We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Trip to Paradise”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Valentin Imperial Maya
Certificate of Excellence
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“A Trip to Paradise”
Reviewed 5 December 2013

I have been to Cancun all inclusive resorts 7 times in the past 3 years. I would rate The Valentin as the best resort where I have stayed. Bars, restaurants and pools are plentiful and first quality. Service was also excellent. It is like being in a city within a private paradise. They also did not charge us for premium liquor when we requested it (many other resorts do have a charge for this).

There is a lot of walking since the resort is so large, but the front desk is more than accommodating those that may have trouble getting around. They will pick you up in a golf cart when necessary. It may also take a day or two to learn your way around.

Lastly, the beach is absolutely beautiful and well kept. I would guess it is close to a 1/2 mile wide. I will definitely go back when I find another competitive package.

Room Tip: We stayed in the lowest level of suites, but it was fine. I at first did not like the building we we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
3 Thank Traveler0422
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
F T, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Valentin Imperial Maya, responded to this review, 6 December 2013
Dear recent VIM guests from Atlanta, Georgia,

We are pleased to read the positive comments on your recent stay at Valentin Imperial Maya. It is a pleasure to know that you enjoyed our services and facilities.

Thank you for recommending Valentin Imperial Maya. Please do not forget that we will be pleased to welcome you back at any time.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

11,675 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    8,269
    2,364
    677
    215
    150
See reviews for
698
9,111
57
51
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3,525)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mississauga, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 December 2013

This is a couples orientated, relaxing getaway (and LGBT friendly)
Being treated like royalty every moment of the day makes this resort a true 5 star getaway.
Bartenders nancy and arleth are the most welcoming and kind staffers while waiter abel will ensure you are well taken care of.
no issues with food and beverage and the size vs. population was no issue at all.
visited in late November and there was so much quiet space it was nice. restaurants over the "special" nighttime buffets any day and do not miss out on the breakfast and lunch buffets. the selections offered at le marché are truly incredible. the spa is a must visit, the staff are very friendly and VERY good at what they do.
The hotel offers a shuttle service into the nearest town which has great shopping and a beautiful beach and is much cheaper than attempting to bargain with a cab driver.
overall this was an amazing "first" experience at the VIM and we will now be going back annually for years to come.
One final shout out to all the staff (and I mean each and everyone one of them) who together made this a truly incredible experience

Room Tip: the "swim up" rooms aren't really swim up, and they are not too private. Emerald room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Susan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emporia, Kansas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 December 2013

We have visited the River Maya area for the last twelve years and I would have to say this was one of the best places we have stayed at. The rooms were excellent and always very clean, we stayed in room group 4 which was right in the middle of the resort. We spent most of our time at the beach, it was really nice and you never had to wait for a drink. The restaurants were all good with the French and Japanese being our favorite. We stayed six days and I wish it could have been more, the worst part of the trip was coming home!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Jerry G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
F T, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Valentin Imperial Maya, responded to this review, 10 December 2013
Dear Jerry from Emporia, Kansas

Nothing puts a bigger smile on our face than to know that our guests experienced a beautiful experience with us.

We take a lot of pride in our hotel and services and it really makes us feel good when we learn that we have been successful in accomplishing our mission of making your vacations unforgettable.

Once again thank you and we are looking forward welcoming you back very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 December 2013

Our 2nd trip, first one was March 2013 and we stayed in a swim up suite. 2nd trip we stayed in a standard silver suite which was more centrally located to pools, bars, the beach and restaurants. We were surprised that a waiter at the Mar Tiera restaurant remembered us from our March stay. Guilberto was an excellent waiter and we had both breakfast and lunch at this restaurant requesting him specifically. After our 2nd evening, we went back to the Mar Tiera reastaurant for dinner and we were well taken care of by Rubin the dinner waiter from Mar Tiera. Two other bar tenders that provided exceptional service are Gabriella at the Lobby/Martini bar and Rigoroberta the vening beach bar bartender.

Room Tip: Building 5 is more centrally located to all the amenities
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank 878gerryv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
F T, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Valentin Imperial Maya, responded to this review, 6 December 2013
Dear Gerry from Chicago, Illinois

Thank for your beautiful words and for taking some of your time in posting this wonderful review, it is good to know you had a pleasant stay with us once again; this makes us feel very proud. Our team priority's is to be sure you have wonderful days at our resort.

It will be our honor to have you back in our amazing resort for a 3rd visit ;so do not hesitate to let us know as soon as you are ready to return.

Warm regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cancun, Mexico
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 December 2013

We just returned from Valentin Imperial Maya and we had a great time. All in all VIM met and slightly exceeded our expectations. We usually go to Secrets or Excellence resorts but we decided to try this resort this time around. This review is more a comparison of Valentin Imperial Maya versus Secrets and Excellence resorts :

• Grounds & Layout
Valentin resort is only 6 years old and the buildings still look like new. However the vegetation and wilderness around and among the resort makes it look like the resort has been there for 20 years. When they built the resort they didn’t clear the entire area and then build up the resort and planted vegetation, they simply built it around the vegetation. There is a real “tropical feel” all over the resort.
Winner: Valentin

• Size of resort
The resort is large, depending on where your room is located there could be a LOT of walking involved to go to and come back from the main buildings (lobby, bars, restaurants, etc.). We had a room in the building farthest from it all but we didn’t mind too much the walk, in fact we needed it after eating so much at times. It takes a day or two to get all your bearings and everything is conveniently located.
Winner: Secrets and Excellence

• Room
We had the nicest room we ever had, it wasn’t the biggest room we ever have but except for the balcony area it was the best designed one. Beautiful and super clean. Room service was done early every morning and they never missed one single turndown service or mini bar replenishment (which both have happened at least once in most prior trips).
Winner: Valentin

• Pools
One HUGE pool well designed and divided in two distinct large sections, a quiet one and a party one. Lots of rooms for chairs and palapas all around it. Pool bar at each section. Also long meandering and quiet pool all along buildings 6, 7 and 8 (where we were) with bar service.
Winner: Excellence and Valentin

• Beach
Simply beautiful! Beautiful turquoise water, angel fish all around. Wide beach. Plenty of chairs and palapas. Beach beds and chairs reserved for Privilege people. Big waves, fun to play in.
Winner: Valentin

• Restaurants & bars
Very good food and very consistent with their drinks which are not strong by the way. Great selection of restaurants and bars. However the menu selections needed more variety. For example, although we really enjoyed our dinner at the Japanese restaurant we didn’t return because we would have ordered the same thing for the lack of interesting other choices.
Winner: Secrets and Excellence

• Staff and service
Very pleasant staff as at other resorts in Mayan Riviera. However service in general is simply quite not up to par with Secrets and Excellence, it was noticeable to us and other people we talked to who have been to Secrets and Excellence. Had we never been to Secrets and Excellence we would have thought service at Valentin was excellent. It was very good service at all times but simply not “excellent”.
Winner: Secrets and Excellence

• Bottom line:
Valentin is a very nice resort and we are so glad we are happy with our selection, the package we bought and the price we paid for it. Is it overall as good as the two Excellence resorts, Iberostar Grand or Secrets Maroma? No way! But is it better overall than Secrets Capri, Secrets Silversands, El Dorado Casita and Royal Playa Del Carmen? Absolutely Yes! Considering that it always prices out cheaper and that they always have pretty last-minute deals it is clear in our minds that we will return one day.

Many Thanks to Margarita (Indonasian restaurant), Jonas (Mexican restaurant), Andrea (Privilege Club), Nancy (Martini bar), Eli short for badly-spelled Elijanoh I think (???) at the Plaza bar.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
15 Thank prrollt-Mtl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
F T, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Valentin Imperial Maya, responded to this review, 10 December 2013
Dear recent VIM Guests from Montreal ,

We greatly appreciate the time you took to write your review and the details you have shared and definitely we are also grateful for choosing the Valentin Imperial Maya for your last vacations. It is a pleasure to know that you enjoyed most of our services and facilities.

Please be assured that we have shared all your feedback with the rest of the team, we all took your suggestions as a learning tool and will keep working to improve our services.

Thanks you once again and we look forward in welcoming you back in the near future.

Warm regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2013

The vim is amazing and after 5 visits we still love it. There are subtle improvements everywhere.
skid mats in the ladies bathroom near the dive shop -no more slipping on the marble floor
better lighting at night and some added selections on the buffet trays.It was a smooth checkin and quick trip to the room Emerald 14206 - love this place
For us the Emeralds are the best value as there are no Squeaky elevators and they are a 2 minute walk to the main pool and 3 minutes to quiet pool.
A quick call to the concierge to get more coat hangers and to ask for room to be made up between 10 and 1 , then off for Martinis and dinner.
In the entire stay we never had less than stellar service from everyone
New linens, and fresh coat of paint everywhere and Wifi !!
There is a new menu at the french restaurant and it is awesome

To management - some comments for consideration
Privilege- you should consider smoking and non smoking sections at the pool and beach
To enjoy privilege and be driven away by chain smoking drunks was not pleasant. The same people invited non privilege people to hunker down real close so. There were 3 smokers and a heart transplant less than 4 feet from non smokers .
This is a huge area of concern
Then the issue of 2 people paying for privilege and 6 young People Squat . This issue needs to be monitored on a regular basis.
There is a smoking lounge in the cigar bar get rid of ashtrays outside in front of Don Miguel
Trying to get late checkout was the only other issue we had as we were prepared to pay. We were told she would need to check with supervisor and she would call the room .She did not call so I went down 6 hours later and was told it was not possible as the room had been assigned. So Friday AM went down to ask her why she did nt call and was told supervisor was not in yet and could we come back. We went for breakfast and then back Were told supervisor was in meeting but they would let us have room until one PM. Ok compromise is good.
At 12 :05 we go to start packing and our key has been deprogrammed. The blood pressure rises . fortunately the maid was nearby and let us in. The maid service is unappreciated for what they do.
We came home one day and I had a bubble bath and she was on her hands and knees scrubbing the huge Jacuzzi.
We love you valentin and will be back . You are the closest resort to perfection we have experienced. You just need to get all the team on the same page at check out

Room Tip: If king bed is essential then book correct category dont go cheap
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank yucatanLover_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sanger, Texas
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2013

Our family of six adults just returned from the Valentin Imperial Maya. The property, rooms, beaches, pools and service are awesome. We loved the spa. The shows were great. Only had two small problems - In some restaurants the food was just OK, the buffet and room service were wonderful. The second problem was that it took an hour to check out, that was with no waiting, luckily I went down early to check out or we would have missed our transfer to the airport. Overall, we loved it and are planning to return.

Room Tip: The Emerald Suites are great, love the big bathtub!!! Little disappointing that our ocean front room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Bzysu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
F T, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Valentin Imperial Maya, responded to this review, 6 December 2013
Dear recent VIM Guests from Sanger, Texas

We are pleased that you loved it here; your kind comments really motivate us to continue and further improve our services.

Regarding to the check out process, your comments have been brought to the attention of the front desk manager and team in order to take immediately actions improving our process.

We are happy that you had a beautiful vacations and more so that you'll be back to stay with us again.

Thank you once again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa del Secreto
1.3 mi away
Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso
Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso
#1 of 11 in Playa Paraiso
5,764 reviews
2.6 mi away
Secrets Maroma Beach Riviera Cancun
10.9 mi away
Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Perla
Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Pe...
#24 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
8,309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.3 mi away
Royal Hideaway Playacar
Royal Hideaway Playacar
#32 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
4,046 reviews
8.2 mi away
Grand Velas Riviera Maya
Grand Velas Riviera Maya
#3 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
3,036 reviews
6.6 mi away
Secrets Capri Riviera Cancun
Secrets Capri Riviera Cancun
#39 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
9,283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Valentin Imperial Maya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Valentin Imperial Maya

Property: Valentin Imperial Maya
Address: Carretera Federal 307 Chetumal Puerto Juarez Km. 311, Playa del Secreto, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen > Playa del Secreto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Playa del Secreto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Valentin Imperial Maya 4.5*
Number of rooms: 540
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Valentin Imperial Maya is the new definition of paradise. Our 5 star Adults-Only (18+) All-Inclusive Resort is located a short 25 minutes from Cancun International Airport in the Riviera Maya. Set amid lavish gardens on a half-mile-long stretch of white sand beach named Playa Del Secreto (The Secret Beach), this magnificent award-winning resort boasts one of the largest swimming pools in Mexico. The location is ideal as one can easily reach Cancun and the world famous Mayan archaeological sites such as Tulum, Coba, and Chichen Itza, yet be removed enough to enjoy the casually elegant ambience of Valentin Imperial Maya. Escape into a world where your every wish is our command. Come indulge yourself....You deserve it! Valentin Imperial Maya Hotel & Spa is committed to preserve the environment by reducing the consumption of natural resources, promoting among our guests and staff, protection and respect for the environment through good environmental practices. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Holiday Gems, Hotels.com, Travelbag, Evoline ltd, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, HRS and getaroom.com so you can book your Valentin Imperial Maya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Valentin Imperial Maya Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Valentin Imperial Riviera Maya

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing