We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous stay”
Review of Padre Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Padre Hotel
Ranked #1 of 63 Hotels in Bakersfield
Certificate of Excellence
palm desert
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Fabulous stay”
Reviewed 5 March 2014

Long road trip with 2 mediocre hotels…. but the third night we landed at The Padre Hotel to enjoy a little luxury for a change. We were not disappointed.

We arrived at noon and enjoyed a delicious lunch in the bar. Very cool atmosphere.

The layout of our room was wonderful and the beds and linen, top notch. We liked it so much that we decided to stay in and have room service. We were not disappointed!

All the staff was great.

Room Tip: We were above the nightclub BUT did not hear a thing. We were told ahead of time too, which was thou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wendy j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennifer J, Manager at Padre Hotel, responded to this review, 20 March 2014
Hi Wendy, thank you for taking the time to leave a review. The Padre team works hard to ensure every guest has an exceptional visit, and it's great to hear you were able to enjoy the full Padre experience! We hope you can plan another trip and visit us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

824 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    561
    188
    41
    15
    19
See reviews for
102
333
39
206
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (196)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vallejo, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2014

I love the groovy, cowboy glam décor. The beds are super comfy. It's a fantastic hotel and I have now stayed there twice. They have live music and the food is good. I was working until 2am and room service brought up a sandwich because they don't close.

But what made this trip amazing was Chris K. I interacted with him each stay and he was just phenomenal and kind. My last trip, I stayed a bit too long in the bar and I had forgotten to put something in the mail. I went to get the letter from my room and he noticed me when I returned to the lobby. I was walking to the post office next store. He walked with me, just to make sure everything was ok.

Both times, he's done something over and above to make my trip an 11 out of 10.

And, for the record, the hallway wallpaper is awesome!

Room Tip: They say the 7th floor is haunted, but they lie.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Suzi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennifer J, Manager at Padre Hotel, responded to this review, 20 March 2014
Hello Suzi, thank you for the review! Chris is definitely an asset to the Padre team. From the one-of-a-kind accents like the wallpaper to the top knotch team members, the Padre is the place to be! Thank you for your continued patronage, we hope to see you again very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2014

We checked TA before we booked. They were pretty consistent and we were very pleased with what we found. The decor, quality and staff were all excellent. We ate a wonderful meal in the Belvedere Restaurant. I would highly recommend this as a place to stay in Bakersfield

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Genevieve F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennifer J, Manager at Padre Hotel, responded to this review, 20 March 2014
Hi Genevieve! Thank you for the review! The Padre team is delighted that you enjoyed your stay. We hope you can visit us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bakersfield, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2014 via mobile

Hot off the press: Bakersfield has a 4-star destination hotel that is almost single-handed reviving this ol' cowboy town. Sitting in my elegant room at the newly renovated Padre for my second visit within a month, I am moved to write my first review for TA. Good creative design should be applauded and promoted! The rooms are top-drawer and unique, the food and bar excellent, and the staff (locals like William B) make sure your every wish and need are met. I can't say enough good about this place. It is positively exciting. Check it out. You will come back over and over as have I. Damn straight!

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Robin R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennifer J, Manager at Padre Hotel, responded to this review, 26 February 2014
Hi Robin! Thank you for such a fun review! We all love it when guests have fun with the quirky personality of the Padre. We hope you can visit us again soon, giddy up!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
153 reviews
151 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2014

3.5 stars. All the reviews are correct that the renovation here is very good, especially the rooms (the hallway wallpaper is a bit much), and that the bathroom lighting is too dark. Everything else is mixed:

-- Beds are very comfy but bedding had multiple holes in it
-- The lobby is not just primarily for hotel guests but is a major local party/drinking scene, which makes getting a quiet drink and meal in the bar impossible (disappointing since the hotel has such a historic vibe, but it's hard to appreciate it with all the noise). Service in the bar was very bad too. However, the Belvedere restaurant was quieter and food better than average, though the service wasn't very coordinated or polished.
-- Service at desk was wonderful, valet service was a little odd (the valets don't really bellman your bags for you, they just park the car, so it's a bit awkward unpacking the car while they wait). Morning service at Farmacy was excellent.

All in all I would say that this is a decent hotel option but the party scene makes it kind of stressful. Plan to hang out in your room since the rooms are the best/quietest place in the hotel.

Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Veronica S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennifer J, Manager at Padre Hotel, responded to this review, 26 February 2014
Hi Veronica, thank you for the review and your honest feedback. I'm glad you were able to enjoy the Belvedere Room and the luxurious amenities of the hotel rooms. The service issues you mentioned with the staff will be addressed. I can assure you that everyone on the Padre team wants to make every guest experience the best it can possibly be, so this feedback is a great tool to help everyone reach their full potential! Thank you, and we hope you can visit us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salinas, California
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2014

We were happily surprised to find this gem in downtown Bakersfield. The surrounding area wasn't great but the hotel was an oasis. We especially enjoyed the fine restaurant. Although we had heard about the possible noise we weren't bothered by it. Only thing lacking was electrical vehicle charging facilities.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Don K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennifer J, Manager at Padre Hotel, responded to this review, 20 February 2014
Hi Don K, thank you for the review! It's great to hear you enjoyed Bakersfield's finest luxuries. We hope you can visit us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2014 via mobile

A great stopover location when in California. The town of Bakersfield is great place and the Padre well designed and presented.
Great forty winks rooms with amenities and great value.
Living in the UK Padre and Bakersfield isn't well know it could be.
Downside is no prices put on bottles of water in the room and nothing written in info in room.
Not much noise and a great sleep
Upon leaving the valet ignored us shame as night before was great.
The Framacie cafe has a great offer but after waiting five minutes to be recognised let alone served our long journey ahead was left without breakfast, we walked out.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank jm19007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennifer J, Manager at Padre Hotel, responded to this review, 20 February 2014
Hi JM19007, and thank you for your review and feedback! It's great to hear you enjoyed your sleep in our luxurious, super soft Isoform beds. I'm sorry to hear that the valet and Farmacy service left you wanting more. These issues will be addressed immediately and used as a learning experience for everyone. If you're ever in the states again, please let me know so I can accommodate all of your needs during your visit. Thank you again for choosing to stay at the Padre!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bakersfield hotels
4.9 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Bakersfield
1.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Bakersfield Central
5.4 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Bakersfield North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Bakersfield - Central
0.6 mi away
Bakersfield Marriott at the Convention Center
1.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Bakersfield
Hilton Garden Inn Bakersfield
#8 of 63 in Bakersfield
557 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Padre Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Padre Hotel

Property: Padre Hotel
Address: 1702 18th St, Bakersfield, CA 93301-4307
Region: United States > California > Bakersfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 63 Hotels in Bakersfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Padre Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 112
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Padre Hotel is located in the heart of Downtown Bakersfield. We are very close to Rabo Bank Arena, the Fox Theater and the arts district. The Padre was built in 1928 and remodeled completely in 2010. The rooms are amazing; you will want to take one our beds home with you. We cannot wait to see you at the Padre! The Padre team ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Padre Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing