We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not good enough”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Red Lion Hotel Bakersfield
Ranked #39 of 63 Hotels in Bakersfield
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
91 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Not good enough”
Reviewed 19 October 2013

At a first glance the hotel looks nice with fine surroundings, eating opportunities nearby, a big pool and a hot tub. The lady at the front desk was friendly and efficient at check-in. I liked the place, but there are several things and routines that have to be improved to reach the standard one should expect from Best Western. The room was nearly out of both toilet paper and Kleenex, but I got more after asking at the front desk. It was impossible to get warm enough water for a good shaving and the refrigerator was only slightly cooler than room temperature. To lamps were not working and needed new light bulbs. I called the front desk and they said it would be fixed. After 1.5 hours I went to the front desk and asked why nothing had happened. They said they had problems with the electricity that day, but would soon send someone to change the light bulbs. I said I could fix it myself if they could give me the bulbs, but that was impossible. After 4 hours I went back to the front desk and demanded to get it fixed. They then provided me with the light bulbs so I could fix it myself. The next day after breakfast the room keys was deactivated so I had to go back to the front desk again. All I have described until now might be considered details and bad luck. The worst incident during the stay was however that the glass door towards the pool was unlocked when we arrived. With the door hidden behind the curtains I only discovered it by a coincidence and was close to leave the room with the window door unlocked
Not recommended and if you stay here do a close inspection of the room.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BGK190479
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

567 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    124
    164
    116
    81
    82
See reviews for
167
184
33
93
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Washington State
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 October 2013

Tub did not drain. Was standing in a full tub as I finished showering. Looked like drainage problems from room upstairs. Ceiling needed repair. Upon leaving, noticed someone had jumped on hood of our 2014 car, to get across fence. ( We think) Left footprints on hood.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank Thelma T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Bakersfield hotels

Artesia, United States
1 review
Reviewed 16 October 2013

We have stayed at the B W Crystal Palace on several occassions and will certainly stay there again. Whatever the purpose of your stay, business or pleasure, I'm sure your stay will be as enjoyable as ours have been. The staff is always friendly and professional and the pool and courtyard area is just what the doctor ordered.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Cindy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
107 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2013

This is an old motel. It's right off of the freeway which you could consider both good for getting around or bad because of noise. They do not have an elevator and it was needed. The rooms really need an update. They advertise that they have a restaurant that serves all meals, but in fact they only serve breakfast and even that ends at 930am. The breakfast *was* free from a small limited menu, but cooked to order and tasty.
It is right next to the Crystal Palace, but that is neither a Palace nor Crystal. It's a big restaurant that hosts live country bands. They have a cover charge if they have a good band and the menu is not exactly low priced, although we ate there and it was good food. It wasn't really a place to take a little kid (they had tableclothes which my 12 month old just played with until we removed it) but it was close and available and we were hungry.

Room Tip: ask for a first floor room out by the pool to avoid hiking up the stairs and having a view of a free...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank trvladdictsd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fresno, United States
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2013

This hotel is an older motel located very close to Hwy 99. A lot of tourists stay here so rooms can be scarce. The rooms towards front are more modern and generally nicer. The courtyard,pool and exercise room are nice. With some TLC, this motel would receive a higher rating. Be sure to have the charge for room safe removed from your bill at checkout!!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Mike M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
1 review
Reviewed 7 October 2013

The location was great and the pool area was perfect. Great breakfast. Room was great for the price. The staff was friendly and helpful. Beds were very comfortable and clean. It was highly recommended to me buy a friend and I was not disappointed. Enjoyed being close to Buck Owens Crystal Palace for dinning.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Carol P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bakersfield, United States
1 review
Reviewed 7 October 2013

Very pleasantly surprised by our accommodations and their service. Great value. My son and I will definitely stay here again the next time we come here for a soccer game. The pool, jacuzzi and gym were an added bonus.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Mark W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bakersfield hotels
1.3 mi away
Red Roof Inn Bakersfield
Red Roof Inn Bakersfield
#20 of 63 in Bakersfield
3.5 of 5 bubbles 121 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Rosedale
Hotel Rosedale
#27 of 63 in Bakersfield
3.5 of 5 bubbles 311 reviews
0.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Bakersfield
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.5 mi away
Best Western Heritage Inn
Best Western Heritage Inn
#9 of 63 in Bakersfield
4.0 of 5 bubbles 286 reviews
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Bakersfield Central
4.3 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Bakersfield North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Lion Hotel Bakersfield? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Lion Hotel Bakersfield

Property: Red Lion Hotel Bakersfield
Address: 2620 Buck Owens Blvd, Bakersfield, CA 93308-6310 (Formerly Crystal Palace Inn & Suites)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Bakersfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 63 Hotels in Bakersfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Red Lion Hotel Bakersfield 3.5*
Number of rooms: 198
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A tropical Bakersfield, CA Hotel Near Downtown Welcome to a tropical oasis in the heart of Bakersfield. Red Lion Hotel Bakersfield is set amidst lush landscaping with an Olympic-sized swimming pool, soothing hot tub and relaxing courtyard, among other unique features. Suitable for business trips, family vacations, special events and groups, our Bakersfield, CA hotel is conveniently located within easy access of the vibrant downtown area, where guests will find a variety of shops, restaurants and attractions. Red Lion Hotel Bakersfield features 198 spacious and well-appointed guest rooms with amenities like 42" flat screen TVs with HBO and free Wi-Fi. Just outside your door, our hotel in Bakersfield, CA offers complimentary made-to-order breakfast every morning, a modern fitness center and 4,000 square feet of flexible meeting space. Centrally located to Freeway 99 and Highways 58 and 178, our Bakersfield hotel offers guests premier access to such attractions as the Kern County Fairgrounds, the Buck Owens Crystal Palace, Camelot Park and the Fox Theater. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Red Lion Hotel Bakersfield reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Crystal Palace Hotel Bakersfield
Best Western Bakersfield
Bakersfield Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing