We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“just okay for me”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Red Lion Hotel Bakersfield
Ranked #42 of 63 Hotels in Bakersfield
Reviewed 8 December 2013

nothing special about this place. Room was fair, bed needed more blankets to stay warm with. Jacuzzi was nice, but pool was not heated. Complimentary breakfast at their small restaurant was simple but good. As with most anyplace in Bakersfield, use hotel as only a place to sleep and then get the heck out of here!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tyler T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (638)
There are newer reviews for Red Lion Hotel Bakersfield
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

354 - 360 of 638 reviews

Reviewed 8 December 2013

The level of the hotel was rather low. When I stay at a Best Western, I don't expect a Hilton, but even within BW's own standards, this was one of the worst I've stayed at. The location was convenient for local facilities, but the car park was full on the first night, and the immediate area frequented by an alarming number of homeless people. Despite being given a '$2 off' voucher to dine in the restaurant, I took one look and decided to eat out. The rooms were large, and despite overlooking a gas station, reasonably quiet. But the furnishings were cheap and sparse, there were holes in the bed linen, the water pipes were running the whole time, and there was no elevator - not a big issue in my case, but it might be for some. And I have never, but never, been charged to use the in-room safe before. The receptionist took it off my bill when I complained, but it left a sour taste for the sake of making an extra buck out of your guests. The breakfast staff were reasonably friendly on the first morning, and less so on the second when they were busier. I had to ask for items that should have been provided or offered (coffee, butter for the toast), which were then pushed at me without a word as if I was being demanding. And that's despite a tip. The orange juice measure was the smallest I've ever encountered. Okay, I get it this hotel is running on a tight budget. But some of the cost-cutting measures created a lasting bad impression for the buck or two they actually saved.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Glynn K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2013

well i have stayed at other places and have had better stays this one was clean ...but one problem was the beds had no blankets on the bed called and asked for one and was told they would bring it to me they never did so i went to the desk and he again told me someone would bring it to me .well i never got one so i called at midnight and he tells me that he was trying to call manager to get the key to storage to get the blanket ...i told him never mind its not that big a deal but it would have been nice if they told me from the beggining that they did have any blankets

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Debbie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2013

Although this is an older motel it is very well kept with a very pleasing green courtyard and pool.
We liked the quiet location facing the pool area. The bathroom was clean with little perks like fragrant shampoo, and lotion. Overall a good experience at an attractive price.
The only downturn was the gym with only two out of four machines in working condition,

Room Tip: get a room facing the courtyard
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BeeVancouver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2013

Whatever you do don't stay at the Best Western on Buck Owens Blvd near the Crystal Palace in Bakersfield CA. It is beyond filthy dirty, old and I mean 1970's vintage carpeting and mattresses, I've seen better on the side of the road for trash pickup!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2013

I would reccomnend this place to anyone for a great place to stay from a day to a few weeks. they are very frindly and eager to help you. we enjoyed every day of our stay here, and I am sure you would also.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Ronbo55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2013

Staff seems to know who you are when you check in. Even let us check in early. Breakfast is order off a special menu with decent selection and a waitress who really made us feel welcome. Room was fine--decent value for the money--even more decent for us since we used points and stayed for free!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Helene H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bakersfield hotels
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Bakersfield Central
1.3 mi away
Red Roof Inn Bakersfield
Red Roof Inn Bakersfield
#17 of 63 in Bakersfield
145 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Rosedale
Hotel Rosedale
#27 of 63 in Bakersfield
335 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Bakersfield
Hilton Garden Inn Bakersfield
#8 of 63 in Bakersfield
567 reviews
0.4 mi away
Comfort Suites Bakersfield
Comfort Suites Bakersfield
#14 of 63 in Bakersfield
193 reviews
1.3 mi away
Ramada Limited Bakersfield North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Lion Hotel Bakersfield? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Lion Hotel Bakersfield

Address: 2620 Buck Owens Blvd, Bakersfield, CA 93308-6310 (Formerly Crystal Palace Inn & Suites)
Region: United States > California > Bakersfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 63 Hotels in Bakersfield
Price Range: £48 - £75 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Red Lion Hotel Bakersfield 3.5*
Number of rooms: 198
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Red Lion Hotel Bakersfield is a clean, comfortable, hotel with tropical themed landscaping featuring a crystal clear Olympic-sized swimming pool, soothing hot tub, relaxing courtyard, among other amenities. Red Lion hotel is conveniently located within easy access of downtown Bakersfield area which makes it suitable for business trips, family vacations, special events and groups. Red Lion Hotel Bakersfield features 198 spacious and well-appointed guest rooms with upgraded flat screen TV’s with HBO and free Wi-Fi. Complimentary made-to-order breakfast is provided each morning, along with a fitness center accessible to guests, and 4000 square feet of meeting space. This hotel is centrally located to Freeway 99, and Highways 58 and 178, making travel simple. Located conveniently near main Bakersfield attractions such as the Buck Owens Crystal Palace, Camelot Park, the Fox Theater, and the Kern County Fairgrounds, among others. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Red Lion Hotel Bakersfield reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Crystal Palace Hotel Bakersfield
Best Western Bakersfield
Bakersfield Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing