We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely place, lovely hosts, BUT ......”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Red Roof Bed and Breakfast
Reviewed 4 September 2013

Rouden Daach is a comfy, eco-based home in a spectacular setting. Josie and Jim are caring and good hosts. However, while it may not pose a problem for some, the lack of ensuite washrooms and actual controlable heat made life truly uncomfortable for us. The B and B advertises the washrooms as "private". Perhaps, they interpret that as meaning "not shared with the owners of the house". Bottom line is that the 2 bedrooms in the main house share a (very nice) washroom. Only the family suite (in a seperate building) has its own washroom. For numerous reasons, a shared washroom is a pain and a HUGE surprise when all of the listings (including B and B Canada) list them as private.

The house is heated with an excellent airtight fireplace. We were there at the end of August and experienced some wild and wooly Northumberland Straight weather i.e. it was a tad chilly. Cheap-to-install baseboard heaters with a thermostat could have kept us toasty warm. Instead, as we arrived, our hosts were engaging in a gentle "discussion" as to whether the fireplace should be lit. We hoped it would but asking would have been, frankly, uncomfortable. In short, the experience was more like bunking in with your cool buddies on their "eco-farm" as opposed to a simply comfy, warm, easy-to-deal with B and B.

Breakfast was very good. Josie and Jim have 3 wonderful dogs. While the dogs do not spend time in the guest rooms and are perfectly behaved, gentle animals, their hair and dander, etc. is omnipresent and can pose a problem for allergy sufferers as was our case.

The washroom, previously mentioned, was reasonably clean upon our arrival, save for the toilet bowl, unfortunately. It could have used a quick clean-up.

The most annoying part - the surprise involving the shared washrooms.

Room Tip: The family suite is the only room with its own washroom. Quite likely, it has its own heating arrang...
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank beavertail65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
serendipity6650, Owner at Red Roof Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 16 September 2013

We try our best to make your stay at our home as comfortable as possible, but we can only address an issue if we are aware of it.
We were under the impression, that you enjoyed your stay, sitting by the fire , drinking our complementary wine, and singing along with the guitar....
sorry that you felt otherwise..
sincerely
Josie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (54)
There are newer reviews for Red Roof Bed and Breakfast
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

29 - 35 of 54 reviews

Reviewed 3 September 2013

OK, if you are very formal, this might not be for you. But if you like casual settings, definitely book this B&B, you'll love it! Surroundings and the house are beautiful, but most of all the atmosphere, that sets this place apart. You would feel very homey, like you came to visit your relatives. The breakfast was also very yummy, adding to that feeling. Thank you Josephine and Jim! I hope we will return one day to spend more time at your welcoming house. Our daughter still talks about your dogs :-)

Room Tip: If you desire more privacy, ask for the family suite
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ok62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2013

Thank you for everything Josie&Jim.
We did enjoy our two nights stay. We've had learnt a lot from the two hosts about energy saving etc. Bedroom is clean and tidy, breakfast was sufficient and delicious. Josie is very friendly, charming lady and knowledgeable. Moreover, my girlfriend really loves their ALPACAS
For sure we will return next year.
David&Niki.

Room Tip: WIFI wasn't functional that well in our room... but it wasn't a big deal as we were exhauste...
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DavidYuan0904
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2013

It will be hard to fully express the absolute delight you will experience when you meet your charming hosts Josie & Jim, you see your new, well-appointed and very comfortable room, and your breath is taken away as you enjoy the ocean vista behind this lovely 4-year old house and property. As a pet-friendly accommodation, we could not have been more pleased. Our 14-month dog rates this B&B her #1 place on our recent tour of Nova Scotia. We'll definitely be back and for more nights - one was definitely NOT enough!!

Room Tip: With a pet, the room over the garage is ideal as you have easy access to a fully fenced in back yard...
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MLTSB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2013

My husband and stayed in the family room at Rouden Daach for three days in July with our 11 year old American Eskimo, and we couldn't have dreamt of a better place to settle and catch our breath after three days on the road and a busy few months. Josee and Jim made us feel like we were among friends and the dogs were a pleasure to be with. Breakfasts are divine and varied. If you love animals (or are at least curious about them) this is a great place to spend time and live in sync with the natural world for a bit. Josee and Jim have created a wonderful oasis and it was a pleasure to get to know them. We'll definitely go back!

Room Tip: If you are travelling with children or pets the family room - with a separate entrance and private...
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marie-France_Lefort
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2013

We enjoyed our stay very much. We were traveling with our grand daughter who feel in love with the alpacas and dogs. Josee served us a marvelous dinner as well as a delicious breakfast. We would love to return!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BarryPortsmouth_OH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2013

My boyfriend and I (and our unruly terrier mutt), recently stayed at Rouden Daach and we couldn't have been happier. Josee is a wonderful host and we loved learning all about her alpacas and her farm. The house is beautiful and it's in a stunning location. We stayed in the family room, which is a really good option if you are bringing a dog. It has a separate entrance so you don't have to worry about your dog bothering any of the other guests. Our little mutt is a bit hyperactive, but Josee took the time to introduce her 3 dogs to ours and she wasn't at all fazed by bad doggie behavior.

The alpacas were amazing animals. We had free reign to hang out with the alpacas in the field and there is a large fenced in yard for dogs to run around in. Breakfast was crepes, eggs, beans, bacon, delicious bread. Josee also offers dinner since it's not exactly a quick drive to town to get a bite to eat.

I wish we could've stayed longer, but we will definitely be back again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JuneBalloon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near McArras Brook
17.2 mi away
Coastal Inn Antigonish
Coastal Inn Antigonish
#3 of 6 in Antigonish
215 reviews
13.0 mi away
Maritime Inn Antigonish
Maritime Inn Antigonish
#2 of 6 in Antigonish
184 reviews
11.6 mi away
Antigonish Evergreen Inn
Antigonish Evergreen Inn
#1 of 6 in Antigonish
560 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Stellarton - New Glasgow
20.9 mi away
Pictou Lodge Beachfront Resort
15.2 mi away
Blue Tin Roof Bed & Breakfast
Blue Tin Roof Bed & Breakfast
#1 of 1 in Livingstone Cove
105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Roof Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Roof Bed and Breakfast

Address: RR1, 6650 Hwy 245, McArras Brook, Nova Scotia B0K 1G0, Canada
Region: Canada > Nova Scotia > Southwest Nova Scotia > McArras Brook
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in McArras Brook
Price Range: £73 - £76 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Red Roof Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing