelcome as possible, the staff member at the front gate that day needed a major attitude adjustment. Site #206 itself was perfect. We were on a higher site surrounded by tall trees which the lake glistened through from down the hill. The water was clean (but cold! not that we let that stop us) and we also rented a canoe from Opeongo Outfitters who were a few hours late delivering the canoe to our site, but it was a long weekend and they did apologize and made up for it by upgrading one of our canoes so I would definitely rent from them again. After all that was sorted we paddled around Pog Lake and stopped and hung out on the bank of Lake of Two Rivers and watched the kayakers paddle over the more turbulent water there. There are plenty of opportunities for portaging in Algonquin Park as well, if paddling around a small lake isn't quite enough for you. The campground itself is well-maintained and there were many trails throughout Algonquin for hiking and biking that we never had time to explore. There are several stores, including the large one we were at--The Lake of Two Rivers Store--which also sold ice cream. The Visitor's Centre is clean and air conditioned. All in all a great family trip but it will take many more of these to truly take in all that the massive Algonquin Park has to offer.

Room Tip: We loved Site #206.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
10 Thank villagevagabond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burlington, Canada
Level Contributor
38 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2010

We stayed at Pog Lake Campground in Algonquin Provincial Park in Ontario. (Campground C is the best by far) The sites are very large and private and all of them are near the water. The canoeing was phenomenal, the bike trails were perfect and there is so much choice in hiking it's unbelievable. We hiked the Lookout Trail and were on the top of a cliff with breathtaking views. We saw moose 3 different times. There were bears around, but as long as you are a smart camper and put your food & garbage away, you won't have a problem. Highly recommend it for any family.

Helpful?
54 Thank CampbellvilleOntario
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Algonquin Provincial Park
12.5 mi away
Arowhon Pines
Arowhon Pines
#1 of 1 in Algonquin Provincial Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 161 reviews
29.1 mi away
Algonquin Eco-Lodge
Algonquin Eco-Lodge
#3 of 15 in Algonquin Provincial Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 105 reviews
17.5 mi away
Hay Lake Lodge and Cottages
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.9 mi away
The Mad Musher
The Mad Musher
#5 of 6 in Whitney
3.5 of 5 bubbles 11 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Pog Lake Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pog Lake Campground

Property: Pog Lake Campground
Address: Highway 60 at km 36.9, Algonquin Provincial Park, Ontario, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Algonquin Provincial Park
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 15 Speciality Lodging in Algonquin Provincial Park
Number of rooms: 286
Also Known As:
Pog Lake Campground Hotel Algonquin Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing