We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“overall very good”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western Plus Hill House
Ranked #9 of 63 Hotels in Bakersfield
Reviewed 5 June 2014

We got the room last minute on priceline to visit a loved one in the hospital. It was not initially exactly what I had in mind but the staff was very kind and courteous and we ended up having a great stay. This place is super clean! The room was comfortable and the pool area was very nice. The continental breakfast was very tasty and had a lot of options, plus decent cup of coffee in to go cup. They even allowed my parents to park their trucker camper.in the parking lot. Like I said not quite what I had in mind but overall would.come back. There are some seedy hotels in Bakersfield and this one is pretty nice and well located.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Katiebug2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (824)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

398 - 404 of 824 reviews

Reviewed 2 June 2014

We ended up here because we were at the point of being too tired to drive anymore. I called Best Western and randomly picked this hotel. We didn't know it was in the middle of downtown Bakersfield but that was fine. It is directly across the street from the public library, the convention center is one block away, and the Kern County Superior Court/DA's offices etc are about 4 blocks away.

There are two buildings separated by a water feature that includes functioning water wheel. We think there must have been a mill of some kind but didn't spend much time checking it out. Our room was in the building on the west side of the property on the second floor. I didn't notice an elevator. My boyfriend is in construction so he notices updates to a place faster than I do and pointed out the remodeled space on the opposite side of the stairs where there is a little gym.

Our room was fairly big and comfortable. There was an iron mark in the carpet unfortunately and the other down side was the thermostat for the air conditioner didn't work. Again, lucky to have my guy, he walked over to the wall unit and realized that the thermostat hadn't been connected yet to the air conditioner and got it going using the dial controls. Good thing because it was nearly 97 degrees when we arrived. I called the front desk to inform them.

The hotel was pretty busy and the parking lot was filled with vehicles so this location is certainly great for a lot of people.

Morning breakfast was fine. They offer eggs, sausage, toast, waffles, and oatmeal. Coffee, tea, juice etc. The ladies at the next table were attorneys and there for a court appearance later that day. There was a group of men who were a part of some construction company. All were very friendly and it was nice to chat with them.

The front desk staff was very kind and polite and suggested a couple of restaurants for dinner. They were efficient with our check in and check out. Overall, it was fine for our overnight stay in town.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marti B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

wonderful place to stay, staff was friendly and helpful.rooms where clean and our bathroom was great. we had a handicaperoom and i loved it because I have bad legs.It was the nices room we have stayed at so far.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Myron B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2014

If you love overpowering chemical smells than this is the place for you. The hallways stink, the rooms stink and all your stuff will stink for days after you leave. If that's what you're looking for than you have found your hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
1  Thank Logan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tripresponse, General Manager at Best Western Plus Hill House, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2014

We apologize for the inconvenience. Our hotel uses Ecolab products in order to maintain cleanliness and hygiene for our guests.

G J Zala

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2014

This hotel does not meet standards of BW Plus. The rooms are dated, with old carpeting and worn bathroom floor. There is no microwave and a small refrigerator is located in the bathroom. There was food under the chair cushion and mud spots on the bathroom floor.
The breakfast room was to small to accommodate. the guests. There is no elevator

Room Tip: No elevator for higher floor rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2014

We stopped here on our way from Las Vegas to Yosemite National Park. This a modern motel/hotel, very comfortable, quiet with large rooms. Breakfast is included in the rate and very good. There was a restaurant on site but this was closed. On the recommendation of the hotel staff we had dinner in a Mexican restaurant (Mexicali) located just behind the hotel and the food was very good and reasonably priced.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JVPG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2014

This Best Western Plus is an alright place for a stopover. I have stayed at nicer Best Western Plus but this one is really just a step up from a motel. It is Bakersfield after all so don't expect too much. Room is in decent shape and the bed is comfortable. Hotel staff are friendly and helpful. No issue even when we have an unexpectedly late check-in.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Verlisia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bakersfield hotels
5.9 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Bakersfield North
2.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Bakersfield Central
1.8 mi away
Red Roof Inn Bakersfield
Red Roof Inn Bakersfield
#17 of 63 in Bakersfield
154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Bakersfield
5.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Bakersfield/Hwy 58
0.7 mi away
Padre Hotel
Padre Hotel
#1 of 63 in Bakersfield
855 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Hill House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Hill House

Address: 700 Truxtun Ave, Bakersfield, CA 93301-4817
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Bakersfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Bakersfield
#13 Business Hotel in Bakersfield
Price Range: £73 - £90 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus Hill House 2.5*
Number of rooms: 97
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Plus Hill House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Hill House Hotel Bakersfield
Best Western Hill Hotel
Best Western Bakersfield
Bakersfield Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing