We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Food !”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western Plus Hill House
Ranked #9 of 63 Hotels in Bakersfield
Denver, Colorado
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Great Food !”
Reviewed 17 January 2014

Overall our stay was good. Check in was fast , friendly and helpful as was check out. Our room was in the second building. As we entered the building we were overwhelmed by cover-up chemical carpet fumes as the carpet must have been cleaned that day. Lucky for us the smell was not in our room. The room was comfortable but the pillows were a bit lumpy. The little Mexican Café had wonderful food. Best food on a long road trip. Great surprise and big plus!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank olive21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

771 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    300
    245
    135
    51
    40
See reviews for
190
254
54
156
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Springville, Utah
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2014

My wife and I stayed here one night while traveling. We were traveling with our pet and they were pet friendly. (Charged an extra $15 for pet.) The hotel is an older property, but has been maintained very well. It was clean and the rooms were spotless.

The hotel is right downtown across the street from the library and the Amtrak station. (Trains could not be heard in the rooms.) Usual fare for breakfast, although not a big selection.

If traveling with pet there is no pet run, just a little bit of grass in the parking lot. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chief4j1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yuma, Az, United States
1 review
Reviewed 13 January 2014

This was a trip that I will never forget. My daughter, who just returned from Afganistan (in the service), surprised me by being at the hotel and bringing her husband for me to meet. Was not aware of the surprise and they made arrangements for the rooms to be next to each other so we could really visit and be together. The hotel was super awesome and this was a very special weekend for me.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Dee Dee W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montesano, United States
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2014

This hotel is near the arena and other activities downtown. We were just passing through on our way to Palm Springs but it was close to St. Paul's Episcopal Church so we were happy to discover that since we arrived Saturday night. There is a lovely synagogue/temple right behind it, too. Many things to walk to from this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Boneta C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pasadena, California
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2014

We stayed at the Best Western Plus Hill House for the third or fourth time on New Year's Eve. The room was clean and everything worked. The only complaint in this department was that the bathroom fan sounded like an SST landing in one's driveway. The staff were friendly and helpful. It is the closest decent place to stay for Noriega's, a not-to-be-missed Bakersfield attraction!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Waldorf2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Purley, England, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
257 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 255 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2014

It's a safe bet booking with BW as you know what you'll get. Breakfast in the morning, decent size room, decent sound proofing and fridge/coffee in the room. Only thing they don't have is aloft for disabled travellers or people with heavy suitcases. I welcomed using my left arm to carry the stuff up to further aid in balancing out my body symmetry every chance I get. But it should have one for those that need it. Decent spot too. Only 2 miles from Showgirls!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carlos_Yabrudy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Coast, NSW, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2014 via mobile

Well situated and clean hotel with complimentary buffet breakfast. Friendly staff. Vending machine in foyer with reasonably priced soft drinks. Free wifi. A good place top stop 1/2 way between SF and LA. Loved the waffle machine for breakfast!

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
Thank ldapearson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bakersfield hotels
5.9 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Bakersfield North
0.7 mi away
Padre Hotel
Padre Hotel
#1 of 63 in Bakersfield
824 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Bakersfield - Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Bakersfield Central
0.2 mi away
Bakersfield Marriott at the Convention Center
5.5 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Bakersfield
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Hill House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Hill House

Property: Best Western Plus Hill House
Address: 700 Truxton Avenue, Bakersfield, CA 93301-4817
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Bakersfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Bakersfield
#13 Business Hotel in Bakersfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus Hill House 2.5*
Number of rooms: 97
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Best Western Plus Hill House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Hill House Hotel Bakersfield
Best Western Hill Hotel
Best Western Bakersfield
Bakersfield Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing