We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“one of the worst motels ever”
Review of Best Economy Inn

Best Economy Inn
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Best Economy Inn
Ranked #44 of 63 Hotels in Bakersfield
bakersfield
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“one of the worst motels ever”
Reviewed 3 January 2012

my experience at this motel was terrible. the office staff was very nice but the room was horrible. the room stunk the bed was very uncomfortable they even had cockroaches running up the walls. and the people in the other rooms were very loud and i felt very unsafe . I do not recommend this motel to anybody. i dont care how cheap they rent for its still to much.

Room Tip: dont rent here ever.......
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank deni c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    0
    5
    2
    4
    12
See reviews for
5
4
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Sleep Quality
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2011

We booked this hotel in the last minute as this was the cheapest in Bakersfield. But this turned to be a big mistake.

Pro's
1. Has lots of Parking Space available.
2. Is very cheap amongst nearby hotel.

Con's
1. The hotel rooms are very dirty and not maintained. We had spiders in blanket. Flies abound in the room. We had two rooms and both had the same conditions. The beds are not exactly clean.
2. Hotel Equipment did not work. The exhaust was broken and did not work and nor did multiple plug points. The AC has three settings and makea lot of noise.
3. Dont eat the breakfast. Although they serve only bread (along with butter and jams) and orage juice but you are bound to fall sick. All 5 of us fell sick after having just 1 bread and 1 glass of juice each.

So in case you have no options available then and only then book this hotel else stay away as much as possible.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ranodeep_sinha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2011

We were passing through Bakersfield and needed a place to stay the night. This was cheap, yes but also nasty! We didn’t really feel safe with all the people hanging around the motel at all hours. There were rooms full of people that obviously doubled as a place for the local workers and their families to live. We wanted to get an early start so left before the sun rose and found a strange man wandering around the car park, we definitely did not feel safe at any stage during our stay here. The only friendly person we came across was a man in the gas station who joked with my partner about coffee. Do not bother staying here! We felt very uncomfortable the whole time. I agree with previous comments about rooms being rented by the hour – there was ‘people’ coming and going at all times!

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AShacko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chandigarh
Level Contributor
82 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2010

I guess any single mistake is acceptable, but just too many things wrong with this place. I guess if your standards are low, it would be hard to beat the price and get the same. Here is what went wrong:

- Air conditioning didn't work. With 100+ weather, this is not okay. But that wasn't even the real problem. The real problem was when I mentioned it to the front desk, he tried to turn it around on me! He said, "well, you requested a first floor room. I had a air-conditioned room all picked out for you until you said that." Yeah, right.

- Wireless internet about 1.5 times the speed of dialup. In the year 2010?

- The ad says "Breakfast included" but doesn't mention that they only provide it on request. I think they count on you being in a hurry in the morning and won't ask. That is just not good enough. I was wondering when it would start and finally asked at 7:15. If I didn't ask, they would have just not served it at all.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sector18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nevada, USA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2010

Stayed here because it was late, we couldn't drive anymore & it was easy to get to. Easy to get to was the only good thing about it. The carpet looked like it had not been vacuumed in months with "mystery" brown blobs on the carpet. Had to clean up all the hair on the bathroom floor to even be able to go in & use it. The shower, sink, toilet & sheets appeared clean so we stayed only because we were exhausted.

Cops showed up a couple of times at other rooms. Has a refridgerator & microwave that were not plugged in & would have to be moved a couple of feet to even reach the outlet. Inside of fridge was rusted out. Tables were sticky & had to be washed off.

Put towels down on the bathroom floor & never walked on the carpet without shoes on. Looked like a room that may have been rented by the hour instead of by the night. DISGUSTING. Never so happy to leave a place. Told the desk clerk about our room the next morning, he just kept saying yep when told about the disgusting carpet & floors but never even asked which room we stayed in. Never again, make sure you have had a tetanus shot!

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nztraveler0809
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
frazier park, Ca.
1 review
Reviewed 25 June 2008

My husband and I paid for 6 nights, but were only able to stay one night. When the manager was told, he, immediately wanted to refund our money. Unfortunately my account had been locked due to suspicion of fraud.

Donald actually mailed us a check.---- In a world where seniors are often scamed, it's wonderful to meet a man of interity, such as he.
Elizabeth l. Larson
I enjoyed swimming in the pool, and the Mexican Restaurant next door was great----staff and food.

Stayed June 2007
Helpful?
Thank bettydelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bakersfield
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2008

The room had stained old ripped brown carpet frm the 1970s. black gum stains, grease stains, ripped screens and torn up old carpet that is on second floor, room smell like arm pits. falling fences around property. air conditioners that mount in wall that vibrate soo much the vent grate kept falling off.

  • Liked — leaving
  • Disliked — the room and staff
  • Stayed March 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank wantcleanroom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bakersfield hotels
0.2 mi away
Vagabond Inn Bakersfield North
Vagabond Inn Bakersfield North
#50 of 63 in Bakersfield
113 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sleep Inn And Suites
Sleep Inn And Suites
#41 of 63 in Bakersfield
102 reviews
2.7 mi away
TownePlace Suites Bakersfield West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Red Lion Hotel Bakersfield
Red Lion Hotel Bakersfield
#40 of 63 in Bakersfield
584 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Bakersfield North-Airport
2.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Bakersfield
Hilton Garden Inn Bakersfield
#8 of 63 in Bakersfield
539 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Economy Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Economy Inn

Property: Best Economy Inn
Address: 5200 Olive Tree Court, Bakersfield, CA 93308-2956 (Formerly Econo Lodge Bakersfield)
Region: United States > California > Bakersfield
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 63 Hotels in Bakersfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Best Economy Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hwy 99 Exit Olive Dr. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Best Economy Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bakersfield Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge Bakersfield

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing