We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First time at Valentin”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Valentin Imperial Riviera Maya
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 December 2013

We stayed at VIM during the week of Nov. 16. The grounds were very clean and the staff was very attentive. I was somewhat disappointed that there were not more pool or beach activities. The main activity was people being in the pool drinking and talking to other people. The food was good. There was no buffet at night, only the specialty restaurants were available. The nightly entertainment was good, better than most all-inclusive places. The rooms and beds were very comfortable. I would say this is a place mainly for couples. If you are a single person, I'm not sure how much fun you would have. My biggest complaint was people reserving chairs both at the pool and on the beach and then not using them.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Terry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
F T, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Valentin Imperial Riviera Maya, responded to this reviewResponded 10 December 2013

DearTerry from Saint Charles, Missouri

Although is pleasant to know that you valued our food, nightly entertainment and rooms , we are really sorry due we did not satisfy your expectations with the pool and beach activities . we have taken all of your comments up with the appropriate person in order to improve the activities.

Thank you also for bringing to our attention the reserving chairs ,at the property we do not allow guests to reserve the chairs, this policy will be reinforced in order to have other guests to enjoy the pool and beach chairs as well.

Thank you again and we very much appreciate your remark as these allow us to continue improving our level of service.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (12,265)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

5,905 - 5,911 of 12,265 reviews

Reviewed 6 December 2013

We travelled (6 of us) to the Valentine in September of 2012 for my husband 40th birthday. We expected more from the Adults only resort. This was an average resort. Food was OK, limited entertainment, service was OK.
Not much to do....
Nothing special really.
Probably we will not come back. Very average resort.

Room Tip: Corner suites are bigger. Higher floor is better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 28Molson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
F T, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Valentin Imperial Riviera Maya, responded to this reviewResponded 10 December 2013

Dear Guests from Toronto, Canadá

Thank you for the comments you have published on Trip Advisor about your vacation in 2012.

We are very concerned to learn of your disappointing experience during your last stay and would like to apologize for any inconvenience you experienced but we would like to say that much has changed since your last visit in the Valentin imperial maya.

We truly hope to have the opportunity to change your perception and we invite you to come back soon, we are very confident that it will be a better experience.

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2013 via mobile

This in long overdue. I stayed last march and loved the valentin! This is the type of place you want to go to if you are looking to decompress, read, lounge at the pool or beach. If you're looking for hardcore partying, this isn't it.

When we checked in, we got some news that our room was not ready but, we got upgraded to the best room in the place. Those rooms were huge, beautiful and had every amenity you could want.

We travelled with another couple and on the first day, his wife left her purse at the lunch table. One of the servers saw this and jokingly strolled by her while putting her purse on his shoulder as a funny reminder to not forget in the future. The next day, they left their safe open with cash in it. The maid called security and the safe was locked so no one could access it. We had to wait for security to open it (about 20 minutes) and to verify that the contents were there. Not one penny or item was missing!

The good:
The staff is incredibly friendly and helpful.
The property is gorgeous but expect to walk a lot as it is pretty sprawling. I love this layout and like to walk to breakfast, dinner etc.
The booze- top shelf and the bartenders are great
The food- breakfast was great and there are enough restaurants with varied menus to please most. Italian was my favorite.
The beach- fantastic
The pools- great- Edgard and the sexy games are a lot of fun.

The not so good
Dos XX's beer and Sol beer- not a fan and that's all you get
The sports bar- needs better bar food and beer selection


Overall, the best vacation I've had. I will be back.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Mass-Dave66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2013

I have been to Cancun all inclusive resorts 7 times in the past 3 years. I would rate The Valentin as the best resort where I have stayed. Bars, restaurants and pools are plentiful and first quality. Service was also excellent. It is like being in a city within a private paradise. They also did not charge us for premium liquor when we requested it (many other resorts do have a charge for this).

There is a lot of walking since the resort is so large, but the front desk is more than accommodating those that may have trouble getting around. They will pick you up in a golf cart when necessary. It may also take a day or two to learn your way around.

Lastly, the beach is absolutely beautiful and well kept. I would guess it is close to a 1/2 mile wide. I will definitely go back when I find another competitive package.

Room Tip: We stayed in the lowest level of suites, but it was fine. I at first did not like the building we we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
3  Thank Traveler0422
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
F T, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Valentin Imperial Riviera Maya, responded to this reviewResponded 6 December 2013

Dear recent VIM guests from Atlanta, Georgia,

We are pleased to read the positive comments on your recent stay at Valentin Imperial Maya. It is a pleasure to know that you enjoyed our services and facilities.

Thank you for recommending Valentin Imperial Maya. Please do not forget that we will be pleased to welcome you back at any time.

Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2013

This is a couples orientated, relaxing getaway (and LGBT friendly)
Being treated like royalty every moment of the day makes this resort a true 5 star getaway.
Bartenders nancy and arleth are the most welcoming and kind staffers while waiter abel will ensure you are well taken care of.
no issues with food and beverage and the size vs. population was no issue at all.
visited in late November and there was so much quiet space it was nice. restaurants over the "special" nighttime buffets any day and do not miss out on the breakfast and lunch buffets. the selections offered at le marché are truly incredible. the spa is a must visit, the staff are very friendly and VERY good at what they do.
The hotel offers a shuttle service into the nearest town which has great shopping and a beautiful beach and is much cheaper than attempting to bargain with a cab driver.
overall this was an amazing "first" experience at the VIM and we will now be going back annually for years to come.
One final shout out to all the staff (and I mean each and everyone one of them) who together made this a truly incredible experience

Room Tip: the "swim up" rooms aren't really swim up, and they are not too private. Emerald room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Susan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2013

We have visited the River Maya area for the last twelve years and I would have to say this was one of the best places we have stayed at. The rooms were excellent and always very clean, we stayed in room group 4 which was right in the middle of the resort. We spent most of our time at the beach, it was really nice and you never had to wait for a drink. The restaurants were all good with the French and Japanese being our favorite. We stayed six days and I wish it could have been more, the worst part of the trip was coming home!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Jerry G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
F T, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Valentin Imperial Riviera Maya, responded to this reviewResponded 10 December 2013

Dear Jerry from Emporia, Kansas

Nothing puts a bigger smile on our face than to know that our guests experienced a beautiful experience with us.

We take a lot of pride in our hotel and services and it really makes us feel good when we learn that we have been successful in accomplishing our mission of making your vacations unforgettable.

Once again thank you and we are looking forward welcoming you back very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2013

Our 2nd trip, first one was March 2013 and we stayed in a swim up suite. 2nd trip we stayed in a standard silver suite which was more centrally located to pools, bars, the beach and restaurants. We were surprised that a waiter at the Mar Tiera restaurant remembered us from our March stay. Guilberto was an excellent waiter and we had both breakfast and lunch at this restaurant requesting him specifically. After our 2nd evening, we went back to the Mar Tiera reastaurant for dinner and we were well taken care of by Rubin the dinner waiter from Mar Tiera. Two other bar tenders that provided exceptional service are Gabriella at the Lobby/Martini bar and Rigoroberta the vening beach bar bartender.

Room Tip: Building 5 is more centrally located to all the amenities
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank 878gerryv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
F T, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Valentin Imperial Riviera Maya, responded to this reviewResponded 6 December 2013

Dear Gerry from Chicago, Illinois

Thank for your beautiful words and for taking some of your time in posting this wonderful review, it is good to know you had a pleasant stay with us once again; this makes us feel very proud. Our team priority's is to be sure you have wonderful days at our resort.

It will be our honor to have you back in our amazing resort for a 3rd visit ;so do not hesitate to let us know as soon as you are ready to return.

Warm regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa del Secreto
7.6 mi away
Fairmont Mayakoba
Fairmont Mayakoba
#10 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
4,278 reviews
12.4 mi away
The Royal Playa del Carmen
The Royal Playa del Carmen
#12 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
16,639 reviews
2.7 mi away
Secrets Maroma Beach Riviera Cancun
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso
Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso
#1 of 11 in Playa Paraiso
6,033 reviews
10.9 mi away
Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Perla
Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Pe...
#21 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
9,294 reviews
14.3 mi away
Royal Hideaway Playacar
Royal Hideaway Playacar
#33 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
4,484 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Valentin Imperial Riviera Maya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Valentin Imperial Riviera Maya

Address: Carretera Federal 307 Chetumal Puerto Juarez Km. 311, Playa del Secreto, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen > Playa del Secreto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Playa del Secreto
Price Range: £232 - £568 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Valentin Imperial Riviera Maya 4.5*
Number of rooms: 540
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Valentin Imperial Maya is the new definition of paradise. Our 5 star Adults-Only (18+) All-Inclusive Resort is located a short 25 minutes from Cancun International Airport in the Riviera Maya. Set amid lavish gardens on a half-mile-long stretch of white sand beach named Playa Del Secreto (The Secret Beach), this magnificent award-winning resort boasts one of the largest swimming pools in Mexico. The location is ideal as one can easily reach Cancun and the world famous Mayan archaeological sites such as Tulum, Coba, and Chichen Itza, yet be removed enough to enjoy the casually elegant ambience of Valentin Imperial Maya. Escape into a world where your every wish is our command. Come indulge yourself....You deserve it! Valentin Imperial Maya Hotel & Spa is committed to preserve the environment by reducing the consumption of natural resources, promoting among our guests and staff, protection and respect for the environment through good environmental practices. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Holiday Gems, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Expedia, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Valentin Imperial Riviera Maya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Valentin Imperial Maya Hotel Playa Del Carmen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing