We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Keep to a minimum”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bakersfield
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Orange Grove RV Park
Certificate of Excellence
San Diego, California
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Keep to a minimum”
Reviewed 24 February 2013

Stayed at this park since 2005. Next trip, we will find another park. Not sure why it has changed but our motto for this park now: no thanks.

Railroad tracks and trains are just across the freeway. We know this and requested a spot at the south side of the park, preferably on the end, via email reservation. When we arrived we had been given a slot on the north side of the park, in middle of the row. A slot in other end of the park (where we requested) was open for anyone coming into the park so we took it instead. Next morning we were told it was sold out for the week we planned to stay, and we would have to move to a slot right next to the road. We were hesitant but decided to stay the week as we had already paid. have been here for 4 days now -- that slot we were originally in is vacant everyday by Noon.

Woman at the front desk was angry that we did not stay in our assigned spot (even though this space was open for anyone in the area where we requested to stay), and told us they had only 1 slot open for the week in the south area of the park. Can't figure out why we could not stay in it for the week. all spaces rent for the same price, and our money is as good as the next. AND, every day by noon the south area is empty of all but 5 rigs, including ours. That includes the slot we were originally in the first night being emptied every day.

This trip, the showers and dressing areas look like they have not been cleaned in quite some time. One shower head is so encrusted with calcium, the water sprays everywhere but down. The other shower, well powder all over the place so dangerous to use. Clearly no one from the park has been in to survey the bathrooms as it has been that way for at least a day. Will probably be there tomorrow, too, as the showers do not look like they have been cleaned in weeks, perhaps months. No shower curtains so dry clothes and towels get splashed with water regardless of the shower head condition. If you shower in your rig, I suppose this will not matter to you. I have long hair and prefer to wash it in a standard shower.

Don't know where ANYONE stayed in *THIS PARK* that said it was quiet because this is the NOISIEST park we stay at on our 2500 mile trip due to the TRAINS which very much enjoy RUNNING ALL NIGHT long (EVERY NIGHT), and playing their LOUD HORNS as they pass by the railroad crossing about 3/8 mile away. Train NOISE is CLEARLY DISCERNIBLE well beyond this park. Ear plugs help with our sleep, and I would NOT STAY HERE without them.

In the future, we will NOT STAY HERE AGAIN. We will plan our trip to skip this park. The other parks in the area are right on the train tracks, on the other side of the freeway; thus, why we have stayed here. It is the first park before the Tehachapi pass going east, and the first park coming into the Valley from the Tehachapi going west. Hence, it is nearly always full every night with those passing through. While oranges are fun to pick, oranges are only available during the season which I think is Jan-March. A whole lot of trades to simply have access to "free" oranges on a tree (paid for through your pricey space rent). Go around the corner to the California Fruit Depot and pick up fresh oranges instead, and travel to a really peaceful, clean park. This park is no longer a park of choice for us. Disappointing.

We no longer recommend this park as we once did.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rushwoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    50
    37
    2
    3
    2
See reviews for
24
53
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2013 via mobile

Worth a visit just for the fresh oranges. You are in a large orange grove and allowed to pick a bag of fresh oranges from a tree right outside your rv. Large paved sites and very clean park overall. Staff was friendly and helpful. Easy to get in and out of park from the highway but far enough from traffic that park is very quiet. Well worth the visit.

Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank John A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2012

Plenty of space, with nice picnic table. Enjoyed picking fresh oranges right outside our door!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hillenberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cathedral City, California
Level 6 Contributor
74 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2012

Stayed 1 night as we were on a schedule this trip! The park is nicely appointed and roomy spaces. Quiet! Lacks for grass, mostly rock and pavement. Border area is "puppy friendly". That's a ++++! Would not stay for extended time as there is area for long-term "campers". One of the long-term residence drove close to our RV, released her dog from her car to run free and when confronted by my partner, she stated that, even though there is a leash law, we were ONLY visitors and had no rights to tell her what to do with her dog. As everyone knows, animals are unpredictable! So, the stupidity of a "camper" gives this park an "average" with NO return...

Room Tip: Pick a space away from the long-term "campers" that are NOT actually camping!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank inclineguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kelowna
1 review
Reviewed 2 June 2012 via mobile

The two previous reviews have just about covered it all. We could only stay one night but a longer stay would have nice. Nice reception when we signed in, they gave us the tour of the clubhouse etc. We will be back this fall. Have to time our visit when the Oranges are ready.

Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank bobs90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sparwood, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2012

We stayed there 4 days. Very, very nice place to stay. Quiet campground, very clean restrooms & showers. We would definitely stay there again and would recommend the resort to anyone. We stayed in a 27' travel trailer.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robin_A672
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Long Beach, California
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2012

If you have to travel through, into or out of L.A. with your rig it's all about missing the rush hour traffic! This spacious, clean, quiet, well kept and friendly RV Park is just two hours North of L.A. on the outskirts of Bakersfield. It is situated in an orange grove amongst the trees. When the orange trees are in (the wonderfully sweet) fruit, you are free to pick your fill right from your rig. And, when the trees are in blossom, there is no better smelling RV park in America. They have a large club house for groups and when our (senior) group stayed there they lent us a golf cart for the duration and provided a huge orangewood coals bar-b-que. There is spotty to good, free wifi. The park is about ten minutes East of downtown Bakersfield on Hwy. 58. Just down the street is Cal Fruit Depot, one of our favorite fruit and nut stores. We always buy a years supply of different kinds of almonds there.What do you in the Bakersfield area? You go to Basque restaurants, ice cream parlors, museums, historic sites and just drive through the farm country. The only downside is the freight train whistles at night; but then you get that everywhere up the central valley or along the coast of California. This is a great place to stop for a break heading up or down California.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Thereandback468
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bakersfield hotels
2.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Bakersfield/Hwy 58
8.4 mi away
Padre Hotel
Padre Hotel
#1 of 63 in Bakersfield
812 reviews
7.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Hill House
Best Western Plus Hill House
#10 of 63 in Bakersfield
760 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
WoodSpring Suites Bakersfield
WoodSpring Suites Bakersfield
#21 of 63 in Bakersfield
11 reviews
9.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Bakersfield - Central
13.0 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Bakersfield North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Orange Grove RV Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Orange Grove RV Park

Property: Orange Grove RV Park
Address: 1452 S Edison Rd, Bakersfield, CA 93307-9166
Region: United States > California > Bakersfield
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Speciality Lodging in Bakersfield
Number of rooms: 177

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing