We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotels.com
Booking.com
Priceline
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (683)
Filter reviews
683 results
Traveller rating
129
315
170
44
25
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
129
315
170
44
25
Show reviews that mention
All reviews java banana photo gallery visiting mt beautiful surroundings stayed for one night jeep tour high season mountain area volcano bromo temperature bali trek washbasin sweater
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
308 - 313 of 683 reviews
Reviewed 2 December 2012

You do not have many proper hotel choices in this area so close to the Bromo Vulcano. Java Banana is probably the best place to stay but you pay too much for what you get (we paid 96 euro for a very small room). There are 32 modern, decorated rooms varying in size and with different views on the surrounding mountains. No fitness/ni swimming pool. Beds are hard and the bath rooms small (shower and toilet in a separate room and a small sink in the bed room). Staff is friendly and doing what ever they can to be of assistance (however they are local and do not always speak understandable English). There is no working internet connection. Breakfast and diner ok (we really enjoyed the special mushroom dishes they offered) but the wine is too overpriced. Our suggestions however would be to lay the tables before guests arrive for diner and use candle light in the restaurant in the evening. This would give the restaurant a look (and feel) of a place to eat in stead of an exhibition room. There is also a galley at side with beautiful photo’s of the volcano. Visiting the latter is a must. For 450,000 Rupiah a drive with jeep will bring you to the mountain (3 km away) for the spectacular sunrise and the even more impressive walk to the crater of the Vulcana in the National park (entrance fee 25,000 pp).

Date of stay: November 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JAEMH
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 17 November 2012

Excellent hotel with great views. The rooms are very spacious with a nice big balcony. Staff very helpful and the views from the restaurant balcony are also very good. Food was also very good at the resort. Stayed here for only 1 night but would definitely stay here again.

Date of stay: September 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pollok1
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 11 November 2012

Although the staff was friendly, our room was situated above the water pump which made noises all day and night. All the staff knew this was a problem and kept telling us they would fix it - but it was not fixable. We were grateful we were only there two nights as it was impossible to get any sleep. At check-out, they offered a 15% discount, which I didn't feel was adequate for the inconvenience. Also, the room was not clean and the walkways were not swept. I would not recommend this hotel to anyone. Their rooms were totally overpriced. They did say they would move us but they wanted to charge us another $70. for a different room.

Room tip: Some rooms looked better but the price was very high.
Date of stay: November 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank montana66
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 31 October 2012

The only reason I booked Java Banana was for the quality of bathroom (from the pictures). The architecture is good, the room is comfortable, but the service is below average. They discouraged us from eating lunch at the restaurant, because it wouldn't open until 1 pm (in the high season!). We had dinner, which was just average, as was the breakfast. The art gallery was interesting, but I couldn't tell whether the cafe was open or closed. I might go back, but only because the other places seem more run down. They take advantage of the fact, and prices are through the roof.

Date of stay: October 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank I-do-love-travelling
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 16 October 2012

Java Banana is located in between beautiful landscape and traditional villages, where you can experience the traditional Java. The position is good to experience Mount Bromo and meet friendly locals.

Concerning the accommodation, there are different points to consider: The hotel is indeed nice and the garden is beautiful.
But: The price is way to high, not only for Java/Indonesia, but also for what Java Banana offers!
We stayed for one day and one night, these are the experiences: Café and gallery were closed (without any reason), WiFi did not work, food in the restaurant & breakfast were expensive and not good at all, bathrooms are extremely small, there is no heater in the room (nights are quite cold up there).

The staff was actually friendly, but there did not really care.

As we wanted to proceed next day to Ijen, we asked the reception for an advise. They offered help and what we got was more than disappointing: They organized transfer to Ijen and accommodation there, both were a nightmare! The car was nothing else than a scrap heap, we had to stop several times to change broken wheels, the driver did not speak a word (in no language), the whole drive was dangerous to life (concerning the car).
The staff predicted accommodation at Ijen as good and solid hotel, but it was not. Just horrible, don't ask....!

It was very disappointing that they sold us transfer and hotel at Ijen for a high price (in cash), predicting and promising a good quality!

So, this is our advise: As the night will be very short (you need to get up quite early to explore Bromo's most beautiful side), you can easily stay in a cheaper place, you won't miss anything if you don't stay in Java Banana Hotel.

Have a nice trip, enjoy yourself!

Date of stay: September 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank KonMuc
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews