We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sophisticated comfort, superb dining”
Review of Padre Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Padre Hotel
Ranked #1 of 63 Hotels in Bakersfield
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 October 2013

I stayed overnight to break up a driving vacation from San Francisco to Orange County, and I selected the Padre Hotel based on the TripAdvisor reviews.
I am so glad I did!
The valet parking staff directed me to free, street overnight parking and helped me with luggage. The room--the "40 winks" model is the smallest--was quite large enough for one (or a couple) and was strikingly stylish. I liked the "glass wall" bathroom which added to the spacious feel of the room.
The bed was exceedingly comfortable.
The unexpected bonus was the superb cuisine in the restaurant off the lobby. Since I was staying overnight, I could indulge in one of their sophisticated cocktails and a sumptuous dinner with excellent service. I also ordered a pleasant breakfast (the menu had many options) the following morning in the cafe also off the lobby.
(I actually considered stopping overnight on the way back to SF, just to enjoy the food and comfort at the Padre Hotel. But duty called, and I drove non-stop from LA to SF.)

Room Tip: I requested a quiet room and was on the 8th floor, facing 18th Street, which is apparently the main...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Googleland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennifer J, Manager at Padre Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 October 2013

Thank you for the review! It's always a pleasure to hear about our guests' visits. We hope you can come back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (866)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

470 - 476 of 866 reviews

Reviewed 14 October 2013

Padre Hotel offers a good service and has nice décor. Our room was very clean and we found good quality beds and curtains. Our room was a corner room, so we had windows showing North (Fox Theatre) and West. We would visit this hotel again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alejandro93312
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennifer J, Manager at Padre Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 October 2013

We appreciate your feedback and are glad to hear that you would visit us again. Hopefully you can make it back soon! Thank you for the review!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2013

So Bakersfield - not a typical destination - BUT - it is a MUST just for the Padre Hotel! Accommodations are fantastic - beds are super comfortable, linens are lovely and soft, bathrooms are marvelous - huge showers and a jetted tub for two that is second to none. Service was excellent too...including rooms service. We stayed twice - once in each direction on a road trip through the southwest. Am now trying to think of an excuse to go to Bakersfield...just to stay at the Padre Hotel again...

Room Tip: The Head Honcho Suites are FABULOUS! Each one different layout - higher floors are quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sssbdog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennifer J, Manager at Padre Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 October 2013

Thank you for the review! We are so glad that you enjoyed us, and that you came back so soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2013

On the spur of the moment, we decided to stay in Bakersfield during a long drive home. A quick look on TripAdvisor, and we decided to give the Padre a try.

This was a great choice! The hotel has been completely remodeled. Our room was a roomy suite with a clever layout....the bathroom was the full length of the bedroom wall, such that you could get out of either side of the bed and have a door to the bathroom. The jacuzzi was filled by a water faucet located above it in the ceiling. Fixtures were all new style.

The hotel does host conferences/conventions, but we did not have any related problems affecting our visit.

The hotel is downtown, but it is easy to get to.

Wifi worked perfectly, but parking is not straightforward. It is probably best to use the valet parking.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tecolate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennifer J, Manager at Padre Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2013

Spur of the moment trips are always the most fun! We're glad you were able to join us at the Padre. Thank you for the review and we hope you can visit us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2013

I've stayed at The Padre multiple times and each time I'm surprised.

Many of their rooms are different than the next (different layouts and features) and all have high quality fixtures and beds. Staff is always accommodating and having the valet is great in downtown! It's also a pretty good location with plenty of amenities right inside!

Room Tip: Higher floors give great views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank adam n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennifer J, Manager at Padre Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2013

Thank you for the great review! I'll be sure to pass your commedations along to the staff. Hope you can visit us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2013

A toilet with a glass wall. What? Even with the flimsy net curtain pulled across, (controlled from outside !!!!!) with the light on, the occupant's every move and sound was shared with their partner in the bedroom. Gross. Who designed that?

Room Tip: Choose one with privacy!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 325ACK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennifer J, Manager at Padre Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2013

I'm sorry you did not enjoy your recent stay. Our Forty Winks rooms feature the step in "peekaboo" rain shower, but we are always happy to upgrade if we have a larger, more private room available. Next time give me a call and I'll be sure to accommodate you in our most luxurious, private room. Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2013

We enjoyed our visit to the Padre Hotel downtown Bakersfield, CA. It had the contemporary/artistic atmosphere of a NY or LA boutique hotel. Great decor, linens, bar, cafe and staff.
The only funky procedure is their quirky ID policy when re-entering the hotel to get back into your room; you have to go to the front desk and have your key card reactivated!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BkSpider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennifer J, Manager at Padre Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 September 2013

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review! We are so happy that our guests can enjoy the most unique, luxurious spot in Bakersfield. Our ID policy is only to ensure the best service and privacy for our guests. We hope you can come back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bakersfield hotels
4.9 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Bakersfield
1.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Bakersfield Central
1.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Bakersfield - Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Bakersfield North
1.6 mi away
SpringHill Suites Bakersfield
SpringHill Suites Bakersfield
#11 of 63 in Bakersfield
284 reviews
0.6 mi away
Bakersfield Marriott at the Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Padre Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Padre Hotel

Address: 1702 18th St, Bakersfield, CA 93301-4307
Region: United States > California > Bakersfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 63 Hotels in Bakersfield
Price Range: £97 - £178 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Padre Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 112
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Padre Hotel is located in the heart of Downtown Bakersfield. We are very close to Rabo Bank Arena, the Fox Theater and the arts district. The Padre was built in 1928 and remodeled completely in 2010. The rooms are amazing; you will want to take one our beds home with you. We cannot wait to see you at the Padre! The Padre team ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Padre Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing