We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing”

Hotel Tower Inn International Ltd.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Tower Inn International Ltd.
Ranked #6 of 14 Hotels in Chittagong City
Reviewed 4 November 2013

This place has a smart appearance but isn't that great once you settle in. Like other reviewers, I found it very noisy. I also found a real problem with biting insects in the public areas, although the bedroom seemed to have been sprayed sufficiently.

Bathroom was dark and dingy, although apparently clean. Take some scissors into the bathroom when you go for a shower, otherwise you'll never get the shampoo serving open. And leave plenty of time for the water to warm up.

It is a large building but seemed half-finished with lots of hammering during the day. The lifts are terrible and one of them requires you to push button 9 to get to the 8th floor. Goodness only knows what that is about. They have a tendency too to just stop on whatever floor they feel like, regardless of what button has been pressed. And the poor porter got stuck in the elevator for several minutes whilst trying to take my suitcase to street level as I checked out.

Restaurant was very poor. Staff have limited grasp of English. Terribly strong cooking smells from the kitchen, which is divided from the main dining area by simply a wooden screen. One meal gave me a dodgy stomach the next day.

At the next meal, I was told that chicken tikka or chicken tandoori would take one hour to prepare. Although Chittagong has one of the country's largest fish markets and fishing fleets, I was told the kitchen didn't have any when I opted not to wait for chicken to be prepared.

One of the managers is one of the most fawning individuals I have ever come across. He bows and scrapes (literally) as he expresses his desire that you'll have a nice time and assures you that your every want will be taken care of. He's like Basil Fawlty dealing with an aristocratic guest.

He will also lead you to the 'bar', which is actually a type of nightclub, and instructs waiters to give you his special discount rate on drinks. I realize this is a Muslim country, but the beer is, even discounted, expensive. There was a live female singer the evening I visited. She was quite good but the volume was really, really loud. You can't engage in any conversation whilst she is in full vocal flow. Watch out - you cannot sign for drinks and put them on your room bill. They don't give you advance notice of this and demand cash.

Overall, this is probably a high standard hotel for Khulna and very reasonably priced. Just don't expect too much.

WiFi is free but awfully slow and one had to log in repeatedly as it would suddenly drop the link to the server. I found WiFi coverage in other hotels in Bangladesh very good, so I don't understand why it is so poor here. Reception connected me to the hotel's IT person when I first encountered a problem and his advice was to just keep logging out and logging in again.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
4  Thank aberdeenangler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (24)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

12 - 18 of 24 reviews

Reviewed 28 September 2013

I stayed a couple of nights. The hotel is a pretty scruffy 3*. The entrance area was a building site (with not much activity). Reception and service OK. The rooms were not too smart or coordinated. I had to move from my first room because of traffic noise. The second room I think is what they would call a suite - too bed rooms and a living area. It had a decent TV in the living area. The bed was firm foam but OK. Bathroom old and scruffy. The wireless internet did work quite well in the rooms.

The restaurant produced some good food for dinner, but was lacking at breakfast and very limited on the second day when it was busy.

The biggest problem was for the last day the whole building smelt strongly of sewage.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank davestly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2013

I was in Room No. 501 for one night. It was a roadside room. The Reception of the Hotel is not in the ground floor, even it was hard to get the Hotel in the evening since there was electric load shedding at that time. The bathroom is very conjusted. No free wi-fi. Complementary breakfast was excellent. Food quality at dinner was also very good. The Qibla direction is available in the room which helps me to pray, also there is a separate room for prayer. The staffs are helpful. Phone: +880312862691. Car parking at night is available at free of cost. Driver's dormitory is also available at low cost. Overall it is ok if there is no other choice available.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zafrul Hasan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2013

As I was on business purpose, my affiliated company booked a room in this hotel.I arrived there in the early morning at about 6:30am.As it's situated one of the central zone's of the city, so one can easily go there without having transportation problem.Maybe it was early morning, that's why I had to wait in the reception for near about 20 minutes because the manager was busy doing some other stuffs.I had my room on 6th floor.The room has a great view through it's window but the size of the room could be bigger.The air-conditioning system worked pretty good.But many of you (including me) may get a strange feeling because of the design of the walls.One thing I must add, as the reception is on the first floor & the lift is in the entrance on ground floor, so anybody can easily got to your room without making it to reception.It may become a security issue to you.Overall,my experience staying there was good.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rezwanur R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2013

Very Good Hotel If they start renovation then its a really best hotel in port city.cool.............
Bar and restaurant are coming swimming pool also coming they are provide best service to all of there guest so i will command all of friends to come and stay and using there service. four hall room also they have in chittagong no body have together four hall so its a good side and forty cars can park there basement at a time.they also transport service to there guest at necessary basis.

Room Tip: please advice us
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shaheed N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2013

I have spent three nights at the Tower Inn Internation within a week. The rooms and the hotel altogether are very clean not only for Bangladesh standards. The friendly staff at the reception is helpful and you will easily find somebody fluent in English. The location is central, which - given the permanent traffic jam in the whole of Chittagong - however, does not help much. The first room on the 8th floor was very nice, the second on the same floor had the same nice design but a severe water damage with the plaster coming down in one corner. Obviously the hotel is undergoing some renovation work so that you can expect all rooms tiptop in the near future. There is a lot of noise on the floor in the evenings with a service telephone ringing every two minutes, so you should not be too sensitive.
The restaurant is a sort of a surprise box, too: We had outstanding Thai and Bengali food the first evening, the following day it was pretty average. Service there unfortunately is a nuisance - waiters who have definitely no idea how to serve how, what and when, confusing everything, be it told in Bangla or English. The only thing the last one managed to handle without problems was approaching us for a tip bluntly. If you can ignore this rooms and restaurant are an excellent option in Chittagong in that price range.
N.B.: Do not believe it is merely 30 minutes to the airport, whatever you are told. Even in the early morning it takes at least 45, so better calculate an hour. And the charge of 1.500 thaka for the ride is heft compared to what it costs to hire a car for the whole day.

Room Tip: If you can choose on the 8th floor take the rooms with 81x, not 80x.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ADG483
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2012

I think that if you are visiting Chittagong, you have to be prepared to leave certain expectations at home if you are to enjoy your stay and having ensured that I'd done that, I can honestly say that my experience of the Hotel Tower Inn was very memorable.

First of all, the hotel is staffed by extremely welcoming, chatty and genuinely nice people (the Bangladeshis are some some of the warmest folks I have every met), who made me and my friend feel very much at home and were always willing to help out.

The rooms are clean enough and the decor.... 'interesting'. Yes, if you go running your fingers over the tops of cupboards or you start looking under beds you may be disappointed, but otherwise conditions are certainly acceptable for this part of the world- and I include the bathroom in all of this.

The restaurant too is more than adequate and again, the staff were all great. The food was extremely tasty, the ambiance welcoming and service prompt. I would say that the other contributor who made the comments about a bad burger simply made the mistake of ordering American food- in Bangladesh. The local cuisine that we had in restaurant was always well-prepared and fresh and I think that as a general rule, travelers coming to Bangladesh should not be scared by the food- I did not get sick at all during my trip.

Finally- and as with everything in Bangladesh- the Hotel Tower Inn is very good value for money and I left with the feeling that I would have been happy to pay quite a bit more for our stay.

A couple of tips:

The reception is on the second floor and not in the immediate entrance lobby of the building.

There is (or was) an ATM located a few buildings down on the left as you exit the hotel.

Chittagong is noisy and often the power fails at some point over the night, so sleep quality was not great.

The hotel is not licensed, but then Bangladesh is a Muslim country.

I was able to get onto the roof to survey the view, but beware of loose bricks and debris up there.

I'm not much of a computer person, but I believe wifi was available in all the rooms.

Airport pick-ups and drops are available.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GoatRope
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chittagong City hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Favour Inn International
Hotel Favour Inn International
#11 of 14 in Chittagong City
7 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Peninsula Chittagong
The Peninsula Chittagong
#2 of 14 in Chittagong City
209 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Agrabad
Hotel Agrabad
#3 of 14 in Chittagong City
88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Ambassador Residency
Ambassador Residency
#7 of 14 in Chittagong City
4 reviews
0.0 mi away
Aristos Hotel
Aristos Hotel
#10 of 14 in Chittagong City
9 reviews
0.0 mi away
Radisson Blu Chittagong Bay View
Radisson Blu Chittagong Bay View
#1 of 14 in Chittagong City
283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Tower Inn International Ltd.? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Tower Inn International Ltd.

Address: 183 Jubilee Road, Chittagong City 4000, Bangladesh
Region: Bangladesh > Chittagong Division > Chittagong City
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 14 Hotels in Chittagong City
Price Range: £37 - £70 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Tower Inn International Ltd. 3.5*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Tower Inn International Ltd. is spectacularly designed and added with traditional hospitality of courteous, attractive and personalized service and is conveniently located in the heart of the city - Jubilee Road of Chittagong at a distance of 20 kilometers from Shah Amanat International Airport and 3 kilometers from railway station. It offers magnificent facilities and distinctive amenities, such as 88 centrally air-conditioned rooms and Green Chilli Restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Tower Inn International Ltd. reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Tower Inn International Ltd. Chittagong Division, Bangladesh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing