We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Tamarind Tree Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Zen Gardens(Mahaut)
View Hotel
Secret Bay(Portsmouth)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Reviews (72)
Filter reviews
72 results
Traveller rating
30
29
9
2
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
30
29
9
2
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstamarind treecapital roseauenjoyed our staylovely placelocal beerrooms are cleanbig terraceeggsowners and staffwonderful viewemerald pooltrafalgar fallsbreadjuicetripsbeachesliat
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
23 - 28 of 72 reviews
Reviewed 4 August 2009

We stayed for one week and the island itself is very rustic but we grew to love the Tamarind Tree hotel with the excellent views and peaceful surroundings. You must have transportation to stay here and we enjoyed that it was half way between Portsmouth and Roseau but too far to travel to either for dinner. We ate at the hotel every night to avoid the roads which are filled with potholes and to avoid the crazy drivers. We snorkeled and hiked the island and the hotel restaurant was good but we did not do the meal plan. We did not have an adapter for a German switch but we managed to charge blackberries etc. at the office. The owners were pleasant and we were the only English only guests but we felt right at home. The snorkeling on the island was good and our scuba diving was excellent. I would rank the hotel higher than the island but I was glad for the A/C as it was the dead of summer.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ceg51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2008

My wife and I stayed at the Tamarind Tree Hotel for 10 days in October 2008, it was our third stay at this beautifull island.

The hotel is situated on a cliff (Oh! What sunsets!!) at the west coast between the capital Roseau in the south and Portsmouth in the north, about a half an hour drive away form Roseau. It's perfect for starting hikes or trips to the UNESCO heritage site (Morne Trois Pritons) or the other points of interest.

The facilities are basic and very clean, the owners lately improved the Hotel so there are "Superior Rooms" now which have air condition. The "Standard rooms" have no air condition, only fans.

The Swiss-German management (Anette and Stefan) is helpfull and they tried everything to make our stay pleasant and comfortable. It may be important for other tourists that there is English, French and German spoken!

We arrived together with the new German chef Tobias so we were the first hotel guest to taste his creations. The quality was very good, the food fresh and tasty - we missed a little bit the typical Creole domestic cuisine, but I'm sure he will learn to cook "Dominican stlye" very fast as he is ambitious and a good chef de cuisine.

As advised in a review below we rented a car at Courtesy Car Rentals in Roseau and we were highly pleased about the service. We had a small accident with our car and the owner at Courtesy regulated the issue without any problems and absolutely fair.

Some hints for travellers who try to visit Dominica from Europe, US or other international locations:

Since Dominica doens't have an international airport you have to travel from one of the surrounding islands which have an international airport (Martinique, Guadeloupe, St. Lucia, Barbados, etc.).

Connection flights from this islands to Dominica are offered by LIAT, but be carefull! This airline and their schedule is absolutely undependable! They often change departure times and even departure airports at will and often without prior notice - they even cancel flights randomly and you get informed about the cancelation just when you're at the check-in counter.

So if you have an international connection flight waiting for you at one of the mentioned islands it's absolutley crucial that you plan one extra day for your outward trip and another extra day for your return trip there.

Therefor I would recommend travelling by ferry boat (L'Express des Iles). Besides it is cheaper than a flight with LIAT it is much more dependable. But you have to make your reservation early enough because the ferry is crowded sometimes.

The ferry boat itself is at the dry dock two times a year from mid June to mid July and from mid September to mid October - then there is no other possibility to reach Dominica but with LIAT. Unfortunately we had to travel with LIAT and we hat a lot of troubles with them.

So sometimes it is really difficult to reach Dominica, but it is worth all the efforts! Hiking, Scuba diving, mountain biking, taking a shower under the water falls, whale watching ... Dominica is a top spot for nature lovers.

If you like clubs with all inclusive atmosphere, animation programms and laying at the beach all day long you'll probably be disappointed from Dominica.

Thanks again to the crew form the Tamarind Tree Hotel for 10 days full of unforgettable experiences.

Robert & Conny from Munich, Germany.

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Lagopus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2008

We very much enjoyed our stay at the Tamarind Tree in June, 2008. The rooms, although simple, are very clean and cheerful. You'll find lots of hot water, organic herb soap, and a spectacular view of the Caribbean from each room. Although there is no air conditioning, we found the ceiling fan to be sufficient (even in summer). The restaurant's food is superb, featuring such delights as barracuda, pineapple chicken, coconut ice cream, local calaloo soup, etc. The "continental" breakfast that was included with our package was a buffet that offered cold cuts, cheeses, passionfruit juice, granola, local fruits, coffee, tea and more. The owners, Annette and Stefan, were always available and helpful. Do not expect a luxury resort in a big night-life area. Be aware that the rocky beach is a short walk away, there is no television, and the hotel is in a rather rural setting. That's what we wanted in a trip to Dominica, and I would certainly stay at the Tamarind Tree again.

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Suzywong7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2007

We stayed at the Tamarind Tree late November, 2007. A small hotel with basic rooms. It was a clean place with friendly staff. We enjoyed the pool at night and enjoyed stunning sunsets from the veranda. Dominica is not another white sand beach, high rise hotel, cater to your every whim type of island. If you like going to dark sand beaches where it is just you and a few locals, where it is relatively safe to walk about on the streets, and you enjoy more physically demanding types of activities, then this is the place for you. We will come back to Dominica again, and would definitely stay at the Tamarind Tree again. One word of advice for American travelers: If you rent a car (and you should), rent from Budget. If there is any dispute, you can resolve it in the USA if your time on the island runs out and you still need to resolve the issue. We had a terrible experience with one of the local outfits - Road Runner car rental company, and will NEVER use them again! NEVER!!

  • Stayed: November 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank cerassie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2003

The Tamarind Tree Hotel is located at the west coast of dominica, about half an hour from the Canefield Airport and about one hour from the Melville Hall Airport.

My wife and me stayed there for two weeks and this are our impressions:

- the hotel is situated on a cliff and offers a gorgeous view over the caribbean sea

- the rooms are very clean and are equipped functional (but there's no aircon, only fans)

- the restaurant offers very nice food (creole and international) which is worth the money

- you also get the only draft Kubuli beer (which is a very tasty dominican beer) on the whole island

- the staff is very friendly and obliging

It is the right place for people who like a proper accomodation for a nice rate and it's also suitable for families with children. The location is perfect for starting trips to the rain forest and the other sites of interest.

There is a dive base right at the beach (East Carib Dive), their house reef is very nice and they organise trips to the most impressive dive spots we've ever seen.

You should rent a car at the capital Roseau for exploring the beautifull island, our choice was "Courtesy Car Rental". They offer reliable cars with aircon at nice rates (try to bargain, especially at the low season (May - November), we got really low rates!).

One hint for your own security: avoid driving in the nighttime, there are a lot of unlighted cars and trucks and also many potholes!

We were impressed by the very warm and friendly atmosphere, the fantastic meals and the really overwhelming view from the hotel over the caribbean sea, so we can recommend the Tamarind Tree Hotel without restriction of any kind.

46  Thank Clone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews