We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not the greatest.....”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Super 8 Bakersfield South CA
Ranked #25 of 63 Hotels in Bakersfield
Maple Ridge, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
76 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Not the greatest.....”
Reviewed 8 August 2011

We stayed here for 1 night in July as a stop over from Arizona heading to the coast.
The price was right for the night. Room was alright.....had to clean the bathtub myself before I could use the tub. The deadbolt did not line up correctly with the door jam. Went down for breakfast only to find nothing really left and no one around to re-fill.
Not too sure if I would stay here again.....would probably spend the extra $20 and stay at the other Super 8 in Bakersfield.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank leann604
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

231 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    36
    60
    58
    39
    38
See reviews for
62
62
35
45
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2011

We stayed four nights at this Super 8 on Wible in Bakersfield, CA. At under $45 a night, we were generally satisfied with the place. Most important to us, it was pet-friendly ($5 fee nightly), had a pool, offered a refrigerator and microwave, free wi-fi, and was cheap. We found the desk personnel helpful and friendly, (pleased to see my dog) and the location of the hotel convenient to Highway 99.

The room was very basic, but with a kitchenette area, a comfortable bed and good air-conditioner. Unfortunately, it was extremely gloomy, due to the all-around bad lighting and the lack of sunlight. The window out into the hallway had no privacy curtain, just a black-out curtain, making it impossible to allow in any natural light -- ever. This made being in the room a bit depressing, what with the black-out curtain shut all the time. Also, the sink and bathtub faucets were poorly maintained, not operating well in general. Lastly, the fan in the bathroom made a dreadful turbine-like sound, whirring and clunking loudly. The pool (9am - 10 pm) was well-maintained and not busy during our stay. The large parking lot was well-lit and did not feel unsafe, even during late night dog walks. Still, this is not a neighborhood conducive to quiet strolls or aimless wandering.

The location is not spectacular, as Wible is a big, busy street, but it is directly next door to Southwest Bowling Lanes, which is a nice bonus (aside from bowling, they offer a bar and Mossman's Cafe, which serves up quite decent diner fare).

Overall, this hotel was a good value for the rate, especially given the amenities we wanted. We were neither overwhelmed nor disappointed.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank NellsPeople
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paradise, CA
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2011

This Hotel was clean, and quiet for I was so tired and needed some sleep before finishing a long drive. The personel were very nice.

Room Tip: I think any room in this hotel would be nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank welirol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2011

My family and i stayed here while we were in town and I must say that we were pleasantly surprised. The rooms are spacious and in our big group that was needed. The receptionist was helpful in helping us find places to eat that was kid friendly. If we are in ever in town again. We will be staying here.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank lucky60750
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2011

This was our first stop on a drive from San Diego to Seattle--my family and I stopped here around midnight to check in to avoid LA traffic the next day. The room was quiet, the a/c worked great and the waffle bar and continental breakfast tasty. I would recommend this hotel to anyone passing through --service and check in was great and quick.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank cjensok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2011

Very good breakfast. This is always important to me. I like to have a good meal to wake up wherever I am staying. And the hospitality was outstanding.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank teeteebradson55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 May 2011

loved your stay!! Thanks for everything. it was like a dream vacation. Everyone deserves a pat on the back. Thanks again!!loved your stay!! Thanks for everything. it was like a dream vacation. Everyone deserves a pat on the back. Thanks again!!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dodgerfan123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bakersfield hotels
0.3 mi away
Howard Johnson Inn - Bakersfield
3.1 mi away
Red Roof Inn Bakersfield
Red Roof Inn Bakersfield
#19 of 63 in Bakersfield
135 reviews
3.1 mi away
Rodeway Inn & Suites
Rodeway Inn & Suites
#30 of 63 in Bakersfield
117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Vagabond Inn Bakersfield South
Vagabond Inn Bakersfield South
#33 of 63 in Bakersfield
305 reviews
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Bakersfield
Holiday Inn Express Bakersfield
#12 of 63 in Bakersfield
207 reviews
3.2 mi away
Ramada Limited Bakersfield North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Super 8 Bakersfield South CA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Bakersfield South CA

Property: Super 8 Bakersfield South CA
Address: 3620 Wible Rd, Bakersfield, CA 93309-9014
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Bakersfield
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 63 Hotels in Bakersfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Bakersfield South CA 2*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Super 8 Bakersfield South CA reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 Bakersfield
Super Eight Bakersfield
Bakersfield Super Eight
Bakersfield Super 8

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing