We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Place!”
Review of Carlton-Marion Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Yellville
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Carlton-Marion Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Yellville B&B and Inns
Vermillion, Minnesota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful Place!”
Reviewed 1 June 2013

My husband and I stayed here over Memorial Weekend. It was very clean, very good price and even though the place had families and friends staying there and booked to capacity, it was amazingly quiet at night. We had very restful, peaceful evenings and the staff was very friendly and made sure we were aware of "Music on the Square" the night we arrived and the best place for BBQ. We were very impressed and will stay here again. I'm glad I booked in advance. The owners make sure the guests are comfortable, welcome and consideration of others is encouraged.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Colleen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    13
    7
    2
    2
    0
See reviews for
7
8
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
West Memphis, Arkansas
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2013

My brother, sister, and I recently went to visit relatives in Yellville. We found this motel in the city and were very pleased. It had been remodeled and was very clean. They had WiFi available, but we didn't need it. The bathroom was very small, but it was clean. We were able to get 2 rooms for less than we could have spent for one in a larger town. If you're looking for clean and affordable and aren't looking for fancy, this is the place.

Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank possesheriff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rowlett, Texas
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2012

The Carlton-Marion Inn is a cozy, clean, and comfortable property nestled in the heart of Yellville, the seat of Marion County, Arkansas. Many Ozarks activities are within minutes of this property, including canoeing or tubing down the Buffalo River or many other streams and rivers in the area, fishing in the abundant lakes of the region, or sightseeing through the rural countryside. This classic property is reminiscent of the drive-up motels along Route 66, and after you check in with Ken or Glenda, you will park your car in front of your room's door.

Our room was well maintained, with low-pile carpeting, TV with cable channels (including the Disney channel, much to our son's delight), clean bathroom fixtures, and a coffee maker. Free Wi-Fi is also available throughout the property. We were in a room with two double beds, and the mattresses were plush and springy. The sheets were white and pristine, and the homey touches and decor throughout the room made us feel like we were staying in a friend's guest room. Having stayed in multiple chain properties of many quality categories, both my wife and I have to say that we could not fault this room in any major way.

There is a pool at the back of the property, and the views of the surrounding countryside are spectacular from that vantage point. There is a Harps grocery store, bank, library, and multiple restaurants all within walking distance. Razorback Ribs down on the creek rivals any barbecue in Texas! The motel also has an ice maker for guests to use.

While the room was acceptable, there were some small details that could stand improvement. The shower, for one, was very poorly lit. Also, and this is not necessarily anything the owners can control, but next door to the motel was a rooster that began crowing as soon as the sky started to change from dark to dawn. Country living, indeed!

If you are ever in Yellville or the area for a night or two, we recommend the Carlton-Marion Inn for a taste of Ozarks charm. If we have the need to stay in Yellville again, we will definitely stay here. Ken and Glenda will do their best to make you feel at home!

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the rooster.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WylieDave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glenda R, Owner at Carlton-Marion Inn, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
This was review was written 2 years ago, and the roosters have now been gone almost 2 years. They had been in a neighbors yard.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Yellville
23.5 mi away
Hotel Seville
Hotel Seville
#2 of 7 in Harrison
215 reviews
18.0 mi away
The River Rock Hotel
The River Rock Hotel
#2 of 16 in Mountain Home
55 reviews
19.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Mountain Home
Hampton Inn Mountain Home
#1 of 16 in Mountain Home
277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.7 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#3 of 16 in Mountain Home
131 reviews
20.5 mi away
Days Inn Mountain Home
Days Inn Mountain Home
#4 of 16 in Mountain Home
317 reviews
19.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites - Mountain Home
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carlton-Marion Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carlton-Marion Inn

Property: Carlton-Marion Inn
Address: 309 W Old Main St, Yellville, AR 72687-7956
Region: United States > Arkansas > Yellville
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Yellville
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Each room has a microwave and mini fridge. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing