We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“a spa in your own private bathroom”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel & Spa Laguna Seca
Ranked #2 of 22 Hotels in Cajamarca
Certificate of Excellence
California
Level Contributor
36 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“a spa in your own private bathroom”
Reviewed 1 August 2012

The highlight of our stay was the gigantic and relaxing bath in our room. The huge bath (pretty much the size of a private hot tub) alone made the splurge worth it after a 14 hour journey from Chachapoyas on the Virgen del Carmen. The food is decent enough. The on-site zoo was interesting and surprisingly diverse. The property is nicely manicured and peaceful.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Traveler941
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    57
    57
    19
    3
    2
See reviews for
64
47
6
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Juan, Argentina
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2012

I have been staying here for one month so far. I have stayed in better hotels in Cajamarca. The best part of the hotel is that it is very quiet. Since I have moved into a room with a larger bed, it is better. I must admit this king size bed is very comfortable. The rooms are not cleaned well. Sometimes the laundry stinks, the food is not that great and expensive. Worst of all they stole my watch out of my room and they do not intend to make it right. SAD! No safes in the rooms. Below average. You decide....

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank David A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
boston
Level Contributor
209 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 205 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2011

DO not get fooled into staying somewhere else. Most of the other hotels are in the city center and very loud and busy with cars (you know how peru loves to honk their horns)
If you want a peaceful setting to relax after hiking etc you should stay here. The thermal baths are lovely, not as nice as in Costa Rica (tabacon) but warm and relaxing. yes- there are bugs (big ones) floating dead on the pool (not too many), but it does not change the relaxation!
Try to go to Cumbe Mayo but get a guide arranged prior (we arrived and everyone had left so we did not have a guide)
Rooms are very clean- beds are comfortable, nice sheets and pillows and bathrooms are spacious

Room Tip: pick rooms closer to the main pool and nearer the horses. The rooms further away (shaped like a L&qu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marikim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lima
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2011

My husband, 13 yo son and I spent five days at Laguna Seca, seeking only one thing, relaxation, and we certainly got it. Our junior suite overlooked horse paddocks and every morning we woke to the sounds of horses neighing, roosters crowing and eucalyptus branches swaying in the breeze. We lounged in thermal baths (public and in our hotel room) and were pampered every day with various spa treatments: anti-stress massages, reflexology treatments, facials and the (amazing!) Bano de Diosas, which involved a jacuzzi, aromatherapy oils and about 50 fresh-cut roses and hibiscus flowers.

We could afford to indulge because the Laguna Seca is not a chic Euro-style hotel, and prices are still quite reasonable. Others on this site complain that it is dated. I am frankly happy that Laguna Seca hasn't had a makeover, because with just a few remodeling tweaks, the folks here could be charging $500 / night. Thank god it's still a homey place where Peruvian families come with kids and grandmas.

The only area where the Laguna Seca disappointed was in the dinining room. Breakfasts were good but lunch and dinner ranged from fair to great to awful. We were stuck with a fixed menu because we had booked a complete paquete, and that may have been the problem. The set menu limited us to nondescript criollo food and soggy pasta dishes, plus the world's saltiest caesar's salad. One night the head waiter took pity on us and allowed us to order from the a la carte menu, which enabled us to sample some excellent trout in garlic sauce. My recommendation? Avoid the paquete and simply book the room, treatments and meals separately.

But, really, you don't go to the provinces in Peru to experience great dining: that's what Lima is for. We were, overall, really happy with our Laguna Seca experience and are already planning to return.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnAmericanInLima
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lima
Level Contributor
118 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2011

Room is small, bath has old fashioned style mini-pool tub to take advantage of thermal waters. Unfortunately it is difficult to regulate the water temp and you get mostly too hot water. overall hotel has warm pool water heated by adding water from thermal springs.
Location is good, just on edge of town and within walking distance of several key sites.
Breakfast is good! Cajamarca is beautiful!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlexT7801
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
57 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2011

We stayed just one night at this hotel. The room was very clean with a spacious bathroom. Dinner in the formal restaurant was excellent and the breakfast in the breakfast room was also excellent, with many food choices available.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank canadianbirder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2011

My girlfriend and I stayed 2 nights at this hotel.

We must believe that this kind of thing happens even at the best hotel in town with a good reputation, but against the most offensive is that; the management did nothing to find my stolen cellular or find the person in question that works in laundry.

Thinking, I'm just a tourist passing through, and I continue my journey and unable to claim back anything. But we must believe also that management has nothing to do with the good reputation of their hotel.

But otherwise it's true, I was delighted with my stay, the setting is beautiful, breakfast and service are exceptional. The dishes served by the restaurant are excellent. Little less is that even if the pool water is changed once a week, there is nobody to clean water every day from all insects and plants floating on the surface.

GOOD TIP: If you want to keep your stuff, leave nothing dragged into the room!!!

PS : I'd like to post photos but impossible with my stuff stolen

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank PskL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cajamarca hotels
4.1 mi away
Wyndham Costa Del Sol Cajamarca
2.3 mi away
Hotel Tartar
Hotel Tartar
#3 of 22 in Cajamarca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 62 reviews
6.0 mi away
Posada del Puruay
Posada del Puruay
#4 of 22 in Cajamarca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 73 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Hotel Casa Blanca
Hotel Casa Blanca
#10 of 22 in Cajamarca
3.5 of 5 bubbles 80 reviews
4.2 mi away
El Portal de Marques
El Portal de Marques
#8 of 22 in Cajamarca
4.0 of 5 bubbles 75 reviews
3.1 mi away
Hotel La Casa de Abraham
Hotel La Casa de Abraham
#13 of 22 in Cajamarca
4.0 of 5 bubbles 9 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel & Spa Laguna Seca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel & Spa Laguna Seca

Property: Hotel & Spa Laguna Seca
Address: Avenida Manco Capac 1098 | Baños del Inca, Cajamarca, Peru (Formerly Hotel Laguna Seca)
Phone Number:
Region: Peru > Cajamarca Region > Cajamarca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 22 Hotels in Cajamarca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel & Spa Laguna Seca 4*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Being outside Cajamarca, about 10 minutes from the city at Los Baños del Inca, the HOTEL & SPA LAGUNA SECA is surrounded by a vast and nice nature, having the benefits of a comfortable and first level Hotel for you with the exclusivity of offering the benefits of thermal waters within the installations. You can enjoy the Turkish Baths and the Sauna with the natural steams of the thermal water which come from the own water springs combined with the special scent of the Andean herbs, representing a prefect combination. This sensation you can also enjoy in the SPA, where the focus is on the benefits of natural local ingredients, being the best treatment for your health an wellbeing. The HOTEL & SPA LAGUNA SECA and all the staff is compromised to provide a special service, trying every day to give you a better service and to attend you as you deserve. During your stay you can enjoy special days which will leave great memories also using the benefits of our thermal water swimming pools, the wide landscape, the horseback riding and the Restaurant EL FOGÓN within the tranquility of that place. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel & Spa Laguna Seca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing