We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Unlucky Stay...” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Padre Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Padre Hotel
Ranked #2 of 62 Hotels in Bakersfield
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, California, USA
Level Contributor
210 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Unlucky Stay...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014

We visit Bakersfield once a month and we always stay at the Marriott, but this time the hotel was fully booked and we decided to stay at the Padre. We had been to the Belvedere restaurant, but we had never stayed at the hotel, so we were looking forward to it since the reviews are great and guests were happy w/ their staying.
The hotel is very charming. It's beautifully decorated, clean, the staff were very cordial and professional. It has a nightclub, a bar, the Belvedere restaurant has great food and it's a "hip" location to hang out. There is also a tiny gym in the basement. However, there is no parking unless you valet or find a spot on the streets. We went up to our room which was spacious, clean with a modern bathroom. We started unpacking and inside the closet there was a used robe on the closet floor. OK, maybe the housekeeping staff forgot to check the closet. In the bathroom there was only ONE towel... Hmm... After a long drive, I was tired and started to get annoyed. We called downstairs, they apologized, sent us clean robes and towels, and also gave us complementary drinks which we appreciated. Our room faced this outdoor bar on the second floor which gets sort of loud (we were on the 7th floor), but I figured, this is a nice, hip hotel and people come here (locals or not) to have a good time. Saturday comes and we come back to the room after spending the whole day out. The music at the outdoor bar was blasting! It was really loud! I thought maybe it would stop at 10 PM, but no, at 11 PM I called the front desk to ask how long this party would last and they informed me it was a fundraising event and it would go until 11:30 PM. Seriously?? And they could not have informed us when we checked in?? Or given us an option of a room towards the opposite side of the building?? By then I was very unhappy! I was leaving early the next day and I couldn't even sleep at a decent hour because of the music blasting downstairs! Maybe it was just an unlucky stay, but I definitely won't come back. I will come back to have dinner at the Belvedere, but not as a guest at the hotel.

Room Tip: Stay away from rooms facing the outdoor bar on the second floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Daba2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennifer J, Manager at Padre Hotel, responded to this review, 15 June 2014
Hello Daba2010, thank you for your review! We appreciate your feedback and are using it as a learning tool for our team. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed the Belvedere fine dining restaurant and our luxury rooms. The housekeeping issues have been brought to the attention of the housekeeping manager, who is working to ensure it does not happen again. It sounds like you visited during the Tigerfight Fundraising event, which was a private event raising funds for the Leukemia and Lymphoma Society. The event had the hotel sold out and partying well into the evening. We are very sorry your first experience at the Padre was not what you expected. I invite you to stay with us again and I will personally make sure your visit is the best experience you will ever have at a hotel. Please feel free to contact me when you wish to visit the area again.

Jennifer Johnson
Hotel Manager
661-427-4900
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

773 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    527
    172
    40
    15
    19
See reviews for
92
317
35
189
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (180)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kensington, California
Level Contributor
66 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2014

In the void of nice hotels here, The Padre Hotel is quite nice. Very much like a W, it's got a very cool vibe. The bar area is cool, a throwback to a saloon back in the day. The rooms are nice and spacious and decorated nicely. The bed is phenomenal; one of the most comfortable beds I've slept in! If I'm in the area, I will stay again.

Room Tip: Choose a high floor on the side street side of the building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank matts2869
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennifer J, Manager at Padre Hotel, responded to this review, 15 June 2014
Hi Matts2869, thank you for the review! It's great that you were able to enjoy the fun and delicious restaurants during your visit. Our beds are easily the most luxurious beds you will find, and we hope you return to us soon for another great experience!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014

My wife and I usually stop at The Padre enroute to Las Vegas. Rooms are very nice and clean. Restaurant and bar serves great food and have a decent wine list that we have enjoyed. We have stayed in other hotel in Bakersfield and there is no comparison. Period.

Room Tip: We like the corner rooms. Its large and comfy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank AllenT411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennifer J, Manager at Padre Hotel, responded to this review, 15 June 2014
AllenT411, thank you for taking the time to write a review! We love hearing from all of our guests. Our variety of dining options is a great way to experience the best of Bakersfield. We hope you visit us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leuven, Belgium
Level Contributor
57 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014

This is one of the nicest hotels on our trip so far. Although we booked at discounted rate via Hotwire, we got a corner room on the highest floor. Very spacy, nice views, good (Tempura) beds. The hotel itself was recently built and it shows... It has a hip coffee bar (where you can have breakfast as well), a nice restaurant, and the rooms and overall interior is nicely designed for once. Not the typical "default" wallpaper, carpeting, lobby, ... you see in almost all hotels, but geniously original and nice. Staff was extremy friendly without being pushy, we felt at home immediately. Very fast internet too by the way.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank frankandsofie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennifer J, Manager at Padre Hotel, responded to this review, 15 June 2014
Frankandsophie, thank you so much for the review! The Padre team goes above and beyond to make everyone feel welcome at their 'home away from home'. It's hard not to fall in love with the beds, and the rich history of the Padre and it's recent renovation lend a unique backdrop to every visit. We hope you can find your way to the Padre again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malvern, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
588 reviews
147 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 419 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2014

I stayed here in 2011 and was very impressed by the hotel back then; recently was back in Bakersfield and found the Padre to be better than I expected. This time I stayed for two nights in a second floor room facing 18th Street. Room comfort and decor was exceptional; street noise or noise from restaurant/bar below was not an issue; large walk-in shower (water pressure) is amazing; bed mattress comfort is first-class; all hotel staff I interacted with were personable and polite; and on and on.... I really enjoyed my second visit to the Padre and plan on staying here again. Great bar and restaurant choices on the lobby level. There are also several good places to get a drink or a dinner within walking distance of the hotel. Very reasonably priced for the quality you receive.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Keystone_Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennifer J, Manager at Padre Hotel, responded to this review, 15 June 2014
Hi Keystone_Traveler, thank you for the review and the awesome photos! We love hearing from our guests, and it's especially great to hear about return visits! It sounds like you were able to experience the very best of Bakersfield. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay and hope you can visit again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bucks
Level Contributor
47 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2014 via mobile

We stopped at The Padre en route to Las Vegas. Got there a lot later than we thought so went straight to the restaurant as the bar was heaving and we were tired. Great welcome, the car was valet parked and the friendly receptionist had the bags sent up the rooms for us. Good food and wine and again helpful friendly staff. Booked Maverick rooms which was very spacious with huge bathroom and huge shower and lots of big thick towels. We had just stayed at The Mark Hopkins in San Fran and the four of us all thought that we preferred The Padre. Good choice of breakfast dishes again served by a friendly, efficient waitress. Costs here are very reasonable and I really recomment staying at this wonderful hotel.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank heathra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennifer J, Manager at Padre Hotel, responded to this review, 15 June 2014
Hello Heathra, and thank you for the review on our wonderful staff and luxury rooms! The Padre has so much to offer, it's great to hear you were able to experience so much while passing through to your destination. We hope you can visit us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2014 via mobile

We stopped for one night on our way to Vegas. The hotel is nice and modern and our room was enormous for the price. It had floor to ceiling windows which made it very bright and a really comfy king bed! We had a drink at the roof bar in the evening and had breakfast in the hotel the next morning (and can recommend both). Overall a really great stay.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Rich1887
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennifer J, Manager at Padre Hotel, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
Hi Rich1887, thank you for the 5 star review! The Padre is the perfect stopping point on the way to Vegas. Our luxurious rooms feature some of the best views of the historical downtown Bakersfield, and we are only a short walk from many great local shops and eateries. We hope you can visit again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bakersfield hotels
4.9 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Bakersfield
1.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Bakersfield - Central
1.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Bakersfield Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Bakersfield Marriott at the Convention Center
1.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Bakersfield
Hilton Garden Inn Bakersfield
#8 of 62 in Bakersfield
4.0 of 5 bubbles 508 reviews
5.4 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Bakersfield North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Padre Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Padre Hotel

Property: Padre Hotel
Address: 1702 18th Street, Bakersfield, CA 93301
Region: United States > California > Bakersfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 62 Hotels in Bakersfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Padre Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 112
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Padre Hotel is located in the heart of Downtown Bakersfield. We are very close to Rabo Bank Arena, the Fox Theater and the arts district. The Padre was built in 1928 and remodeled completely in 2010. The rooms are amazing; you will want to take one our beds home with you. We cannot wait to see you at the Padre! The Padre team ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Padre Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing