We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Overnight Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Quality Inn & Suites
Ranked #42 of 63 Hotels in Bakersfield
Bradford
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Good Overnight Stay”
Reviewed 24 September 2013

We stayed at this hotel during a road trip around the USA, we were driving from Las Vegas to San Francisco and this was the perfect stop about half way. We weren't expecting much due tot he cheap price and some of the reviews but for one night it was adequate, the rooms were clean and they had free wifi! The hotel has free car parking.

We were tired on arrival after a few nights in Vegas and so we went and got a pizza and a couple of beers from nearby (we just seached the satnav/gps) and they were about 5 minutes drive, we ate the pizza in our room and had a good nights sleep.

There was breakfast including and this was in a different building, to our surprise it included a hot buffet with eggs, bacon and sausage. This was more than we were expecting and set up us for the mornings drive.

This is a good hotel for a nights stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HolidayCaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

211 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    34
    53
    72
    26
    26
See reviews for
56
85
11
32
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
272 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2013

We stayed at this venue during our recent trip down the west coast of the USA and were a little disappointed with this property.
It has great potential but needs a little TLC to bring it back to its former glory. There are limited facilities associated with the property i.e. a lovely pool area but very little shade, seating or the ability to purchase beverages.
The restaurant/bar (Replay) associated with the Hotel appears to be a "white elephant" with poor décor, no atmosphere, too many loud televisions and surprise surprise, no patrons. The anomaly is that the chef is a master and the food is excellent - it's just a shame he has so few to feed! A serious rethink is required to improve the venue.
Despite the negatives, the rooms a neat and clean and you do get value for money (without any frills!)

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank roydavidjones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mead, Colorado
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2013

The room was so far below the standard that my wife and I have come to trust from the Choice brand that we are seriously considering never booking another stay at a choice hotel! The front door of the room looked like it was involved in a drug bust, the seating at the table inside the room had two chairs with only one of them useable since the other one is stuck behind the night stand. The TV was aged to the point that we would have given it to Goodwill. The top on the toilet was notched out so you could get to the handle to flush it. The front desk staff stated that they're was a full complimentary breakfast at the restaurant next door in the morning, I asked if it was a good place for dinner, since my wife and I were tired from traveling all day..After taking our bags to the room we went next door to the "excellent restaurant", I opened the front door to the most awful stench of a dirty low class bar type joint I have ever encountered in my life! Upon opening the front door, the view is of a guy sitting at the bar and not another sole was in this smelly, dirty, dimly lite joint. To add insult to injury our car was vandalized overnight and it was parked in front of the hotel where there was plenty of light. This hotel and the "excellent Restaurant" next door should be taken out of the Choice brand!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gerry G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Bakersfield hotels

Sacramento, California
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2013

I stay here on most trips to Bakersfield (about every 6 weeks) because it is central to my business meeting location. Nice central pool area surrounded by the rooms. The hotel is a bit strange in the layout on the second floor above the lobby but that is just my impression. The rooms have always been clean and I have never had any issues with service.

Two things to note. The location is not the safest (no place really is anymore) so I hide or remove any valuables from my vehicle and this hotel almost always has tour groups staying here from overseas. I like that because I find most of them friendly (they are on vacation so attitudes are good) and often they want information on where they are going which I share when I can.

Over all this has always been a decent, affordable place to stay.

Room Tip: "Pool view" rooms are slightly more expensive than the outer rooms but the amenities are i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark916
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2013

We recently stayed in this hotel twice. Once on the way to Las Vegas and the other on the way home in order to break up a long drive. We were very happy with our stays.

The rooms are not fancy but were clean, comfortable and had everything that we needed. It is in an industrial area so at night it was quiet an felt safe. We have no complaints other than a slightly loud AC unit but for about $50 a night that is acceptable.

The nice surprise though was the large breakfast buffet. All the scrambled eggs, bacon, sausage, bagels, coffee that one would want. They made sure that they were well stocked until 9am when the buffet ends. The setting for breakfast is a bit odd-- an old nightclub but it was clean, comfortable and had plenty of space to spread out. We were very pleased with breakfast.

It was also nice that check out was at noon--that extra hour is nice for us who are not morning people.

The one other interesting thing is that there is French written on boards in the hotel and nightclub-- I guess French tourists come through often? Everyone speaks English but I assume that there is some French connection too. We did notice tour busses in the parking lot both times.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DixonCalifornia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kokkola, Finland
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2013

We booked the hotel room by mobile application just couple hours before we arrived. The hotel was a tricky to find, we missed the right turn so we had to take a long drive to get back (ok, this was our gps's falt). The check in was ok and the staff was friendly and helpfull.

Room was good, it was clean and had a fridge and complimentary coffee maker in there. The complimentary wifi worked quite nicely in the room. The breakfast was served in restaurant in neighbor and it was good. Some cerials, yogurd, oatmeal, eggs...

The pool looked nice but we didnt take a closer look cause there was some kids swimming in there.

We stayed here in June for one night and travelled as two couples.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PikloP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2013

I could not even check into this hotel despite having a reservation and being a Choice Privileges member.

I had a reservation for the night of 5/25/13 and waited two hours ( no exaggeration) to try and check in to my reserved room followed by trying to cancel and receive a refund. And none of my issues were resolved by managers on site despite patiently waiting those two hours with a three year old.

When I finally reached the counter to check in, the woman at the front desk told me the hotel overbooked, did not have clean rooms for guests and did not have two queen beds, which I had a reservation for. She told me she would appreciate my cancellation so they could accommodate other guests and would get a manager to assist in refunding my room since it was after cancellation period. Two managers were on site and neither assisted me with a refund after waiting an additional hour.

I directly observed other guests in the lobby waiting 1-2 hrs to check-in during the 2 hours I waited for my issues to be resolved.

At 10pm at night, I drove to my final destination 2 hrs away because the hotel could not honor the reservation and could not process the refund.

I do not recommend. WORST hotel experience ever!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LCMC55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bakersfield hotels
2.3 mi away
Red Roof Inn Bakersfield
Red Roof Inn Bakersfield
#19 of 63 in Bakersfield
135 reviews
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Bakersfield Central
1.5 mi away
Sleep Inn And Suites
Sleep Inn And Suites
#40 of 63 in Bakersfield
104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Rodeway Inn & Suites
Rodeway Inn & Suites
#30 of 63 in Bakersfield
117 reviews
1.3 mi away
Comfort Suites Bakersfield
Comfort Suites Bakersfield
#17 of 63 in Bakersfield
187 reviews
2.3 mi away
Ramada Limited Bakersfield North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn & Suites

Property: Quality Inn & Suites
Address: 4500 Buck Owens Blvd, Bakersfield, CA 93308-4947 (Formerly Hotel California)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Bakersfield
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 63 Hotels in Bakersfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Quality Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 207
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Quality Inn & Suites hotel would like to invite you to stay with us on your next visit to Central California. We take great pride in providing clean and comfortable rooms, along with friendly customer service at an affordable price. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Choice Hotels, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Quality Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn And Suites
Quality Hotel Bakersfield
Quality Inn Bakersfield
Bakersfield Quality Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing