We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Service at Bar” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tahoe Joe's Famous Steakhouse

Tahoe Joe's Famous Steakhouse
Ranked #23 of 816 Restaurants in Bakersfield
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Kids, Child-friendly, Groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Bakersfield, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Service at Bar”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2014

The bar staff at tahoe joes is the best in town. Roxy, Megan, Stephanie, Rachel et al are great. The busier they get the better they are.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Gerald H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    58
    45
    21
    5
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Oceanside, California
Level Contributor
155 reviews
114 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Great Service and outstanding food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2014

We hit Tahoe Joe's for lunch, at lunch time, on a Saturday. We did not have to wait and we were offered a great seat. Drink orders were taken almost as soon as we sat down. The menus were delivered very soon after. As if the server could read our minds she appeared and asked if she could help us. We ordered and food arrived shortly there after.

Drink refills just sort of appeared without asking. The food was very good. This restaurant is off the beaten path in south Bakersfield and well worth the short drive off hwy 99. Give them a try. You will not me sorry.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank George C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
189 reviews
118 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Good Service, Disappointing Fish and Chips”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 January 2014

Our lunch service was great. We had refills on drinks before we asked. We asked about the fish and chips before ordering and were told they are new on the menu. The plate was piled high with very ordinary fries and had 3 very small strips of fish. The fish was very greasy. Coleslaw had no obvious mayo or sauce. Both my husband and I were very sorry we had made the choice. Our daughter had a steak sandwhich that pleased her. I may try this restaurant again because of the service but not because of the food.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank nippon703
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morro Bay, California
Level Contributor
60 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Lunch is the great”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2014

We go to lunch at Tahoe Joe's because it is more quiet and the food is great. The service is always right on and we love the steaks and baked potatoes with all the fixin's

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Paula M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
73 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Happy hour was good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2013 via mobile

My wife and I went for happy hour and came away satisfied. We had some drinks and nachos which were priced well and were good. The service was good and they obviously have a handle on what they are doing. Based on our experience and the awesome smell of the food, I would definitely go back for a meal if possible.

Helpful?
Thank Bob B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Tahoe Joe's Famous Steakhouse also viewed

 

Been to Tahoe Joe's Famous Steakhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing