We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic food, accommodation could do with a revamp but overall excellent”
Review of Arowhon Pines

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Arowhon Pines
Certificate of Excellence
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Fantastic food, accommodation could do with a revamp but overall excellent”
Reviewed 8 July 2014

I understand that previous reviewers have commented on the decor of the rooms and they are correct, the decor could do with a little pick me up- however this is an all inclusive resort in the middle of a National Park and so I have based my review on the overall experience.

The shared facilities are beautiful, the location is fantastic and the staff here are the best in the industry- everyone who worked there was friendly, professional and could not do more to assist us. The setting is just beautiful and the food is out of this world- freshly prepared, lots of healthy options and a great choice for everyone. There are also little recipe cards to take away which is such a nice touch.

If you go to Algonquin do not hesitate but to stay here. They have free passes to give you to look at the general trails which I would recommend, or canoe on the lake.

Room Tip: We were in Lake view which was good as it had a secret decked area which other people rarely used
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kate S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    110
    32
    10
    6
    3
See reviews for
34
95
7
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2014

My wife and I spent our honeymoon at Arowhon Pines and cannot say enough great things about it. It lived-up-to and exceeded its reputation. It was quiet, peaceful, and of course the food was simply out of this world - each meal was a memorable experience. The service was friendly and accommodating. And they knew we were there for our honeymoon and they added some nice little personal touches for us. We're planning on going back for every other anniversary (alternating between here and the venue where we got married). Just a wonderful place!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Chris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
131 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2013

We're back for a second year in a row. Again, we hit the peak of foliage (maybe a day or two early this year). There are not words to describe how incredible it is. But two things made this year even better than last…great weather throughout and my wife's new knee that gave us the ability to walk up to vistas not available a year ago.

Our room/cabin (one of the 12 room ones) had been updated. Even though the cabins are not what one would call elegant or luxurious, they are comfortable, clean, and, if you have a lakeside room with fantastic views across the lake, pretty stunning. Every cabin has a community area with a fireplace. We enjoyed making new friends each evening in front of the fire with a last glass of wine before bed and a few minutes of reading with an excellent light (noteworthy in itself for any lodging).

The food is, of course, fabulous and plentiful….worthy in my experienced view of the Relais and Chateaux designation Arowhon enjoyed 20 years ago, before, I think, they decided they didn't need that sort of approval to win full houses year after year by simply providing high quality service and product all around.

Speaking of service, the people who work at Arowhon from the person who meets you in the parking lot and picks up the luggage to the wait staff to the folks who clean the rooms to the front office personnel, you could not ask for people more helpful and nice. This year we had occasion to experience that in a particularly intense way. My wife experienced 24 hours of stomach flu. I went over for hot tea and a saltine. I got that, of course, but, in addition a young man took it to the room, inquiries of how she was feeling persisted each time I went to the dining hall from the wait staff, front office (Teresa who I think is the manager was especially nice). They made sure chicken broth (not on any menu) was available and plenty of ginger ale…you get the message. They are just plain nice people and run a super resort.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Groveland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, Canada
Level Contributor
52 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2013

Wonderful place to unwind and relax. The service was great and the food superb. The lodge provides a wonderful getaway from the hectic world. Whether you are walking along the trails or paddling across the lake the peacefulness and serenity are very healing. You need to work up a good appetite to fully appreciate the wonderful meals that are perfectly cooked and presented. Special requests are cheerfully received and dealt with. Try the smoked trout sandwiches for a picnic lunch!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Oldbones H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2013 via mobile

Combination of it's location, great food and attentive staff made this a memorable stay and a must return attraction for us. Package included all meals which concerned us at first but we needn't have worried. Restaurant staff made us feel special and were always so accommodating at mealtimes. They also provided picnic lunches for our treks. Food was of the highest quality at all times but the staff made it all the more pleasurable in the amazing hexagonal restaurant by the lake.
A special mention for Theresa, Edward, Scott, Robin and Sarah for being such a delight .
If Arowhon Pines is the place to stay then Algonquin with its wide selection of beautiful treks and unimaginable scenic beauty is the place to be in the Fall.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Manners05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2013

Found the hotel to a bit rustic, overpriced, fell well below expectation, bath disappointingly small. The food was good and plentiful, but certainly NOT excellent, tended to be over-spiced and very slow in serving. arrived cool at the table.

I would not revisit.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a full sized bath
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank davidcsmall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2013

My husband and I spent 2 days in September at Arowhon Pines to celebrate my 60th birthday. From the moment we arrived, we knew we had found a very special place. Our accomodation was upgraded at no charge to a private cabin - beautiful. The food was out of this world, great menu choices, delicious and beautifully presented. The fire was blazing when we returned to our cabin in the evening. So cozy. The staff was very friendly and eager to please. The grounds are beautiful with all the gardens and we had a couple of very enjoyable hikes on the property. Everyone had a smile on their faces. We hope to return one day to this gem in Algonquin Park. Thank you Arowhon Pines for a very memorable, special birthday celebration!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yostie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Algonquin Provincial Park
38.6 mi away
Algonquin Eco-Lodge
Algonquin Eco-Lodge
#3 of 15 in Algonquin Provincial Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 105 reviews
23.4 mi away
Spring Lake Resort Motel and Restaurant
18.8 mi away
Algonquin Lakeside Inn
Algonquin Lakeside Inn
#2 of 2 in Oxtongue Lake
3.5 of 5 bubbles 348 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.9 mi away
Dwight Village Motel
Dwight Village Motel
#2 of 4 in Dwight
4.5 of 5 bubbles 54 reviews
24.2 mi away
The Lake of Bays Lodge
19.2 mi away
Lakewoods Cottage Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arowhon Pines? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arowhon Pines

Property: Arowhon Pines
Address: North on Arowhon Road to end from Hwy 60 at km 15.4 | Box 10001, Algonquin Provincial Park, Ontario P1H 2G5, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Algonquin Provincial Park
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Algonquin Provincial Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Arowhon Pines 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Arowhon Pines reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arowhon Pines Algonquin Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing