We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A number of problems, topped off by staff with bad attitudes”
Review of Hotel Prado

Hotel Prado
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Prado
Ranked #18 of 22 Hotels in Cajamarca
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“A number of problems, topped off by staff with bad attitudes”
Reviewed 5 March 2014

We stayed in a private double en suite at Hotel Prado for 3 nights, after our first choice hostel was full. I wish we had kept looking for another hostel.

On first appearances, our room was a decent size, with a large desk and an adequate bed, but that's where the positives ended.

We were repeatedly assured that the hotel had hot water, but it never materialised in 3 days. It was closer to cold that luke warm. Despite repeated complaints and protests, the staff claimed that the water was indeed hot, and that we were somehow mistaken.

The sink in the bathroom had a leak, so that every time we ran the taps, even for a few seconds, water would pool on the floor beneath it. We raised this problem with reception, who said they would fix the problem. It was not fixed at all for the duration of our stay.

The last broken promise was the wifi. It worked just about OK in our room for the first day, but dropped out repeatedly. For the rest of our stay, it was non functioning in all areas of the hotel apart from reception. Again, despite repeated complaints and demonstrations that it was not working (we even took it upon ourselves to try to reboot the hotels routers for them, to no avail), we were told that there was no problem.

Upon check out, we raised these problems again and asked for a reduction in our room rate. We were met with a solid 30 minute argument, where they were rude and refused to budge. In the end, they finally agreed to discount the price, but not to the amount that we were happy with.

We would not stay here again, and would advise others not to stay here.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank doddos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    0
    8
    6
    3
    0
See reviews for
4
5
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2013

This was a standard, slightly grubby place. It was fine for a couple of nights: the staff were fine, it wasn't too busy, there were quite nice communal areas on some of the floors.
The male toilets on our floor didn't have a lock on and our room was fairly dark. Someone's room on our corridor smelt strongly of smoke.
All said, it's a fine place to stop if you're on a budget, but don't expect much.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sean M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2013

I take a clean, spacious simple room with private bath for 3 nights, and they allowed a little bargain for the price as you stay longer.

5 minutes walking from Plaza Armas, in the night time the street will full of people selling things.
as a room close to the street, you can actually hear everything.

like other people said, it takes a while for hot water comes out,
However, in the three nights I stayed, the water is hot only in the first night
for the rest two it was just warm.

the building itself is like a maze but is in a cute way
and they do a very good job for everyday cleaning
the service is good in general, but people here basically don't speak English and provide very few travel information even in Spanish.

Hotel Prado is a good budget choice anyway

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Berch14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2013

Centrally located, only one block away from the central plaza. We had a room on the fourth floor with shared bathroom for 30 soles, a very reasonable price. There was wifi available on each floor so we had a strong connection in our room. We had cable TV. The showers took a while to warm up, but once they got going they were nice and hot.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 3louise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cajamarca hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Balcones Plaza
Hotel Balcones Plaza
#15 of 22 in Cajamarca
1 reviews
0.1 mi away
Wyndham Costa Del Sol Cajamarca
2.2 mi away
Hotel Tartar
Hotel Tartar
#3 of 22 in Cajamarca
67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Casa Blanca
Hotel Casa Blanca
#10 of 22 in Cajamarca
80 reviews
0.1 mi away
El Portal de Marques
El Portal de Marques
#9 of 22 in Cajamarca
76 reviews
2.7 mi away
Ensenada Hotel y Campo
Ensenada Hotel y Campo
#7 of 22 in Cajamarca
26 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Prado? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Prado

Property: Hotel Prado
Address: Jr. La Mar 582, Cajamarca, Peru
Region: Peru > Cajamarca Region > Cajamarca
Amenities:
Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 22 Hotels in Cajamarca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 51
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Prado reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing