We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oscar is a big help”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Bakersfield
Ranked #8 of 63 Hotels in Bakersfield
Certificate of Excellence
Lone Pine, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Oscar is a big help”
Reviewed 3 March 2014

I booked a room through Hotel.com. The room was a two queen bed room for my wife and two of my kids (2 yr old, 11 mo old). Whoever booked me in a smoking room wasn't thinking, but somebody did. When I got to the fourth floor, where my room was located, the hallway reeked of marijuana. Someone had to of lit up right outside of the elevator. I don't fault the hotel for this, as they cannot control other guests actions. I went to my room and it had that stale smoking room smell. It was a nice looking room, but my son has asthma so I needed a different room. My wife called the front desk and they were able to move us to a room with a king size bed and brought us a roll-away. This room smelled nice and fresh and was very well put together. They comped us one night stay for the trouble. Oscar at the front desk was a big help and very friendly. All desk clerks should be that up-beat and positive. They had good cable and a nice pool/hot tub, but the "fitness center" was seriously lacking in both size and equipment. Only 3 cardio machines and no weights. All in all I had a good experience and got some good sleep. The housekeeper was Maria G. and she was awesome!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bubbenski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pbonner, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Bakersfield, responded to this review, 14 March 2014
Wow it is just awesome to see when my staff steps up and exceeds our guest expectations! I am very proud of Oscar and he really does love his job and it shows. Thank you for mentioning Maria G and Oscar, this will be shared and they recieve an incentive reward for a job well done.

I appologize for the fitness center, we are so limited with size . We had to take out one of our bikes because it was not safe for emergencys. I am so jealous when I go to other Hilton Garden Inn's and they have this large spacious fitness center. It really was not a smart decision for our builders.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

541 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    247
    169
    77
    32
    16
See reviews for
163
129
33
167
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
369 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 182 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2014

Nice room, comfy bed, etc. as I expected. But the fan on the air con kicked in regularly and was very noisy and I couldn't find any way to turn it to Low or off, or turn off the air con as it wasn't really needed.

Other guests on this floor that night were very noisy - big family groups with kids shouting down corridors from room to room. Fortunately they stopped about 10pm, otherwise I would have lodged a complaint.

Room Tip: Ask if there are any sports teams staying then ask for a room well away from them!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rhonda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nick S, Front Office Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Bakersfield, responded to this review, 15 March 2014
Thank you for your recent review and for staying with us, Rhonda. I have forwarded the information about the air conditioner in the room and our maintenance staff will be fixing that this week. The beds are amazing here! I'm glad you liked them.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bishop, United States
1 review
Reviewed 1 March 2014

The staff and accommodations are excellent. Great breakfast and close to other restaurants. The cooling system didn't seem to work properly when we arrived. I called the desk and a friendly attendant showed up within two minutes. He fixed the problem immediately. We will stay here on every visit.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
Thank Daniel R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nick S, Front Office Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Bakersfield, responded to this review, 15 March 2014
Thank you for your recent review, Daniel. It's always great to hear when our guests love the property and great to hear that our staff was prompt in fixing your air conditioner. We look forward to having you stay with us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Monica, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 February 2014

Our family had a swim meet in Bakersfield over Presidents Day Weekend and our team stayed at this hotel. The staff went far and beyond what was expected and made a very long weekend very nice. Oscar, Nick, Anna, Elise, Rudy, Hector, Arturo, Nancy and Rochelle did an excellent job and were so helpful in every way! I very much appreciate all they did and will stay at this hotel again if I am ever in Bakersfield!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sheri H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nick S, Front Office Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Bakersfield, responded to this review, 15 March 2014
Shari, thank you for the kind words! We strive to be #1 here in Bakersfield and look forward to having you again next time! I'll be sure to give those employees the recognition they deserve from you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bremerton, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 22 February 2014

The outside of this hotel is very nice. The hallway smelled like freshener to cover up smoking guests. The room was very clean and did not smell but the furnishings were very old and outdated. I would not stay here again in the future. Hotel is located a long way from I-5 but close to airport. Staff was friendly and helpful. This hotel needs a remodel.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
Thank Barbara W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nick S, Front Office Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Bakersfield, responded to this review, 15 March 2014
Thank you for the recent review Barbara, we like to hear all the positive and negatives about our guest's experiences.
We are slated to have renovations next year so that everything will be new new new! We're excited and hope you'll stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
Reviewed 22 February 2014

This hotel was booked late the night before. It was in a great position between other places we were staying in on our family holiday trip. It was a great room for our family of 4. If we had to stop in that area again would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
Thank Lisa F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nick S, Front Office Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Bakersfield, responded to this review, 15 March 2014
Thank you for the outstanding review, Lisa. I"m glad you and your family enjoyed your stay with us! Come see us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Monica, California
1 review
Reviewed 19 February 2014

Our family was traveling to Bakersfield for a sporting event at Bakersfield College. We picked this hotel as it was very convenient to the college taking 10 minutes or less which is nice when you are up at 7am. In planning the stay for the event the club worked with Rochelle. Rochelle took the extra effort to help us plan for the group from a group rate, keeping the rooms close, and planning a team event one night. The team event could not have gone any better with plenty of great food, and the staff could not have been more helpful and caring. Being that we had to all get up early it was nice that the hotel and rooms were quite. Because we had a short window in the morning to get up and get food it was nice that the breakfast buffet was open and was delicious, thanks to Manud, Rudy and Hector, and Karla's service as they provide quick turnaround on orders. The bar might not have been big, but the cocktails were generous and well priced, thank you Arturo and Nancy for the added service to making it feel like a friendly pub. Whenever there were any questions or problems the front desk could not have been more helpful, thank you Anna, Elsie, Oscar, and Nick as they were quick to help and provided the extra effort. The lobby is spacious and well appointed with a TV, fireplace, very comfortable chairs and sofas. We enjoyed a great group Sunday evening. Even with the restaurant closed on Sunday evening the staff helped by providing delivery menus and when the food arrived made the extra effort to provide any additional items we might need. The pool was clean and the perfect temperature. Fitness center is also very clean. Most of all the room was very comfortable and immaculate, thank you Rosa B and all the cleaning staff. Great place for the price! Will definitely be back next year, in fact we are already planning for the 2015 event.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nick S, Front Office Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Bakersfield, responded to this review, 15 March 2014
David, thank you for the stellar review! I'll be sure to pass this along to all the employees you mentioned. We look forward to you staying with us in 2015. Please let us know if we can be of any more help.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bakersfield hotels
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Bakersfield Central
3.9 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Bakersfield
1.6 mi away
Padre Hotel
Padre Hotel
#1 of 63 in Bakersfield
803 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Bakersfield
1.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Bakersfield - Central
4.4 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Bakersfield North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Bakersfield? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Bakersfield

Property: Hilton Garden Inn Bakersfield
Address: 3625 Marriott Dr, Bakersfield, CA 93308-6248
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Bakersfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Bakersfield
#7 Family Hotel in Bakersfield
#8 Romantic Hotel in Bakersfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Bakersfield 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hilton Garden Inn Bakersfield hotel is only minutes from downtown Bakersfield, California and the Bakersfield Airport, near the intersection of California Highway 99 and Rosedale Highway. Buck Owens Crystal Palace, golf courses, tennis, jogging and hiking trails are nearby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Hilton Hotels Direct, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Bakersfield reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Bakersfield Hotel Bakersfield
Bakersfield Hilton Garden Inn
Hilton Bakersfield

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing