We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing vacation in Bimini (my rating is somewhat misleading...read on)”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Bimini Big Game Club Resort & Marina
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Alice Town
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 3 September 2013

For those expecting a resort, 5 star hotel, or an all inclusive paradise, you have to go further North to be able to get all of that and more at Bimini Bay.

For those expecting a laid back, carefree atmosphere, then this is the place for you.

I don't want those who like Bimini Bay to feel slighted, to feel that I am insulting their piece of paradise. I thought that it was a beautiful resort area, but somewhat sheltered from the real Bimini, where Big Game is located. I do fear that the Casino and the daily cruise ship, will be a deterrent in the near future, but it shouldn't affect the rest of Bimini...

Bimini Big Game is right in the middle of town, where you can mingle with everyone, go for a walk and maybe have a drink and talk sports with the locals. Everyone at Big Game was nice (found this to be the the official demeanor of Bimini...), except for the immigration guys...really surly....

Back to the review of the hotel. The rooms were large, very clean and very rustic. Finished concrete floors (no rug, no tile, no wood) and real Queen size bed (unlike some hotels here in the States that advertise Queen, but it's more like Full). Very clean bathrooms, and the property itself was very well kept and clean. Truth be told, when you go to Bimini Bay and dock, you don't spend much time in the room. You rent your golf cart and go around the island, looking around and stopping. This was the case for us too.

Everyone knows Robby (the dock master) and he knows everyone by name. It is refreshing to see something like that. The bar was nice, the food wasn't bad, but there are so many places to go eat in Bimini, that, again, you simply don't spend much time there.

Can I give the property a 5 star rating? a 4 star rating? No, not really, because it isn't meant to be such a property. This is not a Paradisus property, Club Med, or a Ritz Carlton. Would I give it a 5 star rating if I was to compare it to properties such as this one? ABSOLUTELY!!.

This was our first trip ever as a family to Bimini and I hope that we can come back again soon. When we do, it'll definitely be to the Big Game

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Tony A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (356)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

218 - 224 of 356 reviews

Reviewed 25 August 2013

We picked the club by the reviews. We checked in for ten days with a cottage and slip. I have to say the day we checked in we were met by Robbie the dock master. He is the best. We checked in to a cottage and used the shower that caused a big puddle at the bathroom door. We had a lot of wind and rain everyday. Every time it rained the water would come in through the front door a lot of water. You were given 3 towels and needed two for the clean up. Near the end of the trip we had arrived a the dock and was met by the vendor from the water sports vendor from the far end of the complex. He came and raised HELL with me because my wife caused a little wake in harbor. I turned around and two minutes was met by another person that read me the riot act and caused a big scene and threatened me in front of other guests in front of our cottage. They could not believe the caused all the trouble. We were in a 25 ft center console and had been in and out all week. I think the Manager should have a meeting with vendors and let them to know how to mind their business. Dixon the security guard has no manners and is a negative for the resort. I would stay there again. I think they should make Robbie the GM of the resort. If you need bait the shop opens at 10:00 AM. The docks near the cottages need up grade. All the staff in office very nice attitude. I really think if you make a little mistake you should not threaten the people that stay for 10 days.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
2  Thank treasurehunter_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2013

Notice the stress on the word 'fisherMAN'. It is was it is. Understood the Bimini Big Game Club Resort to be a Guy Harvey Outpost Hotel. The buildings certainly reflect those bright Guy Harvey colors. The room had a fishing picture on the wall with a Guy Harvey throw pillow on each of the beds....wow.

Everything a fisherMAN would want - very basic 'Resort' with an adequate swimming pool to wash off that salty residue from fishing and a place to get some grub to eat...clean sheets, running water with A/C. Now from a WoMAN's point of view - well different story. It certainly isn't your honeymoon haven to visit. The rooms were down to the very basics - concrete floors, in-wall noisy A/C, small bar of soap plus small bottle amenities and two thin towels with wash cloths. Our room had 2 queen-size beds....somewhat comfortable. The dressers in the room were unusable since most of the drawer knobs were missing and the drawers were mis-aligned and stuck partially open. The bathroom was less than desirable - left-over hair on the floor and in the shower....yuck! Hot water was good for one person taking a shower ....otherwise....cold water which was okay I suppose after being in the sun all day crossing the Ocean from Ft. Lauderdale. Our first floor outdoor sitting area was nice with two comfortable chairs looking at the back of the cottages (which were on the Ocean). The staff was very friendly though.

Room Tip: Best guess would be get a room on the second floor with, hopefully, an Ocean view overlooking the Co...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank StrandedCurbside
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2013

We checked in about 3pm on a Monday afternoon in the middle of August and were refreshingly surprised to walk into a room with the A/C set at 64 degrees. The blast of cold, clean smelling air was a great start. The staff are very friendly and will help with any questions you have regarding transportation. We opted for a golf cart for the first couple of hours, that is all it will take for you to acquaint yourself with the entire island. The food was good most of the time. The conch is fresh there and everywhere you order it on the island. It is very unlike anything you will ever get in the states. I highly recommend the conch salad. The cracked conch was better at the Bimini Bay pool restaurant. You definitely want to explore your dining options. There are a lot of interesting places you can find to eat at. There was a bad review about the dive crew that I read before we left and I would agree with that review. They were friendly enough and helpful but they told us we'd be going to a wreck and ended up taking us to two fairly mediocre reefs instead--seemingly to conserve fuel. Snorkeling is actually great from the beach and if you want to do a charter, fishing or diving, I recommend talking to Bert at the Bimini Quebec water sports. He is located on the south end of the marina. The best thing about the bgc is it's far enough away from the new casino and the douchey miami crowd that seem to hang at bimini bay--at least on weekdays it is. If you're a team of "big game" fisherman in a center console with the electric reels and 4 engines or the guy with the purple and yellow Concept, you are without question, douchey my friends, and you belong at the other end of the island.

Room Tip: Ground floor is always best in my book. don't plan on spending much time in your room. too much...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tcook1010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BigGameClubBimini, General Manager at Bimini Big Game Club Resort & Marina, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2013

Hello TCook1010!

I'm glad you enjoyed your stay at the Big Game Club Resort! Nothing like a cool room on a hot day and you can also cool off with our Big Game Club Ale in the Bar & Grill. We like to boast that we have the best food and drink in Bimini and next time try our best seller, the Mahi Rueben!!!

Bert and the Watersports are our latest addition and he will also be operating our Bimini Bull Run once the Bull Sharks are back from mating which should be soon!!! He is a great asset to the operation! Hope to see you back in Bimini soon!

Michael Weber

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2013

Stayed at the BBGC for 2 nights this past weekend. The pictures on the hotel's website don't accurately portray the facilities. Our room (two queens) had an unfinished concrete floor. The AC would cool the room, but minimally. Staff was friendly but all aspects of service were very slow.
All in all, the hotel is functional for going to fish. It is the perfect place to go with a group of guys for a long weekend and fish/dive, but not a good choice for other types of trips.
The town is very unspoiled and the people were friendly.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Derek H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BigGameClubBimini, General Manager at Bimini Big Game Club Resort & Marina, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2013

Hello Derek H,

It's unfortunate that you did not get to use the other facilities at the resort in your 2 days at Big Game. We also offer a full watersports facility, mangrove tours, sailing lessons and other activities such as Yoga & massage. Regarding our website photos, you will see the "Stamped concrete floors" in the shots as this keeps the rooms cool in summer and holds in heat when cold outside. They also work well for maintenance purposes as carpets hold in a lot of odors and stains that can be hard to get out. Not much else has changed for us to change out photos of the resort. We try hard to train our staff on service levels in the Bar & Grill and as we make everything from scratch, it may take a little longer but the quality is always there!!! Hope to see you back in Bimini soon!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2013

If you are looking to get away, and have peace and quiet with out the resort feel or crowds this is the place for you. They have a variety of accomodations including some quaint duplexes right by the sea. Fishing is the big draw here and it is excellent. They also offer diving excursions in the area. It would probably be just you and your dive buddy and divemaster at the site. Small town feel no hustle and bustle. Other things to do include kayaking, and exploring the mangroves in the lagoon which is breath taking as it is a nursery for an abundance of sea life. Food at the restaurant/bar is excellent. If you like hot wings, the hot ones here will make you cry..Awesome marina if you want to come with your own boat as well.

Room Tip: Ground floor rooms have concrete floors which helps keep them cooler..
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Dendar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2013

Our yacht club recently returned from a weekend rendezvous at the BBGC. Everyone had a super time. Mike, Ali, and all the staff were extremely helpful organizing and accommodating our needs, maintaining flexibility and keeping everyone happy. BBGC is the center of the action in North Bimini. Still keeping it real after all these years, with the best food and beverage on the island (try their own signature beer) and the best service. We will surely be back!

Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
Thank Trishie_DF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alice Town
2.0 mi away
Hilton At Resorts World Bimini
0.0 mi away
Love At First Sight Hotel
2.1 mi away
Resorts World Bimini
Resorts World Bimini
#4 of 6 in Bimini
457 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Ocean Pearl Bonefish Resort
Ocean Pearl Bonefish Resort
#9 of 13 in Freeport
7 reviews
1.2 mi away
Bimini Sands Resort and Marina
0.0 mi away
Nathan's Lodge
Nathan's Lodge
#2 of 23 in Andros
25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bimini Big Game Club Resort & Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bimini Big Game Club Resort & Marina

Address: 699 Kings Highway, Alice Town, Bimini
Region: Caribbean > Bahamas > Out Islands > Bimini > Alice Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Alice Town
Price Range: £171 - £247 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bimini Big Game Club Resort & Marina 3.5*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bimini Big Game Club Resort & Marina, on Bimini Island in the Bahamas is the perfect getaway for those looking for an active vacation with scuba diving, fishing and watersports or for those that just want to relax poolside with a cold beverage. The resort features 51 guest rooms, cottages and suites along with a freshwater swimming pool, Bimini Big Game Bar & Grill for delicious meals with views overlooking the marina and an onsite PADI Dive Center. The dive center services include reef dives, a variety of shark dives, wreck dives, dolphin dives, caves, walls and mystical Atlantis Road. The shop can also provide a selection of scuba diving certification courses. Snorkel trips also available. Watersports include stand up paddleboards and kayaks. The beach is just a 3 minute walk from the resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Cancelon, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Bimini Big Game Club Resort & Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bimini Big Game Club Hotel Bimini

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing