We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic Views” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Baruna Cottages

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Baruna Cottages
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Fantastic Views”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2014

Great location on the lake, couldn't ask for better.
Clean and neat. Spacious room with king size bed, my room had large glass windows so the views toward the lake were really great. My friends stayed in a similar room with the window facing the garden.
My bed had a mosquito net around it which obscured the light placed high in ceiling making the room quite dim at night. I noticed a light fitting in the corner of the room which had blown so perhaps if I'd asked for the bulb to be replaced it might have made a difference, I didn't worry about it.

When night arrived the lights attracted millions of tiny flying bugs both inside and outside the rooms. My room wasn't too bad, as the bugs were mostly around the ceiling light and I suspect they dropped on to the top of the mosquito net, although I did notice quite a few on the floor as well.
Unfortunately for my friends, whose bed didn't have a net, their room and bed teemed with these little bugs, which rather freaked them out. Fortunately they had a travel insect net with them which they tied to a hook after removing a picture behind the bedhead area. This meant the net draped down on the bed from the wall behind them and at times touched their faces as they slept uncomfortably that night.

Before the bug episode, we all discovered the water was shut off and had to chase up the manager to turn the water on, then when it came on it was almost unbearably scalding hot without the ability to adjust with cold water - thus our showers were a pain (literally) and very short!

The restaurant is very basic with most items on the menu unavailable. I settled for a plain omelette which had probably been cooked to arrive with the other meals and thus arrived cool. The others had spring rolls which were very good. Breakfast was a choice of pancakes or omelette which were fine.

I've rated the accommodation as very good because of the location, price and actually the rooms are quite good (with mossie net) - but I do hope management resolves the bug and water problem asap.

Room Tip: Confirm your room has a mosquito net around the bed to negate the flying bug problem.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PiaJessen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    6
    3
    5
    5
    9
See reviews for
5
13
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2014

Hotel in Desa Buahan is remote from main attractions but they can organise all the local guides and drivers for you. Friendly home stay environment, with fresh farmed fresh fish on menu, Good for Batur trek & hot springs would be a good base for Mt Agung also.

Room Tip: Friendly family home stay environment, reasonable English but remote, awesome views of Mt Batur &...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2014 via mobile

The price is about $50. Pancake breakfast. Satisfied with the view in front of the room hotel. Interior design is mostly made by wood. Actually, I slept at the new room of this hotel. The room has glassing door so you can enjoy the lake and mountain view directly from your room. Sunshine and cool atmosphere greet you suddenly when it comes to morning. Freezing. Enjoy!

Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Stenisia P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
330 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 193 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2013

Stayed here a couple of times over the last few years and always been made welcome by Putu and his family. The rooms are large and spacious. Ask for a bungalow overlooking Lake Batur. You can go out to the fish farm to get your dinner which is a nice touch. The pace of life is slow which is just ideal. Nearby you have opportunities to climb the volcano. I did it 20 years ago and haven't felt the need since. You also have hot springs and a couple of restaurants nearby. Locals will also invite you to cock fighting . This is ideal for a couple of nice of peace. The irrigation pumps do start up fairly early.

Room Tip: Facing the lake
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tomski2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2013 via mobile

We booked this place as it is a perfect stopover for our sunrise volcano batur trekking. The owner organised everything for us, including the driver and trekking. Me and my two girlfriends truly enjoyed our stay here. We even get to do our own fishing for our dinner. The fishing experience was so memorable and not your usual boat and net kind of fishing!

Our dinner was sooo delicious - truly balinese food. I doubt you can find any restaurant around the area as it is a small quiet town.

Our room was lovely and faced the mini vegetable farm and lake. As the weather gets cold at night, be sure to bring your warmies! The bed was comfortable and big enough for 3 ladies.

Overall, highly recommended for people who wants to avoid annoying crowd and i am sure to come back again!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dyass84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2013

My friends and I stayed in 5 different hotels while in Bali, and this was by far our favorite. I just got home today after 30 hours of travel and had to write a review ASAP - that's how good our experience was!

Pros:
• Right on the lake, literally steps from the water. The view is breathtaking!
• The staff was friendly and welcoming, and we felt like part of the family.
• We were taken onto the lake to watch our dinner (fish) being collected. I've never had fresher, more delicious tilapia.
• Very close to Mt. Batur, so we got an extra hour of sleep before our hike by cutting out the drive from a more populated area.
• The room was clean, large, and comfortable.
• The bathroom had a Western toilet and hot water.
• Very well priced given the beautiful location.

Cons:
• There were some bugs in the room; it was more like a cabin than a hotel. This didn't bother us, but it might bother you.
• The dinner menu is limited if you're vegetarian, fish from the lake is their main dish.
• Toilet paper and towels are provided, but no soap or shampoo - we expected this and brought our own.
• The main bed was very noisy. Our room didn't share a wall, though, so if you're on your honeymoon it shouldn't be a problem.
• Small swimming pools outside the rooms weren't usable. Notify them in advance if you really want to use them.
• No air conditioning. Not an issue for us at this location, the altitude keeps the temperature cool.

Room Tip: We had our choice of a lakeside cottage or a room in the main building. Lakeside is the obvious choi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susie Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2013

We only stayed one night here and we were the only guests during our staying period. The room was basic and clean. No air condition, no fan, no TV and the Wifi also did not work. The hot water shower was ok. The owner's son can cook meal for you and the price seems above average. The taste was good. The interesting thing was that the owner's son will invite you go fishing if you want to have dinner at the hotel.
I booked room through email and it seems a little bit cheaper than through those famous agent websites. But according to my experience, I still think that the price was a little bit expensive.
The overall experience was good during my stay.

Room Tip: The hotel is just near the Batur Lake and the Batur Mt. located on the other side of Batur Lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Eddie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Buahan
2.0 mi away
Lakeview Ecolodge
Lakeview Ecolodge
#4 of 5 in Kintamani
3.5 of 5 bubbles 259 reviews
2.8 mi away
Black Lava Hostel
Black Lava Hostel
#1 of 5 in Bangli
5.0 of 5 bubbles 55 reviews
2.8 mi away
Volcano Terrace
Volcano Terrace
#1 of 5 in Kintamani
4.5 of 5 bubbles 12 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Mapa Lake View Bungalow
2.2 mi away
The Cave Hotel
The Cave Hotel
#5 of 13 in Kintamani
3.0 of 5 bubbles 23 reviews
4.1 mi away
Batur Mountain View
Batur Mountain View
#2 of 12 in Kintamani
3.5 of 5 bubbles 86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Baruna Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baruna Cottages

Property: Baruna Cottages
Address: Desa Buahan, Kintamani, Buahan, Kintamani 80361, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Kintamani > Buahan
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Speciality Lodging in Buahan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Baruna Cottages 2.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Baruna Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing