We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not horrible, not great.” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Best Western Plus Hill House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Best Western Plus Hill House
Ranked #10 of 62 Hotels in Bakersfield
So. Cal.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Not horrible, not great.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2014

The hallway area of the building I was in smelled stale, with a mix of cleaning chemicals. I understand you don't want to have uninvited guests strolling around the halls, but some ventilation could help (by the way, not the only hotel that has this issue.) The room was OK, there were some pretty nasty stains on the chair, A/C worked fine. Kind of a weird smell from the bed linens, not really sure how to describe it. I don't like the idea of bulk shampoo dispensers, no telling what makes it's way in there, even if it is locked. Carpet was kind of beat up, the wood in the entry to the building I was in looked like it was nice at some point, but needs some TLC. Parking lot was pretty dark. I won't stay there again. I was surprised to see how highly this was ranked, if it's really in the top 10, it doesn't say much about Bakersfield hotels.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mik72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

707 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    255
    233
    131
    50
    38
See reviews for
171
236
50
139
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
269 reviews
99 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2014

This is a lovely hotel. Big room, very comfortable, clean and nicely decorated. Excellent service. Comfortable beds. The breakfast was especially nice---lots of variety. Our family has stayed here before and we will be back..Spacious and attractive grounds. A very good visit.

Room Tip: ask for second floor to avoid overhead noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hotgrandmacwt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madera, United States
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2014

This is a very nice hotel. Staff is friendly and helpful. There is a restaurant attached to the hotel that is good but unfortunately was closed this trip. I have stayed there a number of times and have been satisfied with the hotel and room. My only complaint this time was they raised the room rate because they were almost sold out which I thought was not quite right.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank Tome M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santos, SP
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2014

Traveling from Las Vegas to Yosemite with kids, we decided to stop by Bakersfield for a resting night. The hotel is easily located, with well kept, quite rooms. A big swimming pool is perfect for relaxing before diner. Restaurants nearby. The only negative point was a poor breakfast, with few options and almost no fruits.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Fabio C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morro Bay
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2014

Unfortunately, I had to leave after only a couple of hours due to an emergency at home. I've stayed here before and always look forward to my return trip. Good thing is that I had redeemed my Rewards points for just a short stay. Unfortunately, I tried to use the fitness room but the treadmill didn't work and the elliptical trainer was very clunky. The stationary bike worked fine though. I'm sure that they will fix those for anyone who likes to get in a workout.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Donald C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bakersfield, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2014

Best Western employee Maribel Cuevas was extremely helpful when I had a computer problem. She was patient and kind in helping to resolve my issue. She is a great employee! I even had to call my wife and Maribel offered to talk with her to get my issue cleared up. I was very thankful for all of Maribel's help.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank Cathy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, Washington
Level Contributor
185 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2014

Best Western Hill House is close to the convention center and activities in Bakersfield and is a very clean, well maintained facility. It is secure with interior hallways and well lit grounds. It is very quiet. The staff is ALWAYS friendly and helpful. The breakfast consists of eggs, rolls, waffles, fruit, etc. The guests here all seem to be more relaxed and friendly, perhaps because of the effect that the staff imparts to make you feel welcome. Behind the hotel is the river walk outdoor pool area and an enjoyable view plus a Mexican restaurant. We enjoy staying here on our stops in Bakersfield.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jimsue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bakersfield hotels
0.7 mi away
Padre Hotel
Padre Hotel
#2 of 62 in Bakersfield
4.5 of 5 bubbles 774 reviews
18.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Heritage Inn
BEST WESTERN Heritage Inn
#9 of 62 in Bakersfield
4.0 of 5 bubbles 267 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Bakersfield - Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Bakersfield
0.1 mi away
Bakersfield Marriott at the Convention Center
2.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Bakersfield Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Hill House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Hill House

Property: Best Western Plus Hill House
Address: 700 Truxtun Ave, Bakersfield, CA 93301-4817
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Bakersfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Bakersfield
#13 Business Hotel in Bakersfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus Hill House 2.5*
Number of rooms: 97
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Best Western Plus Hill House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Hill House Hotel Bakersfield
Best Western Hill Hotel
Best Western Bakersfield
Bakersfield Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing