We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Algonquin Eco-Lodge
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 26 September 2012 via mobile

The lodge is a fantastic place to stay for relaxation and to experience the great outdoors.
The walk from the car is very pleasant and manageable with a rucksack.
The lodge is really cosy and has everything you need. The staff were really helpful and even lent us a towel as we'd forgotten ours. They are really knowledgable about the area.
The food is delicious and the portions plentiful.
The setting is stunning and the lake is beautiful, really peaceful. The fall colours were spectacular. Make time to go into the park along Highway 60 where the colours are incredible.
We only stayed for 1 night, we would definitely stay for longer next time, and would highly recommend to all. This would be a great place to come with older children!

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Delberto84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (110)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

57 - 63 of 110 reviews

Reviewed 29 August 2012

This is a beautiful place. It is peaceful, quiet and off the grid. The meals were excellent. If you are looking for a private getaway and relaxation, this is a great place to visit. The meals were all wonderful. Home-made breakfast, lunches packed to go and great dinners. An afternoonsnack would be a nice addition (maybe fruit and cookies?).

The drawbacks. The shower never was above warm. Showers are limited time-wise and are only availabale at certain times of the day.

The one thing I could not get past was that there were mice in the walls and in our room at night. I heard them scurrying around and in some of my stuff. I hate mice, so this was horrible to me. Perhaps some cats woudl be a nice addition. I wish I had brought my mouser cat from home.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Izzys1mom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robin B, Owner at Algonquin Eco-Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2012

Thank you for your review. I'm not sure when you were at the Eco-Lodge, but we were suffiering from the extreme lack of rain earlier. Our water levels (and every one else in Ontario) were down so far that our ability to create our own electricity for the hot water tank was severely limited. That is why we could only have hot water twice a day. But, that is one of the costs of being deeply in the forest and completely off grid.
If guaranteed hot water, even during a drought, was our prime concern then we would need to cut a 2 km long, 100 metre wide path through the forest to have the hydro lines installed. We don't want that. So, we have to live with what nature provides.
Happily it has rained recently, and we now have unlimited hot water 24/7 again. This is the way it normally is. This lack of rain is and low water levels is the worst we've ever seen. Unfortunately with climate change there is no "normal" anymore...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2012

The eco lodge is on the edge of the park. You have to leave your car in the parking lot and walk the final 2.3 km. (Bring mosquito spray). It is worth the walk!
The lodge is set within the forest, on the edge of a small lake (with very low water levels this summer, so not great for swimming). Edgar and Santa who looked after us were great. Santa's cooking is really good: plenty of it and really delicious. Edgar took us out canoeing and hiking within the park, which meant we had the best chance to see the great range of wildlife available. The highlights were seeing bears (one in the garbage dump and the other swimming in the river) and deer; plus swimming in the rain in a small lake which heaven knows how Edgar found along some logging tracks.
We met some nice people at the lodge but their peak seasons are fall and winter, so we actually had the place to ourselves on our final night.
The accommodation is quite basic: rooms which sleep between two and five people; shared washrooms and showers; limited hot water. But the dining/lounge area is cosy, with plenty of board games to play and always someone to talk to.
We loved our stay here: a real escape from the normal fast pace of life.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank veronica-ks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robin B, Owner at Algonquin Eco-Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2012

Thank you for your review. I'm glad that you enjoyed your stay at the Algonquin Eco-Lodge, and I'm happy you got to see the bear swimming across the river!

There are a couple of things I would like to point out to future travellers who read this review. And both have to do with the incredible drought we have been having in Ontario, that would have affected your visit. The Eco-Lodge is unique in southern Ontario in that we are the only lodge that creates 100% of it's electricity from a waterfall. We are not connected to the grid. When we have a normal amount of rain our lake is quite full, and we have lots of power. However, this year the severe lack of rain has caused the water level in our lake to drop to depth we have never seen before. It has also caused over 1,200 forest fires in Ontario. It is unprecedented. As a result the swimming was rather limited, and we had to switch to our small turbine for power. This provides enough for the lights, water pump, fridge, etc, but not the hot water tank at the same time. So we were switching devices around so we could have hot water at certain times of the day.

Happily we have had a lot of rain recently, and the water levels are climbing back to normal. We still need more rain but you can swim in our lake, and we have switched back to the bigger turbine. So hot water whenever you want it!

This is all part of being "off-grid". You are more at the mercy of the environment. And you must respect it more.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2012

If you are looking for a comfortable and cosy lodge with great staff and away from tourist traps, the Eco-Lodge is the place for you. Cars are not allowed here, and there is no cell phone reception or internet - instead, you get a private lake, canoes, a hot tub and a sauna, Santa's fantastic culinary talents and Edgar's humouristic yet skilled guidance. We saw beavers and a moose, spent our evenings staring at the stars or around the bonfire, had a wonderful time at the waterfalls, and completely fell in love with this place. Describing it as 'fantastic' would be an understatement: this place is a real gem amidst the wilderness.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BrusselsMangoKat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2012

The lodge is very cozy; it almost felt like it was from a movie set. The staff were very easy going, helpful, accommodating, friendly and funny and the little signs around the lodge were hilarious. The prepared meals were top notch; too good to be eaten on a camping trip. Canoeing in the nearby rivers was an enjoyable adventure. On the trails, the bugs were quite the annoyance (to be expected in the summer), but I was amazed that I didn't see one bug inside the lodge. As an aside: pick up a bug jacket; 0 bites for 3 days in Algonquin exceeded my expectations. There are a couple of limitations (shower and electricity usage), but given the self contained environment, it is completely warranted. Will definitely go back.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank a k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2012

Together with my wife we spend the long weekend at the Eco-Lodge, it was an excellent wilderness cottage experience, the facility is very clean, very enjoyable, the staff is very friendly. Food is excellent, the meals are very delicious it always made us look forward to the next meal. This place generates its own electricity, its super environmentally friendly, the plumbing and electrical is modern and efficient, and the place is very independent ! The landscape is very beautiful, there are 2 lakes, rivers, canoes to spend some quality and quiet time. Lots of wildlife to see, I have seen few rabbits, a small snake, 1 deer, a groundhog, frogs and 1 black bear nearby village close to dump station there. Rain or shine, the eco-lodge is a great place to spend some time there ! Robin the maintenance person / owner is a super friendly person, the staff Edgar and Santra are very friendly courteous people. We will be visiting the eco-lodge again and we will recomment it to our friends. In a nutshell in one sentance, a great wilderness lodging experience. Recomment it to everyone.

Matt & Cathy

Room Tip: All rooms are pretty good, but lower lever are closer to those who need washroom right there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank matt m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2012

We just came back to home from a quite wild place where we were spending a couple of days without Internet and cellphones services but with mooses, beavers, wolfs and bears around us... and a lots of mosquitoes of course. I can highly recommend Algonquin Eco-Lodge.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ustymenko N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Algonquin Provincial Park
15.2 mi away
Bancroft Inn & Suites
Bancroft Inn & Suites
#4 of 4 in Bancroft
67 reviews
38.6 mi away
Arowhon Pines
Arowhon Pines
#3 of 16 in Algonquin Provincial Park
184 reviews
3.1 mi away
Nomi Resort
Nomi Resort
#1 of 1 in Harcourt
163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.0 mi away
The Arlington Hotel
The Arlington Hotel
#1 of 1 in Maynooth
35 reviews
18.2 mi away
Somerset Inn
Somerset Inn
#5 of 10 in Bancroft
22 reviews
12.8 mi away
Hay Lake Lodge and Cottages
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Algonquin Eco-Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Algonquin Eco-Lodge

Address: 3594 Elephant Lake Rd | Moffat Pond, Algonquin Provincial Park, Ontario KOL 1X0, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Ontario > Algonquin Provincial Park
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Ski-In / Ski-Out
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 16 Speciality Lodging in Algonquin Provincial Park
Price Range: £173 - £289 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Algonquin Eco-Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Algonquin Eco-Lodge is an award winning property on the southern tip of Algonquin Park. Located deep in the forests the Eco-Lodge is a nature enthusiasts dream. Sitting on the shores of a private lake and a cascading waterfall the Lodge is run completely on alternative energy, yet provides all the basic comforts including an outdoor hot tub! It is completely "off-grid", yet the Eco-Lodge creates electricity with a micro-hydro generator running from the waterfall.Algonquin Eco-Lodge won the 2012 Ontario Tourism Award in the Sustainable Tourism category. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Algonquin Eco-Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing