We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Valentin Imperial Riviera Maya
Nearby Hotels
US$1,185
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$635
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
US$806
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$1,008
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$512
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$265
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
IBEROSTAR Paraiso Del Mar(Playa Paraiso)(Great Value!)
US$291
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$240
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Iberostar Paraiso Beach(Playa Paraiso)(Great Value!)
US$246
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$259
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Iberostar Paraiso Maya(Playa Paraiso)
US$291
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$562
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$548
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Belmond Maroma Resort & Spa(Playa Maroma)
US$614
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$599
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (12,855)
Filter reviews
12,855 results
Traveller rating
9,163
2,554
734
236
168
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
9,163
2,554
734
236
168
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfrench restaurantemerald suitemain poolprivilege packagedon miguelthe lazy river poolbreakfast and lunchroom servicesilver suitestwo swim up barsthe french onion soupsports barcoors lightsushi barmichael jackson showother resortsla hacienda
Filter
Updating list...
5,419 - 5,424 of 12,855 reviews
Reviewed 10 August 2014

We stayed recently from July 26th to August 2nd 2014. Having been there once before in 2009 we thought it was better the second time.

We booked through Cheap Carribean, and we waited less than 5 minutes outside the airport for our transportation to the resort. We were the second group dropped off and were at our resort within a half hour.

From the beginning it went very smoothly and though we were early and our room was not immediately ready, they never made us feel out of place. We enjoyed a nice lunch and returned at 3:00 to check in and get our room.

Francisco brought us right to our rooms with one of the golf carts and brought all of our luggage up. He was professional, courteous, and kind and made sure we felt right at home. A wonderful start to our vacation. We had put in a request for building 5 second floor, and got exactly what we asked for. There was some noise from above, but nothing that interrupted our sleep. We had let them know it was our 30th Anniversary and there were towel swans and rose petals on the bed along with champagne and a small piece of cake.

Better: The food was much better this stay. The guacamole and salsa was disappointing last time, while this time was outstanding every day. There was a big enough variety on the breakfast and lunch buffets each day to be satisfying. We ate twice at the French, enjoying the filet mignon and the cheese and seafood stuffed shells they served as an appetizer. My wife enjoyed the Italian quite a bit. While not the Italian we are used to here in New York. The food at the Lobster Pot/Mar Tierra was good, but we picked the hottest evening of the week to go there and my wife really couldn't enjoy it with no air conditioning.

Not as good: The resort is showing a little age in some of the furnishings. Those that expect perfection in every detail will not be happy.

Overall: We thoroughly enjoyed our time here. The pool is spectacular! Best pool we have ever seen! The grounds are gorgeous and we love how they kept the jungle foliage everywhere between the buildings and around walkways that really gave us the feel of being in a tropical paradise. The resort was full but never once felt crowded.

Our thanks to Omar at lunch at Le Mar who made us laugh every day and made us feel welcome, Eva and Joel who worked so hard as servers around the pool, Reynaldo the excellent bartender and both Armando's at the French restaurant who served us so well.

We will return soon!

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank P0STAL_MAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2014

We recently spent 9 days at this resort starting July 11th! WOW! We cannot say enough good things. Had a room in building 13 overlooking the water - also got the upgrade so we have a cabana at the beach and the pool that was reserved every day. Morning started at the beach, then pool and back to beach. Dinner was outstanding. Loved the French restaurant!!! We dined with them 4 times. Sergio was our waiter and he was absolutely the best. One evening the chef made us a special dinner and twice I had red roses on my table. Never left the resort as everything we needed was there. We enjoyed a manicure and pedicure at the spa. The wait staff in the morning was so kind - one of the hostess greeted us every morning with a smile and remembered our name. The bartenders, staff that worked the pool and beach areas were some of the best! The room was cleaned every day and the staff went out of there way to make sure we were happy. Loved the golf carts that drove the resort and picked you up. We did get to make dinner reservations at night and never had to wait. Can't wait to go back and spend another week at the Valentin. This time we might venture into town, but there isn't any reason to leave. We were looking for a romantic, quite and relaxing vacation and we found it at the Valentin Imperial. Was worried about going as we had never been to Mexico, but it was one of the safest places around. Make this your next destination and you will not be disappointed. Visit the French restaurant and tell Sergio his friends from Texas said hello!! Tell him I brought my red roses back and placed them on our son's grave. We'll be back next year!

Room Tip: Get the upgrade - overlooking the ocean!!!!
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Marsha F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2014

This was our first trip to Valentin Imperial Maya in celebration of our 25th anniversary. The resort is absolutely beautiful. The service and restaurants are fantastic as most have already stated. Our favorite was the Mexican restaurant we visited twice and the French restaurant. Most of these restaurants require more dressy attire which we rather enjoyed. We didn't have a bad meal the whole time. There are extra charges on some things which is strange for "all-inclusive". We had room service for breakfast a few times and it was great. Those guys work hard so be sure to tip.
We spent most of our time at the beach which was most relaxing. Bring thermal cups/mugs to keep your drinks cold. They do sell them in the gift shop but are rather pricey. The pool and the lazy river are very nice especially if you want to meet other people. Our room was in building 5 (5217) which is centrally located so that was great. However, we were on the 2nd floor and could hear walking above and chairs dragging so I would recommend the 3rd floor if you can get it. The room was very nice but in need of some touch up paint on some walls. The bed was not the most comfortable I have slept in but not too bad.The safe didn't work in the room either. We had a few other issues with the room but with a call, the staff were very quick to respond. One disappointment was the transportation we booked through the resort. We had to wait 30-45 minutes (we were told they would be waiting for us) for them to pick us up on arrival and on departure a compact car picked us up to take us to the airport. Not what I would expect for $174 roundtrip. Others had limos for half the price. Other suggestions would be more beer choices and as someone else suggested cooling misters along the paths as it is extremely hot/humid and there is a great deal of walking as it is a rather large resort. Overall a wonderful experience and if not for the transportation and room issues would have rated this resort excellent.

Room Tip: Less noise on 3rd floor
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
4  Thank Rose682
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
F T, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Valentin Imperial Riviera Maya, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2014

Dear Rose from Little Rock, Arkansas ,

Thank you for taking a moment of your valuable time to submit your feedback regarding your recent stay at the Valentin..

We are pleased to read the positive comments on your recent stay at VIM. It is a pleasure to know that you enjoyed most of our services and facilities.

Regarding your not so positive comments, we have taken not of those as to share with the correspondent departments; be reassured that all comments are taken into consideration and are used to improve the guest experience, if needed be.

We apologize for any inconvenience this may have caused.

We hope that despite of this situation you afford us the opportunity to serve you again at the Valentin Imperial Maya.

Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2014

The Valentin Imperial Maya lived up to its amazing reputation. They did not disappoint. The room was awesome. We opted for the Emerald Jr Suite, which included a walk in jacuzzi. The room service was well above average. There were several bars to choose from including one less than 50 steps from my room on the beach. Carlos is an awesome bartender who was very friendly and always kept the drinks flowing. The staff was very friendly and eager to assist the patrons. It is an amazing adult only resort! It is a great value as an all inclusive resort. Having the very relaxing and quiet beach 50 steps from our patio was amazing. My girlfriend really enjoyed the hammock on the patio which allowed us to look up at the stars. All of the incredible staff went out of there way to make sure we had everything we needed. The only con of the whole trip is I wish there was a larger food selection for dinner at all of the restaurants. The breakfast and lunch buffets were amazing. There was an amazing selection of alcohol available for consumption.

Room Tip: If you want to be close to the beach, go with an Emerald Jr Suite.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
5  Thank Nick C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
F T, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Valentin Imperial Riviera Maya, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2014

Dear Nick from Middletown, Ohio

Thank you for taking a moment of your valuable time to write your review and submit your comments regarding your recent stay at the VIM .

We are so happy to hear that we met your expectations and appreciate your feedback which we are going to share with all our staff.

We hope to have the chance to welcome you back on many future occasions and we will be happy to make every stay just as special for you.

Warm regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed in the Valentin for 7 days for our honeymoon & cannot fault a thing! We were offered a room upgrade on arrival, at a very reasonable price which turned out to have an absolutely stunning view of the beach, which was right on our door step & a walk in jacuzzi! The room was very clean & the daily maid service was excellent. The staff in general were very attentive & helpful, the bar staff in particular made some excellent cocktails! The food was beautiful & the hotel has stunning grounds & is extremely well maintained. Overall, we could find no negatives during our stay whatsoever & would happily return in the future.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
6  Thank VKC83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
F T, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Valentin Imperial Riviera Maya, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2014

Recent VIM Honeymooners from Derbyshire, Reino Unido

Congratulations again on your marriage and wow! What beautiful words to describe our food , room and staff!

We thank you very much for having chosen our Hotel for your honeymoon.

We hope to welcome you back for your first anniversary or whenever you like.

Wishing you all the best,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews