We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Resort but not a Great Resort”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Valentin Imperial Riviera Maya
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 June 2014

We arrived at the Valentin on Saturday on a FunJet vacation. We ended up waiting for about 25 minutes for the Lomas Travel transfer to the property (certainly not blaming the resort for that). It took a bit to check in and we asked about upgrades versus the Junior Suite we were scheduled for. We upgraded to an oceanfront Emerald Room. The upgrade cost was reasonable. The beach view was Ok. We were told this was the best room on the property. We inquired about booking a cabana at poolside and we're told these were $100 a day unless you were part of the "privilege package." The next day we met with the concierge and learned about another upgrade to building 7 which gives you perks like premium liquor in the room, fresh flowers each day, newspaper, advanced/priority dinner reservation and lobster at dinner as part of the privilege package. The daily cost of the upgrade was less than the cost of the cabana rentals. After two days of rain we finally had nice days Tuesday and Wednesday.

Main issues we faced were as follows; 1, The Bed. Extremely uncomfortable. Neither of us slept well at all and we don't have back issues. Being our 5th time to Cancun, these were the worst beds we ever stayed in. 2, Premium Liquor. We ordered Grey Goose, Crown Royal, Jack Daniels and Don Julio. They said they couldn't find any Crown but would look. We found plenty in the bar. They were also out if Jack Daniels. Again, plenty in the bar. We are not people that need liquor in the room but if we were there with a group, I would be upset. The Crown and Jack finally arrived the last two days. 3, The Room. There was a spa tub outside which we wanted to use. The heater didn't work so we called the front desk for service. It never was fixed the entire time. 4, Communication. I understand there is a language barrier and I'm in Mexico so maybe my Spanish should be better. There were just a few times that I felt what we asked for didn't translate. Again, we have done five of theses trips and this was the most challenging.

I will say everyone is very nice. Pool service was pretty good but not great. No food service at the pool which was a drawback. The restaurants were good with very good service. The birds at breakfast and lunch are a bit annoying as they swoop in on empty plates as soon as someone gets up. This is at both of the buffets and it a bit gross but I'm sure it's because so many people throw them food and they are just used to it (It was actually funny to watch the husband swinging napkins to keep the birds away while their wives go get food and then when the husbands go get food the wives are feeding the birds at the table).

The beach is okay but not very large. It was quite windy so we only went down there once. They have a relaxing beach bar and we met some folks that come every year to just hang at the beach bar. Again, we met some great people and had a nice time. We don't mind paying for the upgrades but when we do, we do expect things to be really nice.

Again, very nice people. I would rank it a 7 on a scale of 1-10. I hope this is helpful.

Room Tip: Be sure to check the beds when you check in. Make sure they are comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Wisdom2010swb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
F T, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Valentin Imperial Riviera Maya, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2014

Dear recent VIM Guests from Chicago, Illinois

Although is pleasant to know that you met some great people and had a nice time, we are really sorry due we did not satisfy your expectations with some of our services .

We have carefully considered each and every comment mentioned regarding the mattress, the Premium Liquor , the rooms and the communication, your comments have been brought to the attention of the involved managers . We can assure you that we are going to take action where necessary.

We really appreciate your comments and we hope you can give us the opportunity to serve you again.

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (12,183)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

5,065 - 5,071 of 12,184 reviews

Reviewed 5 June 2014

Overall the hotel was an average experience. If I were to go back to Mexico I would most likely try another resort. The staff and atmosphere was very welcoming and relaxing. However, I am very displeased with the food and beverage aspects. We arrived on Tuesday and by Wednesday morning we were having a severe case of travelers diarrhea which was more than likely exposure to the contaminated food and drinks. Unfortunately this left no time to enjoy any pleasure in eating or drinking anything for the rest of our stay. The fever, chills, vomiting and diarrhea left us mostly confined to the room and did not allow for any excursions which we would have liked to do. The room was also very loud and disruptive from the guests above!! There is nothing more aggravating than listening to footsteps and things dropping and moving around for hours. My final advice is....If anyone ever tells you it's ok to drink the water or eat the food in this resort they are wrong!

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Jms131
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
F T, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Valentin Imperial Riviera Maya, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2014

Dear Guests from Playa del Carmen, México ???

We would like to thank you for taking the time to write your comments about your last stay.

We are happy to know that the staff and atmosphere was very welcoming and relaxing.

On the other hand regarding your comments about contracting stomach problems during your time here with us, we would like to confirm that we have no record of any other guests reporting any such medical issues during the dates that you were here with us.

We finally would like to mention we are sorry you felt you had to write such negative review about our hotel ; It is of common knowledge that Trip Advisor is a server offering free access to whomever in the world is connected to internet; anyone can freely express their opinions, which can sometime cause prejudice to the image of an established company.

Once again, we are truly sorry for not having exceeded your expectations .

Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2014

This was a experience what we will never forget . Every day dine in a chef restaurant . Perfect vacation . Very big parc , not overcrowded . Nice big pools . Great excursions to do and all of it taken care of at the hotel .

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tyzonno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
F T, Customer Care at Valentin Imperial Riviera Maya, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2014

Dear Tyzonno,

We are pleased to learn that your stay at Valentin Imperial Maya met your expectations!

The fact that we continue to receive positive reviews from our guests is proof of our commitment to consistent and quality service.

Thank you also for recommending our property. We hope to see you again very soon at Valentin Imperial Maya

Receive our warmest regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2014

The Valentin far exceeded our expectations for our vacation! We took our family to Mexico to celebrate our last child graduating from college, and we could not have been more satisfied. From the moment we boarded the shuttle (with Lomas Travel - also an outstanding group!) until we left 5 days later, we felt pampered and were treated like royalty. The staff was absolutely INCREDIBLE, friendly, attentive and efficient. The resort was gorgeous with lots of activities from which to choose. We highly recommend the Valentin to anyone wanting a fun and relaxing vacation.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Becky G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
F T, Customer Care at Valentin Imperial Riviera Maya, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2014

Dear Becky G,

We are grateful for your positive review published on Trip Advisor, It is really important to us to receive positive feedback as yours, and we are glad to know that we exceeded your expectations during your recent stay at Valentin Imperial Maya.

Thank you for recommending Valentin Imperial Maya. Please do not forget that we will be pleased to welcome you back at any time.

Kind regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2014

My husband and I just recently visited The Valentin Imperial Maya and it was our first trip to an "all Inclusive resort" It was exceptional. They treated us like royality. The food was amazing. The shows that we saw were great. I will definitely plan to go back!

Room Tip: Our room was great, but the trees kinda obstructed our view. Still it was good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kim H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
F T, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Valentin Imperial Riviera Maya, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2014

Dear Kim from Anderson, Carolina del Sur ,

We greatly appreciate the time you took to write a such detailed review and we are definitely also grateful for choosing the Valentin for your 1 st All inclusive vacations. It is a pleasure to know that you enjoyed our food , shows and the friendliness of our staff.

Thank you for recommending our property and for considering our resort on a return visit to Mexico, please feel free to contact us. So we can assist with all pre arrival requests and be sure that your stay surpasses all expectations.

Email : customercare@valentinmaya.com

Receive our warmest regards from the VIM team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2014

We spent the last week of May at the Valentin and it just keeps getting better! Once we walk onto the property and are "welcomed home" by all of the great friends we've made there over the years we are truly at our second home. We want to extend a special thank you to Guadalupe, Gilberto and Ernesto at Mar & Tierra for their excellent service and meals. Thank you Yolanda, Angel Rosales, Joselo, Joice, Karla, Fabrice, Christian, Genaro, Gabrielle at the Martini Bar, and our fantastic housekeeper Rosa! What wonderful staff these people are.

If you opt for the Privilege Package you will enjoy spectacular service from Edgar, Alexander and Manuel at the beach and pool.

If you are thinking about booking this resort, just do it. There is nothing else like it! The grounds are beautiful, premium alcohol, excellent food in every restaurant and the desire from Every employee to make your stay fantastic.

We can't wait for our 12th visit in November!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lynned001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
F T, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Valentin Imperial Riviera Maya, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2014

Dear Lynn from Chicago ,

We thank you for your loyalty to our resort and we are honored to know that your enthusiasm for our Hotel and Service has not changed within the years .

It is our pleasure to know that VIM and especially VIM's staff keeps bringing some magic into your lives.

We cannot wait to welcome you back for the13th time in November , to spoil you and make you feel at home again. Thank you so much!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2014

My wife and I spent a week at the Valentin Imperial Maya from 5/24 - 5/31. This was our third May visit in the past three years, and we are never disappointed. Leaving rainy, cool, miserable weather in Boston, our direct flight arrived on time at Cancun Airport around 11:00 a.m. Unlike our previous two trips, there was no long and winding line to get thru customs, so we were in our limo and on our way to the resort in under 40 minutes from the time we landed. A quick 25 minute ride to the VIM and we were checked in before I finished my complimentary champagne. Unfortunately, our room was not ready yet, so we stopped in at La Marche for a buffet breakfast that was excellent (of course, we were starving).

Once our room was available, we were escorted via golf cart and settled in, grabbed a beer and headed to the lazy river pool outside our 3rd floor room in a Golden Junior Suite. The weather was perfect for us with a few clouds and 85+ temps, so we lathered on the sunscreen and relaxed by the pool until dinner time. Although the weather forecast for the week was a bit sketchy (rain and clouds all week), we had just two brief showers during our stay, so don't put too much stock in the Weather Channel.

During the week, we had dinner at Japanese, Indonesian, Italian, French and Mexican restaurants, as well as the buffet at La Marche and breakfast with Gilberto at Mar Tierra. Every meal was tremendous, and we were sure to tip our waiters well for their hard work. My only complaint here is that they could not provide a beer that was cold enough for me. Being from Boston, we like our beer ice cold, but that is not a deal breaker. I recommend I packing a small six-pack cooler, which you can use to ice down your beers by the pool. They start out cool and warm up very fast. It's all about the cold beer with me.

Our room was on the 3rd floor of bldg # 6, and we had plenty of space along with a king-size bed. Room Service delivered in less than 45 minutes, and this food was delicious as well. We had a balcony with a distant view of the ocean and the lazy-river pool below. Spectacular scenery all around, as I enjoyed my daily cigar, and yet another cold beer (thanks to my cooler). I do have one complaint about the balcony. The chairs might have been used as torture devices in the 16th Century. They might be the most uncomfortable seats I have ever sat on, but again, not a deal breaker. We simply put some towels on the chairs to provide some cushion, but a week later, I'm still sore. Oh, and I still can't figure out why the glass doors separating the toilet from the rest of the bathroom.

We spent nearly every day at the Main Pool, and never had a problem finding a chair or a float. Everyone was well-behaved during our stay including a group of around 80 who were there for a wedding. The pool bar staff, and the wait staff circling the pool during the day were very attentive and friendly (perhaps because we tipped them for every drink). Okay, one more complaint. The resort really must spend a few bucks and add a sophisticated sound system. I swear, it seems that the music requires someone to sit in a booth and spin records. At times, the music at the Main Pool was excellent, but other times it sounded like I was at an Mid-Eastern funeral, and other times there was no music at all. It is blasted from just one speaker that is located next to the disc-jockey, but a new system would be great, and a selection of upbeat music (calypso, reggae, etc.) would make it perfect. The same with the Lazy River Pool. Either no music, or the stuff you hear at a Yoga class or while getting a massage. Liven it up a little.

We will be back. Staff is attentive and friendly and we never ad an issue. We made several new friends who we have been communicating with since we got home. We love this place.

Thanks, VIM, for making our vacation special. See you in 2015.

Room Tip: Convenience of Bldg # 6 and # 7 to pools, beach and restaurants is perfect, and these locations are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
F T, Customer Care at Valentin Imperial Riviera Maya, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2014

Dear Paul B,

We would like to thank you for your review published on Trip Advisor.It honors us to receive such a compliment and encourages us to continue exceeding our clients’ expectations.

We took also good note of your observations regarding thesound system with the Entertainment Manager in order to take the appropriate measures in the future.

We really appreciate you taking the time to let us know we are providing a good service. We look forward to serving you in the future for your 4th visit.

Do not hesitate to contact us before your next arrival.

Email : customercare@valentinmaya.com

Warm Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa del Secreto
7.6 mi away
Fairmont Mayakoba
Fairmont Mayakoba
#11 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
4,207 reviews
12.4 mi away
The Royal Playa del Carmen
The Royal Playa del Carmen
#13 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
16,522 reviews
2.7 mi away
Secrets Maroma Beach Riviera Cancun
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso
Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso
#1 of 11 in Playa Paraiso
5,988 reviews
10.9 mi away
Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Perla
Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Pe...
#21 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
9,183 reviews
14.3 mi away
Royal Hideaway Playacar
Royal Hideaway Playacar
#33 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
4,419 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Valentin Imperial Riviera Maya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Valentin Imperial Riviera Maya

Address: Carretera Federal 307 Chetumal Puerto Juarez Km. 311, Playa del Secreto, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen > Playa del Secreto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Playa del Secreto
Price Range: £232 - £572 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Valentin Imperial Riviera Maya 4.5*
Number of rooms: 540
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Valentin Imperial Maya is the new definition of paradise. Our 5 star Adults-Only (18+) All-Inclusive Resort is located a short 25 minutes from Cancun International Airport in the Riviera Maya. Set amid lavish gardens on a half-mile-long stretch of white sand beach named Playa Del Secreto (The Secret Beach), this magnificent award-winning resort boasts one of the largest swimming pools in Mexico. The location is ideal as one can easily reach Cancun and the world famous Mayan archaeological sites such as Tulum, Coba, and Chichen Itza, yet be removed enough to enjoy the casually elegant ambience of Valentin Imperial Maya. Escape into a world where your every wish is our command. Come indulge yourself....You deserve it! Valentin Imperial Maya Hotel & Spa is committed to preserve the environment by reducing the consumption of natural resources, promoting among our guests and staff, protection and respect for the environment through good environmental practices. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Holiday Gems, Expedia, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Valentin Imperial Riviera Maya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Valentin Imperial Maya Hotel Playa Del Carmen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing