We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very disappointing Groupon Event”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Algonquin Eco-Lodge
GreenLeadersGold level
Ajax, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Very disappointing Groupon Event”
Reviewed 30 July 2014

Thank god I did not pay full price for this weekend get away. The staff was rude and unsupportive, every single little thing asked for was a hassle. There are so many things in the area, and when you ask for them, you get a big sigh and some minimal directions. It was cold one night in the lodge, so I asked for a fire, or at least electric heat and was told, no. Really? The lodge gets its electricity for free!! The Lodge was dirty and run down. The couches in the lounge are as hard as rocks, so you cannot really lounge. The bedding is quite sad, pillows are bricks. You are required to bring all toiletries outside of toilet paper. The water in the hot tub was brown - brown people! The screen did not close properly so I was bombarded by mosquitoes all night. This is not a place where any woman has worked at all recently. There is no cellphone reception and no wifi, so forget about contacting anyone back in civilization. The lake looks beautiful but is shallow and dirty. The only saving grace was the chef was surprisingly good. The only way I would recommend this place is if you were a man, or a group of men, looking for somewhere to sleep while on a hunting trip, but I don't even think hunting is permitted. It's really unfortunate the experience wasn't better, I loved the idea that the cottage is entirely run on renewable electricity. The proof is in the pudding, if they were doing well, they wouldn't be selling Groupons at all. The entire group of people that was at the lodge, were all Groupon holders.

Room Tip: Bring your own pillows, or better yet, don't go.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bombar2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robin B, Owner at Algonquin Eco-Lodge, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
I am sorry that you did not enjoy your stay at the Eco-Lodge, but it seems that perhaps you did not look at our website to see what the Lodge was about before you purchased your "deal". If you had looked at our website you would have known that there was no wifi or cell phone reception. This is a big selling feature for our "digital detox getaways".

The lake is river fed and is clean water. It is a natural environment (not an artificial swimming pool) and so there are natural tannins in the water which give it a slight colour. Since we also use this water to fill the the hot tub it also has a slight colour. We are a wilderness lodge. There is no city supplied water. Most people are pleased that a remote lodge can even operate an outdoor hot tub.

It is surprising to hear someone complain about mosquitoes in June. It is mosquito season. It is something you just deal with until the weather improves and their population decreases. It is the same all over cottage country and northern Ontario.

We will look a the couches to see if cushions need to be replaced, but people are telling us specifically how comfortable they are. So perhaps there is just one that needs attention. Thank you for drawing our attention to this so that we can continue to improve and make the Lodge a better place.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    66
    24
    6
    5
    6
See reviews for
24
45
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oshawa
2 reviews
Reviewed 15 July 2014

I came to Algonquin to do the 3 day horseback riding adventure, and had an awesome time. This is as close as I want to to camping, and I enjoyed being in my own little cabin by the lake. The lodge is rustic and offers the comfort of home in the middle of the wilderness. Food was good, generous portions and coffee was great. The hot tub was also welcomed after a day in the saddle! Robin even took me out in the canoe to get a little closer to the moose that we saw swimming across the lake. The horseback riding was also great and it was a nice touch to be dropped off and picked up by the guides right at the lodge.

I definitely would go again and hope I can do so next year. Great place to get away from the city ekectronic gadgets and enjoy peace and quiet.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bs63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 8 June 2014

Was in an absolutely beautiful location! Get ready for a great weekend adventure doing some canoeing, hiking, swimming and relaxing in the hot tub. Food was great and our host, Robin, was very personable and informative. Really enjoyed our time at the eco lodge! Definitely a great option for those looking for something off the beaten path. Peaceful, relaxing and adventure filled all at once!

Thanks again, Robin!
Craig and Rachel.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lorient, France
1 review
Reviewed 26 May 2014

We spent 3 days in this lodge. Our stay was perfect. Calm and relaxation in nature
We saw many animals (mooses, wolves, beavers) and made hiking or canoe trips.
The lodge is confortable, Robin, Tucker and Trevor are nice
I advise use hottub, sauna and lake whitout moderation!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlainB B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burlington, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2014 via mobile

The eco lodge was a lovely balance of relaxing and doing outdoor pursuits without all of the careful planning, logistics involved in camping. Usually a backcountry camping type I enjoyed still being able to canoe, hike and nature spot but also being able to come back, have a hot tub and make some new friends over a drink and a campfire. Trevor made some great grub and Robin had lots of knowledge of the routes and things to do in the area.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Michelle M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 March 2014

We had a fantastic stay and were able to truly unwind and enjoy a complete off-the-grid experience!
A nice hike on a well-maintained trail through woodland leads to the lodge and helps leave
the city's hustle and bustle behind.
The place just brims with rustic charm and has a cozy seating area with a wood stove where you can enjoy simple pleasures such as reading, board games or good conversation.
The meals were both hearty and healthy, with lots of fruit and fresh vegetables and the staff was always friendly and helpful.
The hot tub and sauna were a welcome opportunity to relax and warm up after a day of hiking through woods and on frozen lakes, and the polar bear dip was definitely a highlight!

We will definitely return and recommend it to friends!

Room Tip: The upstairs rooms are best!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Daniel K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2014

Just got back from a winter weekend up at the Eco-lodge.

Look, it's rustic, but good rustic. Filling meals, comfy beds, a warm fireplace, and the great outdoors. Read the details they give you (like bringing warm sleeping bags in the winter, knowing there's a 2km hike into it, etc...) and you'll be golden. If you're expecting the Four Seasons, go somewhere else.

Plus, it's all green energy and there's a killer outdoors hot-tub right at the lake. Y'know what's better than sitting in a hot tub outdoors under the stars in the middle of winter?Or snowshoeing through the woods on trails covered in wolf tracks? Not a lot...

Room Tip: Some rooms can be cold in the winter - bring a warm sleeping bag!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Simon R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Algonquin Provincial Park
38.6 mi away
Arowhon Pines
Arowhon Pines
#3 of 16 in Algonquin Provincial Park
173 reviews
3.1 mi away
Nomi Resort
Nomi Resort
#1 of 1 in Harcourt
153 reviews
12.8 mi away
Hay Lake Lodge and Cottages
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.8 mi away
Footprints Resort
Footprints Resort
#1 of 5 in Bancroft
41 reviews
18.3 mi away
Sir Sam's Inn & WaterSpa
Sir Sam's Inn & WaterSpa
#1 of 2 in Eagle Lake
320 reviews
9.0 mi away
The Arlington Hotel
The Arlington Hotel
#1 of 1 in Maynooth
35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Algonquin Eco-Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Algonquin Eco-Lodge

Property: Algonquin Eco-Lodge
Address: 3594 Elephant Lake Rd | Moffat Pond, Algonquin Provincial Park, Ontario KOL 1X0, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Ontario > Algonquin Provincial Park
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Ski-In / Ski-Out
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 16 Speciality Lodging in Algonquin Provincial Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:2 star — Algonquin Eco-Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Algonquin Eco-Lodge is an award winning property on the southern tip of Algonquin Park. Located deep in the forests the Eco-Lodge is a nature enthusiasts dream. Sitting on the shores of a private lake and a cascading waterfall the Lodge is run completely on alternative energy, yet provides all the basic comforts including an outdoor hot tub! It is completely "off-grid", yet the Eco-Lodge creates electricity with a micro-hydro generator running from the waterfall.Algonquin Eco-Lodge won the 2012 Ontario Tourism Award in the Sustainable Tourism category. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Algonquin Eco-Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing