We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not the best Best Western”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Red Lion Hotel Bakersfield
Ranked #31 of 62 Hotels in Bakersfield
fresno, United States
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Not the best Best Western”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2013

The rooms in the front area of motel are decent. Further back rooms are not as nice. Motel is dated with minimal upgrades/updates. Be sure to have them remove the 1.50 a night fee for the safe. I have stayed at many Best Westerns, this is my least favorite. The free hot breakfast is the one positive.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Mike M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

551 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    121
    163
    112
    79
    76
See reviews for
163
176
33
92
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Centerville, Utah, United States
Level Contributor
98 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2013

This is the worst hotel I have ever stayed in. At first the stink from the room hits you, and you really wish that it didn't. I even asked to see a new room but that one smelled worst the the first. My wife did a dance with a spider in the shower the first night. And on the morning of our second night a nice roach met us in the bath room. At that time we packed up quickly and left. The pool was so dirty that we couldn't ever swim it it. The breakfast was just okay. Talked to the front desk about all the problems and it just seemed to be normal for there hotel. I don't think that I will be staying at a best western again any time soon.

Stayed in Room 175!!!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank centervilleGreg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Bakersfield hotels

Copperhill, Tennessee
Level Contributor
85 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2013

Pros: The grounds here are very pretty & appear to be kept up well. The private balcony was my favorite part of the room, overlooking the gazebo & pool. The bed was comfortable & had nice, soft sheets. Cons: Unpleasant smell in room, & sometimes a sewer-type smell at bottom of outside stairs. Small toilet. (Glad I'm not a big person.) No elevator. The breakfast is definitely more than what you get at most hotels, but missing quality.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank J M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon, Usa
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2013

When we first arrived, there was broken car glass in the parking lot - a bit disconcerting! It was simply moved to the curb away from the parking area, but not removed. The pool wasn't very clean, with bugs and leaves floating in the water, but it was a nice pool and hot tub. We really appreciated and enjoyed the daily breakfast that was available at the restaurant.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Joanne D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakley, California, Usa
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2013

The hotel is old and in need of repair. When you walk into the room there is a heavy musty smell, needs paint, and is poorly lit. The bathroom door has rot spots on the bottom and rusty hinges. Any traffic "hallway/service road" is loud. But overall the room is clean, but feels unclean. The pool and Spa are good and well kept, The free breakfast is from a menu and served by waitress, food quality was good.
Before leaving on our trip we were thinking of returning to this hotel on our return from Vegas, But after the stay we decided not to. Instead we stayed at the comfort inn around the corner.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Lawrence K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas, Nevada, Usa
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2013


This was the only room I saw with a crooked entry door. Tapering gaps at top and side. Room was fine until I took a shower. There was no outer curtain,. the soap dispenser was empty. The tub didn't drain properly. Very difficult to adjust temperature. The good news was that a paper gift type bag with some semi important items that I forgot to take when I left my room three days earlier, was being held for me when I checked in for the current stay,

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Kenneth Frankli... N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancaster, California
Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2013

Unimpressed! The screen was coming off the window - readily visible from the parking lot; the shower was abysmal - couldn't adjust the water temperature and the pressure through the showerhead was less than adequate. Asked for additional towels and was brought one. Highly doubtful that we will ever stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Sarah1259
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bakersfield hotels
1.3 mi away
Red Roof Inn Bakersfield
Red Roof Inn Bakersfield
#19 of 62 in Bakersfield
3.5 of 5 bubbles 118 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Rosedale
Hotel Rosedale
#26 of 62 in Bakersfield
3.5 of 5 bubbles 308 reviews
0.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Bakersfield
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN Heritage Inn
BEST WESTERN Heritage Inn
#9 of 62 in Bakersfield
4.0 of 5 bubbles 277 reviews
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Bakersfield Central
4.3 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Bakersfield North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Lion Hotel Bakersfield? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Lion Hotel Bakersfield

Property: Red Lion Hotel Bakersfield
Address: 2620 Buck Owens Blvd, Bakersfield, CA 93308-6310 (Formerly Crystal Palace Inn & Suites)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Bakersfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 62 Hotels in Bakersfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Red Lion Hotel Bakersfield 3.5*
Number of rooms: 198
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A tropical Bakersfield, CA Hotel Near Downtown Welcome to a tropical oasis in the heart of Bakersfield. Red Lion Hotel Bakersfield is set amidst lush landscaping with an Olympic-sized swimming pool, soothing hot tub and relaxing courtyard, among other unique features. Suitable for business trips, family vacations, special events and groups, our Bakersfield, CA hotel is conveniently located within easy access of the vibrant downtown area, where guests will find a variety of shops, restaurants and attractions. Red Lion Hotel Bakersfield features 198 spacious and well-appointed guest rooms with amenities like 42" flat screen TVs with HBO and free Wi-Fi. Just outside your door, our hotel in Bakersfield, CA offers complimentary made-to-order breakfast every morning, a modern fitness center and 4,000 square feet of flexible meeting space. Centrally located to Freeway 99 and Highways 58 and 178, our Bakersfield hotel offers guests premier access to such attractions as the Kern County Fairgrounds, the Buck Owens Crystal Palace, Camelot Park and the Fox Theater. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Agoda, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Red Lion Hotel Bakersfield reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Crystal Palace Hotel Bakersfield
Best Western Bakersfield
Bakersfield Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing