We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice clean and quiet place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Vagabond Inn Buttonwillow I-5
Ranked #43 of 63 Hotels in Bakersfield
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Nice clean and quiet place”
Reviewed 24 September 2012

While driving off the 5 discovered this place it was a really good value since the place in front wanted
80 dlls per night and would not even see the room. I decided to go to the vagabond they showed me the
room which the lady was confident of the rooms that she was providing. Hot waffle breakfast and cereal in the morning. Very quiet got a good nights sleep and was well rested in the morning.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Joshua F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    21
    26
    31
    16
    14
See reviews for
34
27
15
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Half Moon Bay, California
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2012

I always hate writing bad reviews, but I feel I must in this case.

Because of the mixed reviews of this hotel, I decided to give it a try on my way to AZ. Unfortunately it was the wrong choice.

When I pulled into the parking lot, I noticed that the hotel across the street had a parking lot full of cars - the one at this hotel was empty. I realized that was a red flag, but since I had a reservation at this hotel and it was past cancellation time, I checked in. The front desk person was very nice, have to give her a lot of credit for that - and of course the room was very reasonably priced. But for heaven's sake - how much effort is it to get out some soap and water and clean the room the right way? There were stains of some kind (that would have wiped off easily) on the inside of the door....they looked like a dark molasses, or something like that. The trim on the wall at the carpet level was black with dirt. The carpet was also black with dirt. I've never been really picky about hotel carpets, but I didn't want to walk on that one at all. I wore socks the entire time.

Thank goodness I didn't find any evidence of bedbugs, so that was a positive. Another positive was comfortable beds - but I didn't want to touch anything so I got into bed, slept, in the morning tossed my things into my bag, and left. No shower, no toothbrush, nothing - just got in and out.

To management: make a concentrated effort to do some cleaning. I do not recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rheadabovewater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Bakersfield hotels

Berkeley, California
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 24 July 2012

My girlfriend and I were driving to the Bay Area, and we needed a place to stay for the night since we were so tired from driving. The motel was conveniently located right off of the I5, and the advertised rate was cheap enough for us to give it a shot. Having arrived at 2am, we were given the last available room, which was the handicap-accessible room. The guy at the front desk was very friendly and nice. The room is just like any other room, but with a larger bathroom. The A/C was on when we entered the room, and that was a nice surprise since it was so warm outside. The room was not stinky, and the carpet and sheets looked fine. The only unpleasant thing was when a HUGE insect (cockroach?) walked out of the bathroom and hid behind the TV cabinet. We woke up too late for the free breakfast (served 2-9am), but the IHOP across the street was sufficient but a little expensive. Overall, it was a good value stay for the one night.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MSPMaeuschen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surprise, Arizona
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2012

My daughter and I were traveling to the Bay area and needed a room for the night. I saw the sign for this place which said $39.95 a night. We decided to try it. When we went in the girl said they only had a smoking room available. We don't smoke but decided to take it anyway since we were only stopping for the one night. Our room faced the freeway so it was a little noisy with traffic noise. The room was equipped with a microwave and fridge. It was clean but dated. The chair was flimsy and felt like it would fall apart . The smell of smoke was there but it wasn't overbearing. We had the breakfast they offered. There were two cereal choices, donuts, make-them-yourself waffles, and beverages. Orange juice was really Sunny D. Our stay was perfect for what we needed but wouldn't stay for more than a night.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the freeway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tduthu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peoria, Arizona
Level 6 Contributor
156 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2012

The chain lock on the door was missing. There was a mysterious trap door in the ceiling that we weren't sure if it was secured or not. Lamp shade was tattered. Funny overly sweet smell in the room. Not enough towels. Seemed to be a place for workers to stay, not for families! Watch out for dog poop!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gay N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bandon, Oregon
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2012

We rented two rooms. Desk clerk gave us a great deal, truckers rate. Son refused to sleep in room (he found horrible stains in unclean sheets. He slept in car. Continental breakfast was laughable. No coffee maker in room. Towels turned yellow when wet. Nothing could ruin our euphoria. Ducks won RoseBowl!

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FredGernandt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bakersfield
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2011

i feel that anyone traveling through bakersfield or just need a place to stay over night should check out the vagabond inn north.The employees are very friendly and make everybody who comes through feel at home.The rates are good and the rooms are clean with comfortable beds and they also have a very good complimentary breakfast. I highly recommend this motel where you'll feel safe and secure and the customer service is GREAT!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank deni c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bakersfield hotels
0.1 mi away
Best Western Heritage Inn
Best Western Heritage Inn
#10 of 63 in Bakersfield
313 reviews
16.9 mi away
Howard Johnson Inn - Bakersfield
16.5 mi away
Red Roof Inn Bakersfield
Red Roof Inn Bakersfield
#16 of 63 in Bakersfield
140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.6 mi away
Vagabond Inn Bakersfield South
Vagabond Inn Bakersfield South
#34 of 63 in Bakersfield
305 reviews
16.0 mi away
Vagabond Inn Bakersfield North
Vagabond Inn Bakersfield North
#52 of 63 in Bakersfield
116 reviews
16.5 mi away
Travelodge Bakersfield
Travelodge Bakersfield
#35 of 63 in Bakersfield
323 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vagabond Inn Buttonwillow I-5? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vagabond Inn Buttonwillow I-5

Property: Vagabond Inn Buttonwillow I-5
Address: 200 Trask St, Bakersfield, CA 93314-9756 (Formerly Rodeway Inn)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Bakersfield
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 63 Hotels in Bakersfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Vagabond Inn Buttonwillow I-5 2*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located near Interstate 5, guests will not only enjoy the fine amenities of the Vagabond Inn, but be minutes away from California State University. Clean spacious rooms, complimentary continental breakfast and high-speed Internet access come standard when staying at the Vagabond Inn. Other hotel amenities include an outdoor swimming pool. Ihop adjacent to property. Guests can take advantage of nearby outdoor recreational activities including boating, fishing, golfing and camping. Buena Vista Lake is seven miles from the hotel. Magic Mountain amusement park is 80 miles away. The hotel's close proximity to nearby California State University makes it the perfect choice when visiting family. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Booking.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Vagabond Inn Buttonwillow I-5 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vagabond Hotel Bakersfield
Rodeway Inn Bakersfield
Bakersfield Rodeway Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing