We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“On the Edge of the Business District” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Best Western Plus Hill House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Best Western Plus Hill House
Ranked #10 of 62 Hotels in Bakersfield
California
Level Contributor
203 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“On the Edge of the Business District”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 November 2013

We were traveling toward San Diego and chose to stop in Bakersfield after a late start from Santa Rosa. The MapQuest directions were questionable and took us through some areas that were not favorable. We finally obtained clearer directions and finally found the hotel. It was located just on the edge of the downtown business district. It was quiet and had a Mexican restaurant, Manual's, on site. The hotel is uniquely laid out with parts of it separated by a bridge adjacent to the swimming pool. Wes asked for the top floor in the quietest area and were granted our wish. The room was a bit dated, but clean with comfortable beds. Instead of eating the continental breakfast, we chose to find a cafe with a full breakfast.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the back side of the hotel on the top floor to avoid noise from below and/or above...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Spartan58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

705 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    254
    232
    131
    50
    38
See reviews for
170
236
50
139
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2013

We stayed on the weekend when the Hot air balloons went up. It is walking distance to downtown clovis and fairground. It was a well situated and just a couple of minutes from the cross town freeway to Fresno.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank B H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fresno, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 November 2013

Nice, quiet room, great stay, could not ask for anything more... It was located in the heart of Bakersfield. The staff was great , the room was clean and the breakfast was hot and pleantyful. I especially enjoyed the fact that the internet was faster then average at a hotel.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Shaun B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2013

I stayed here when I was in Bakersfield for a work trip. Nothing outstanding or special about the hotel or room but I also have nothing bad to say! Check in was quick and easy and the staff was very friendly. The room spacious, clean and quiet. The bed was comfy and I slept really well. Check out was a breeze as well. Hotel is in a good location. I will definitely stay again the next time I am in the city for work.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Toni W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United States
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 November 2013

We stayed at this hotel prior and it was great. It's close to the train station if you have an early morning train to catch and it is close to theatre's and the sports area/convention center. The rooms are clean and the continental breakfast adequate. This time when we stayed there, there was a strong smell of sewage and upon advising the hotel staff, they commented that we were the only ones reporting it. Like that meant it was okay. They could have at least said they would quickly look into the problem. For this reason, we wouldn't stay there again.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Patti M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tripresponse, Manager at Best Western Plus Hill House, responded to this review, 19 November 2013
We are very sorry to hear the smell, there is water canal is running through between two of our building. Smell used to come from there. Now City had spend lot of money for this project and now it is very river walk.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver
Level Contributor
171 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 November 2013

Other recent reviewers have it right: this is a great place to stay. Room, service, breakfast, dinner advice, all first-class. Good value for money.

Downtown Bakersfield is pretty dead at night but we walked to a nearby eatery and never felt unsafe.

Highly recommended.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PeterGrant76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2013

This is a great hotel with kind staff and good room rates. It's pet friendly with a very reasonable pet fee ($15). There is a canal behind the hotel that was great for walking the dog. Even the bums in the park were jovial and friendly.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Joanna R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bakersfield hotels
0.7 mi away
Padre Hotel
Padre Hotel
#2 of 62 in Bakersfield
4.5 of 5 bubbles 774 reviews
18.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Heritage Inn
BEST WESTERN Heritage Inn
#9 of 62 in Bakersfield
4.0 of 5 bubbles 266 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Bakersfield - Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Bakersfield
2.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Bakersfield Central
0.1 mi away
Bakersfield Marriott at the Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Hill House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Hill House

Property: Best Western Plus Hill House
Address: 700 Truxtun Ave, Bakersfield, CA 93301-4817
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Bakersfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Bakersfield
#13 Business Hotel in Bakersfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus Hill House 2.5*
Number of rooms: 97
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Best Western Plus Hill House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Hill House Hotel Bakersfield
Best Western Hill Hotel
Best Western Bakersfield
Bakersfield Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing