We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely people who run it”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Americas Best Value Inn & Suites - Bakersfield Central
Ranked #46 of 63 Hotels in Bakersfield
Reviewed 19 October 2012

I walked in and got a reasonable rate for the night for my family. The people who run the place were kind enough to clean the pool straight away for us to have a swim and spa.
Breakfast the next morning had a good choice, including fresh fruit.

A reasonable place to stay for one night as we did.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kim A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (142)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

116 - 122 of 142 reviews

Reviewed 28 September 2012

On our trip north, we stayed at another Ramada, in Bakersfield. Very nice, good condition, etc. However in my haste...I chose this motel/location. And when we arrived, the check in: fairly average...service sub par. Then came the room. Oh my, the room. First of all....the dust and dirt was noticeable w/o lights. Chairs; counters; all surfaces. No blankets on queen beds, just sheets/cover. Normal items on counter not there. I always need refir/frzr and micro. They were in OK condition, with a thick layer of ice in frzr...but useable. Sooo, went up to the office and spoke with employee. Asked if the Corp. reps come to check on this property. Yes. When was the last time? Last Feb. Asked about Gen. Mgr. and the standards of the property. No real answer. Asked if any employee checks the comments on line for property. That's the G.M. job. So I had person write a note of what was needed for the room, regarding complete cleaning...and supplies. That Was cared for timely. On one hand, should I have demanded my money back and went else where? Of course that was an option. But I have a mindset....that the property needs to meet My demands for a comfortable/clean/reasonable room. So we stayed the night, our last before leaving for home next day, ending an approx. 3800 mi. driving trip. So this was not a pleasant last night! Breakfast in a.m. was below par: No idea of how to keep up with things: i.e. waffle batter, empty...needed to go make more. Butter/marg. in refir below. Took out container, bottom full of water, with One floating container of marg. Told about that....corrected....+ very little choices, had juices; bread....limited items.
There just isn't any interest from the management to keep this property in Any kind of acceptable condition. And I think the Corp. Needs to get on this property Asap! I was told by the employee that business had been down for a couple years due to economy. Well, also, with rooms in that condition...I wonder why. They did pick up some late drivers, needing a sleep....but otherwise, about 4 of us in the lot. I could go on, but won't. Think I've said more than necessary already. But the bottom line is: No, No, No. Wake up management....and put some effort into your property. And do not blame the "house keeper" of not doing their "daily job". I kept saying, this mess has been going on more than One Day, Please !! So foks: chose another property if you wish to be comfortable.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Ramada
Thank OBGAL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2012

I had been bouncing around and a two week out of town work trip and landed at your place on the last night. I must say that it was clean, quiet, and the gentleman running you establishment was great. I would in the future, spend the extra time on the road knowing I would be getting a good nights sleep in a clean place. Thanks

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Ramada
Thank SHANE R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2012

In reviewing this motel I have to admit that I tend to view things through the prism of how much I paid and comparisons to other similarly budgeted places. That being said I enjoyed my stay. The gentleman at the front desk was pleasant and helpful, the parking lot had ample parking and was separated from the street - and my room was just as I liked.

The room was fine - regular size, t.v., large mini-fridge, clean overall. I will admit the floor has seen some use but I didn't get any dirt on my bare feet so I'll judge it clean. Air conditioning worked great and the bathroom/shower was clean and functional. There weren't a lot of cars in the parking lot so I suppose my experience was without a lot of other residents. That being said the courtyard was quiet. Didn't use the pool.

So - would I stay here again? Absolutely, I feel silly I haven't stayed my numerous other times through Bakersfield.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrew W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2012

My wife and I stayed at the Ramada Inn express off of California street after Quality Inn had messed up our reservations, and when we tried to get it straight, the girl was to busy to get off her cell phone and Facebook account to help us. We found the Ramada Inn Express, went to the front desk where we were promptly greeted, got a room with not problem and had a plesent stay. We will stay here again if we are up in Bakersfield

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dsd1101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2012

We were very pleased with our stay here. The rooms were very clean and Vic was very helpful at the front desk. We will stay here again when in the area. We have never stayed in a Ramada before but had heard good things from others who had. I was pleasantly surprised when I went to get ice from the machine. The lady at the front desk heard me out there and came out to make sure I knew how to work the machine. You had to use your room key and some people aren't aware of that.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Donna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RamadaLtdCentral, General Manager at Americas Best Value Inn & Suites - Bakersfield Central, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2012

Thank you for your kind words. Guests such as yourself make our jobs easier and all the hard work worth it. Hope to see you, again, real soon. Thanks again, for taking the time to post this review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2012

Manager was very pleasant and accommodating for extra towels & pillows. Rooms were clean, though one light switch didn't work.

Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
Thank Greg N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RamadaLtdCentral, General Manager at Americas Best Value Inn & Suites - Bakersfield Central, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2012

Thank you for taking the time out during your family vacation to share your comments. The light switch in question was disconnected by a company that was sent by PG&E (Pacific Gas and Electric), like I told you during your stay. I asked PG&E why the company disconnected these switches and they said that they will have the installers contact us. A representative from that company called back and said that only the switches that controlled the heat lamp were disconnected. I asked why wasn't it just covered up instead of being left there. She could not give me an answer and said that the installers were not finished with our property and will be contacting us before they return. I guess "Going Green" isn't easy.

It was a pleasure having you and your family stay with us. I hope you choose to stay with us again, if you find yourselves in our area. Thanks again, for all your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bakersfield hotels
1.5 mi away
Ramada Limited Bakersfield North
2.7 mi away
Red Lion Hotel Bakersfield
Red Lion Hotel Bakersfield
#44 of 63 in Bakersfield
646 reviews
2.4 mi away
SpringHill Suites Bakersfield
SpringHill Suites Bakersfield
#11 of 63 in Bakersfield
279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Red Roof Inn Bakersfield
Red Roof Inn Bakersfield
#16 of 63 in Bakersfield
152 reviews
2.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Bakersfield
1.5 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Bakersfield
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Americas Best Value Inn & Suites - Bakersfield Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Americas Best Value Inn & Suites - Bakersfield Central

Address: 830 Wible Rd, Bakersfield, CA 93304-4124 (Formerly Ramada Limited Bakersfield Central)
Region: United States > California > Bakersfield
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #46 of 63 Hotels in Bakersfield
Price Range: £52 - £72 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Americas Best Value Inn & Suites - Bakersfield Central 2*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover Bakersfield, California, located near the southern "horseshoe" end of the San Joaquin Valley, with the city limits extending to the Sequoia National Forest. Americas Best Value Inn and Suites Bakersfield is ideally situated less than 8 miles away from Bakersfield College and downtown Bakersfield. Our hotel is conveniently located off Highway 99 on Wible Road. Top attractions in the area include Aquarium Arts, Camelot Park, and California Living Museum. Our property features amenities such as an on-site guest laundry facility, luggage storage space and security deposit box at the front desk. Pets are welcome, restrictions and charges apply. Start your work or sightseeing day in fine form with free daily continental breakfast or a free cup of coffee in our lobby. Whether you’re traveling for business or pleasure, stay connected with our free Wi-Fi and hard-wired Internet access available throughout the property. Complimentary on-site parking for all types of vehicles available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Americas Best Value Inn & Suites - Bakersfield Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bakersfield Ramada
Ramada Bakersfield
Ramada Hotel Bakersfield

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing