We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow! Great hotel and great service!”
Review of Padre Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Padre Hotel
Ranked #1 of 63 Hotels in Bakersfield
Certificate of Excellence
Rocklin, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wow! Great hotel and great service!”
Reviewed 6 January 2014

I love good surprises! Booked a last minute hotel on Priceline and ended up with the Padre 4 star, built in the 1920's and totally Art Deco which I love! Who knew such a cool hotel existed in Bakersfield! And also the best valet ever! Chris Kuhn walked me 2 blocks to the ATM at 11:30 pm when I arrived because Downtown Bakersfield late night, a bit sketchy! He really goes the extra mile and has a great attitude! I'll definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pamela T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennifer J, Manager at Padre Hotel, responded to this review, 12 January 2014
Hello Pamela T, thank you for the review! Our valet team does their best to make sure each guest begins the Padre experience with the best service. Chris Kuhn is a wonderful asset to the team and it is so great to hear he was able to go above and beyond to help you out! We hope you can visit us again soon. Next time you book, be sure to call us directly and mention this review for an upgrade!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

803 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    547
    181
    41
    15
    19
See reviews for
97
327
39
198
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (187)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tunica, Mississippi
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 5 January 2014

Traveling is one of my favorite things to do, because of this I do my research prior to visiting a city, specific area, hotel, restaurant....... My husband & I were planning a quick weekend trip to Bakersfield from Northern CA. After checking on our Southwest miles I found 3 hotels that would honor the points, Padre Hotel being one of them.
My homework turned up a lot of negative experiences from club / party noise to rude employees, the decor needed updating and poor lighting in the rooms.
I'm guessing these reviewers have expectations that couldn't be met in the best situations, you can imagine the type I'm referring to. Chalking it up to the guests attitude can be a deal breaker of the experience based on their own demise.
Negative read, Positive stay
From the time we arrived and met with the valet to check in we were treated with professionalism and courtesy. Our room, 8th floor was dimly lit, but enjoyable. The fan in the room drowned out noise from the 2nd floor roof top lounge, which didn't bother us AT all. Privacy of the glass shower stall wasn't an issue, we are married. Our room was small, but not too small (negative from other reviewers) when traveling you don't need a mansion, but you need space then fork out the money for a suite. Hands down we would LOVE to stay at the Padre Hotel if the opportunity arises.

Room Tip: Call ahead if you don't party and wish to rest, they will make a note in the system prior to you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EyeLoveSeattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennifer J, Manager at Padre Hotel, responded to this review, 12 January 2014
Hello Tigergirl89, thank you for the wonderful review! We appreciate your honest feedback and are very grateful that you gave the Padre a chance. We have a wonderful team that enjoys working here, and that is reflected in the quality of service and guest experience. Our rooms vary in size, from the smaller 40 Winks room that you described to our larger Head Honcho suites (a real treat for any occasion), and even two of the nicest penthouse suites in Bakersfield, the Farmer's Daughter and Oil Baron. We hope you can visit us soon in your travels. We would be delighted to give you a full property tour and have you experience another one of our luxurious rooms!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lilstock, Somerset UK
Level Contributor
33 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for one night travelling from San Francisco to Las Vegas. Hotel is great and the room is "wow". Beautifully decorated and very stylish. We would recommend the valet parking for a small charge, saves any hassle. Hotel was very busy but service was quick and friendly and we weren't troubled by any noise once in our room. Bed was very comfortable. Highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jawb65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennifer J, Manager at Padre Hotel, responded to this review, 12 January 2014
Hello Jawb65, thank you for the review! We are a popular destination for those traveling the lonely rode to Vegas. It's great to hear you enjoyed your visit, from our excellent staff to the luxurious memory foam Isoform beds. We hope you can visit us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Porterville, California
Level Contributor
45 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2014

Restored Hotel built in the 1920's. They've turned it into one of the hippest boutique hotels in the valley. Everything tip top. Gorgeously restored inside. Like walking into a 5 star property. Don't let the area or outside of the building fool you. Valet quick. Bell hops quick. Check in quick. Room immaculate for the price. 4 themed New Years Eve parties going at the same time. In the same hotel mind you! New Years Eve welcome kit with champagne, chocolate dipped strawberries and a recovery kit for the next day with sodas, water, energy drinks, cookies, baked goods and alka seltzer. First time here. Did not want to have to drive anywhere while drinking. Perfect spot.

One note, book a Maverick room or higher. The 40 winks rooms have a glass wall between the bedroom and bathroom with only a sheer see through curtain for privacy. So if you don't want who's with you seeing you take care of business be advised.

In a seedier part of downtown but hey, you're inside the hotel.

Room Tip: Book a Maverick room or higher. The 40 winks rooms have a glass wall between the bedroom and bathroo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mestisoboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennifer J, Manager at Padre Hotel, responded to this review, 3 January 2014
Our New Year's Eve "Under the Stars" was a huge hit! I'm so glad to hear you were able to experience the celebration and all of the room amenities! Our Recovery Packages were a fun way to show our guests that we care. Thank you for the review and the pictures, and we hope you can visit us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2014

We live in San Francisco so must say we have visited some great hotels. The Padre is right up there with the best. We especially appreciated the attitude and information provided by the front desk staff. They were friendly, fun and informed. We especially appreciated Marcos (hope we got the name right). He was just great. The bar scene is fun too.

Room Tip: Our room on the 5th floor was fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank suzriley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennifer J, Manager at Padre Hotel, responded to this review, 3 January 2014
It is so great to hear from our guests, especially when they mention how great the staff is! Everyone on the Padre team takes pride in what they do and where they work, and we do our best to make sure it positively affects our guests' experience. Thank you so much for the review, I will be sure to share this with the team. Marco at the front desk will surely appreciate the mention! We hope you can visit us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2013

Stayed here last night. Bar has a great atmosphere. Valet guys were really lovely and accommodating. Rooms are spotless and modern. Love the huge waterfall shower. There's a nightclub downstairs but it didn't bother us at it finishes up at 130 and we just came back to the hotel close to midnight.

Close to bars with great music. Definitely a plus. Only negative and it's not a big thing is that firstly I walked into the hotel and asked the receptionist for room prices. Then I went outside and looked it up on my phone and got the hotel for $20 cheaper so I booked online through another website. Check in girl was not impressed. Ah well. Money is money

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gerahern1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennifer J, Manager at Padre Hotel, responded to this review, 3 January 2014
Thank you for the review! It is always great to hear from our guests. We hope you can visit us again soon. Next time be sure to ask for a Head Honcho suite- the jacuzzi tub has another exciting "waterfall" feature- it fills from the ceiling!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Traverse City, Michigan, United States
Level Contributor
30 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 December 2013

Stayed here for the first time last night. I found the hotel to be clean. The beds comfortable and the staff to be very friendly. We used the hotel shuttle for transportation so we were not bothered by other valet issues. We had dinner in the bar and I found the food to be good. The drinks were good as well. I would recommend this place to anyone traveling through Bakersfield.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jackie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennifer J, Manager at Padre Hotel, responded to this review, 6 December 2013
Hello, thank you for the review! It's great to hear about your experience. We hope you can visit us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bakersfield hotels
4.9 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Bakersfield
1.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Bakersfield Central
1.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Bakersfield - Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Bakersfield North
0.6 mi away
Bakersfield Marriott at the Convention Center
1.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Bakersfield
Hilton Garden Inn Bakersfield
#8 of 63 in Bakersfield
541 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Padre Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Padre Hotel

Property: Padre Hotel
Address: 1702 18th St, Bakersfield, CA 93301-4307
Region: United States > California > Bakersfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 63 Hotels in Bakersfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Padre Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 112
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Padre Hotel is located in the heart of Downtown Bakersfield. We are very close to Rabo Bank Arena, the Fox Theater and the arts district. The Padre was built in 1928 and remodeled completely in 2010. The rooms are amazing; you will want to take one our beds home with you. We cannot wait to see you at the Padre! The Padre team ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Padre Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing