We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A relaxing, luxurious stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Red Roof Bed and Breakfast
Reviewed 10 July 2014

My wife, mother, and son were taken aback as we approached the home. The property is beau colic, perfect place to relax after a long day of touring rural Nova Scotia. But we were unprepared for the luxuriousness of the house itself. Josse and Jim put their heart into the design and were very welcoming hosts to us. We opted for the family dinner which Josse prepared and both Josse and Jim dined with our family. After a great dinner and long conversation with two interesting people, we retired to our rooms upstairs. Each room connected with a second floor porch which provided tremendous views of the Northumberland Strait, looking over at Prince Edward Island. The interior design of the house is exquisite, thoughtfully planned out and thoroughly comfortable.

We spent time petting the alpacas and donkey and visited the chicken coop too. The next morning Josse offered us a choice of a wide range of homemade entrees.

We definitely will stay at Rouden Daach should we travel to Nova Scotia again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank george w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (54)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

25 - 31 of 54 reviews

Reviewed 16 October 2013 via mobile

What an amazing place with wonderful people! Josie and Jim were the perfect hosts of they're beautiful inn. My wife and I only stayed for one night during our Nova Scotia trip and we wish it was longer. From amazing views, wonderful breakfast and comfortable spacious lodging to the friendly family animals, this was a perfect place to unwind and relax! We especially loved the alpacas! Can't wait to get back!

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Jstnalex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2013

On our travels to Cape Breton we stayed in this lovely bed & breakfast. Our hosts were friendly and welcoming. Our room was spotlessly clean. We had a lovely evening and were entertained by our hosts with music and great chat. We enjoyed meeting the other guests. The whole atmosphere was friendly and relaxed. A homey atmosphere. A little more pricey than was quoted.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank annie w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2013

We stumbled upon this fantastic Bed and Breakfast by pure luck and could not have been happier that we did. Josie and Jim have created a lovely, clean, comfortable place to stay on a beautiful piece of property with much to offer. We arrived late at night and were delighted by the cleanliness and size of our "room" (which was more of an apartment with private entrance, bathroom, microwave, refrigerator, multiple beds, futon, and even a crib for guests with young children!) so we were surprised in the morning by the beauty of the sprawling grass that spread down to a private beach (where we searched for, and found fossils!). We explored a bit before enjoying a delicious and filling fresh cooked breakfast with Josie and Jim who we enjoyed great conversation with as well. As animal lovers, our stay was made THAT much better not only by the company of three beautiful and friendly dogs (that use only the common areas, not the guest rooms), but most importantly the adorable Alpacas that roamed the property. Spending time with these amazing animals was a top highlight of our week+ long trip and it was tough for us to part with them. We'll be back for sure one day!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amanda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2013

Rouden Daach is a comfy, eco-based home in a spectacular setting. Josie and Jim are caring and good hosts. However, while it may not pose a problem for some, the lack of ensuite washrooms and actual controlable heat made life truly uncomfortable for us. The B and B advertises the washrooms as "private". Perhaps, they interpret that as meaning "not shared with the owners of the house". Bottom line is that the 2 bedrooms in the main house share a (very nice) washroom. Only the family suite (in a seperate building) has its own washroom. For numerous reasons, a shared washroom is a pain and a HUGE surprise when all of the listings (including B and B Canada) list them as private.

The house is heated with an excellent airtight fireplace. We were there at the end of August and experienced some wild and wooly Northumberland Straight weather i.e. it was a tad chilly. Cheap-to-install baseboard heaters with a thermostat could have kept us toasty warm. Instead, as we arrived, our hosts were engaging in a gentle "discussion" as to whether the fireplace should be lit. We hoped it would but asking would have been, frankly, uncomfortable. In short, the experience was more like bunking in with your cool buddies on their "eco-farm" as opposed to a simply comfy, warm, easy-to-deal with B and B.

Breakfast was very good. Josie and Jim have 3 wonderful dogs. While the dogs do not spend time in the guest rooms and are perfectly behaved, gentle animals, their hair and dander, etc. is omnipresent and can pose a problem for allergy sufferers as was our case.

The washroom, previously mentioned, was reasonably clean upon our arrival, save for the toilet bowl, unfortunately. It could have used a quick clean-up.

The most annoying part - the surprise involving the shared washrooms.

Room Tip: The family suite is the only room with its own washroom. Quite likely, it has its own heating arrang...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank beavertail65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
serendipity6650, Owner at Red Roof Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 16 September 2013

We try our best to make your stay at our home as comfortable as possible, but we can only address an issue if we are aware of it.
We were under the impression, that you enjoyed your stay, sitting by the fire , drinking our complementary wine, and singing along with the guitar....
sorry that you felt otherwise..
sincerely
Josie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

OK, if you are very formal, this might not be for you. But if you like casual settings, definitely book this B&B, you'll love it! Surroundings and the house are beautiful, but most of all the atmosphere, that sets this place apart. You would feel very homey, like you came to visit your relatives. The breakfast was also very yummy, adding to that feeling. Thank you Josephine and Jim! I hope we will return one day to spend more time at your welcoming house. Our daughter still talks about your dogs :-)

Room Tip: If you desire more privacy, ask for the family suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ok62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2013

Thank you for everything Josie&Jim.
We did enjoy our two nights stay. We've had learnt a lot from the two hosts about energy saving etc. Bedroom is clean and tidy, breakfast was sufficient and delicious. Josie is very friendly, charming lady and knowledgeable. Moreover, my girlfriend really loves their ALPACAS
For sure we will return next year.
David&Niki.

Room Tip: WIFI wasn't functional that well in our room... but it wasn't a big deal as we were exhauste...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DavidYuan0904
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near McArras Brook
11.6 mi away
Antigonish Evergreen Inn
Antigonish Evergreen Inn
#1 of 6 in Antigonish
567 reviews
13.0 mi away
Maritime Inn Antigonish
Maritime Inn Antigonish
#2 of 6 in Antigonish
186 reviews
17.2 mi away
Coastal Inn Antigonish
Coastal Inn Antigonish
#3 of 6 in Antigonish
222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.2 mi away
Blue Tin Roof Bed & Breakfast
Blue Tin Roof Bed & Breakfast
#1 of 1 in Livingstone Cove
107 reviews
20.9 mi away
Pictou Lodge Beachfront Resort
9.7 mi away
Azelia Farmhouse B & B
Azelia Farmhouse B & B
#1 of 11 in Antigonish
135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Roof Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Roof Bed and Breakfast

Address: RR1, 6650 Hwy 245, McArras Brook, Nova Scotia B0K 1G0, Canada
Region: Canada > Nova Scotia > Southwest Nova Scotia > McArras Brook
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in McArras Brook
Price Range: £73 - £74 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Red Roof Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing