We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wouldn,t stay here again”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Red Lion Hotel Bakersfield
Ranked #32 of 62 Hotels in Bakersfield
pa
Level Contributor
28 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“wouldn,t stay here again”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2007

From the outside and from the lobby this place looks great. Our room and hallways had a very funky smell. The place is well worn. Lots of nice looking guests, I would guess they were fooled by the pretty lobby also. We received free breakfast at the restaurant next door. It opened at 6:00 we were the 5th and 6th persons to walk in and were not waited on til 6:20. Didn't receive our cold "hot breakfast" until 6:40. They had 2 waitresses on, and undoubtedly the restaurant knows they will be swamped for breakfast, the entire morning, but chooses not to have the staff to accomodate for this. I would definately not stay here again, far to many other options.

  • Liked — lobby
  • Disliked — room
  • Stayed May 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank southwestPa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

553 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    121
    163
    113
    79
    77
See reviews for
163
178
33
92
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tennessee
Level Contributor
64 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2007

My husband and I stayed here for one night while we were in town to see a concert at the Crystal Palace. The room was clean, comfortable and quiet. We had patio doors that opened up to the very pretty courtyard. It was a nice place to stay for a reasonable price.

  • Liked — The courtyard
  • Stayed November 2005, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ATennesseeTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
memphis,tn
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2007

We stayed this hotel when we're on the road back to San Franciso, the lobby is big,my husband waited for more than 20 minutes for the check in.We got our rooms on first floor(ground floor)When we entered the room,only one word came to mind "big", you still have many room which a 3-seater sofa was there(of course queen bed,tv,fridge all standard)They even put some end tables to fill up the room,can you imagine.I like the room is all the wire/cable were hidden ,the room looks clean,the coffee maker and a little refreshment bar right out of the bathroom.Well,let's talki about bathroom,the bathroom looks big and clean too,but when I turned on the shower(i just want to check not using it),I can see some hairs floating on the tub,I don't know if it is minor or not,but it really making the score low to me.

  • Stayed December 2006, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank lazydoggie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Front Office Manager at Red Lion Hotel Bakersfield, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. We strive to ensure all our guests are satisfied with their stay. We are sorry that we did not meet your expectations. I will pass the message to that department. I hope you give us a second chance. Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Luis Obispo
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2006

I checked in Oct 30, 2006 at past 3 PM. I then went out with my friends and when I came back to my room at past 12 midnight, a different group of hotel guests were in my room!!! They gave my room to another guest!!! I was given another room with faulty shower control.

This was the worst hotel I have been to. I complained to the customer service hotline. The explanation given was it is on a first come first serve basis! But I already checked in and got the room. I just went out to a night out with friends. Customer service said there is nothing they could do.

I will never use this hotel again.

  • Stayed October 2006, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank austriamd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Front Office Manager at Red Lion Hotel Bakersfield, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. We strive to ensure all our guests are satisfied with their stay. We are sorry that we did not meet your expectations. I will pass the message to that department. I hope you give us a second chance. Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Bakersfield hotels

Irvine, CA
Level Contributor
38 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 254 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2006

Since this was only going to be an overnighter, I was more interested in price and places to eat, than anything else. I couldn't beat the $56 price, compared to the 'fancier' places near the next exit off of Hwy 99. This BW is located next door to the Buck Owens Crystal Palace, whatever that is...

We entered a HUGE lobby that was already decorated for Haloween, just after dark Get this, they had FOUR agents working check-in. Although two of them were busy dealing with an irate man who's discount coupon was not being honored. After some swearing [and typical threats], he and his wife finally stomped-out.

Average size room with a bed and your standard overstuffed cloth chair, including medium-size fridge and microwave. Reasonable selection of cable TV but poor reception of local/network channels. The remote for the TV was barely functional [see photo]. It was one of those units that only controls power, volume [+/-], channel [+/-], and mute. Unfortunately the remote would not turn the TV on, that had to be done manually.

The room looked out into a large pool area surrounded by [real] rose bushes and plants. It was very pleasant. The pool was very large, but keep an eye on all those signs telling you that the pool is NOT heated. The jacuzzi seemed very popular after dark.

I complain quite a bit that I always get second story rooms. Now I know why they might be better. It had slipped my mind that in an elevated room, nobody is staying above you. In the future I will trade the inconvenience instead of the noise from above.

The sink area was located with the shower/toilet, which is inconvenient because the coffee maker is placed. Don't expect to be overwhelmed by personal ammenities. Near the sink there is a small, lonely wicker basket [about the size of a softball] which contained a one bar of soap and a shampoo [see photo]. On the wall of the shower, there was a dispensing contraption attached. I have seen these before, but this one did not indicate what exactly was in it [see photo]. Since I was supplied with a small shampoo, I had to assume it was bathing soap, which it indeed was.

WiFi set-up and configuration worked fine.

The hotel has an adjacent restaurant that appears more suited for breakfast than any other dining. Upon check-in we were given small, dated coupons for breakfast. Since this was not a continental breakfast, you are offered a choice of two-eggs, sausage or bacon, hash browns. choice of toast or muffin, and coffee OR [very small] juice. The breakfast was adequate and would have cost $10 at Denny's anyway.

Speaking of Denny's, there is one right across the street, and not much else. The hotel is also right next to an AM/PM. The closest 'decent' restaurant is a short drive under Hwy 99, The Hungry Hunter. They have excellent steaks and very attentive service. However, if you are staying at this BW, the Hungry Hunter may not be the place for you [$$$].

Next to the hotel restaurant, there is a bar with a C&W theme. Tuesday night was not there best night for a few beers though, as it was BAD kareoke night. I mean, REALLY BAD! Thank God for that AM/PM MiniMart that sold beer!

The BW was full that night [on a Tuesday?], and although the parking lot was enormous, it can fill-up quickly, especially with large trucks and trailers.

I can understand that their short cuts are required to keep prices reasonable. They are trying their best to make the place appear respectable. Sure the rooms have a few bumps and bruises, much like a nick or two on a small piece of fruit. In the end, you still buy the fruit, and it tastes fine. If you want easy freeway access for a night, at a low- to mid-level price, stay here and you wont have too many complaints the next morning.

  • Liked — Good price and easy freeway access.
  • Tips/Secrets — Research the price carefully, you may find some good deals!
  • Stayed October 2006, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank airlinestuff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Front Office Manager at Red Lion Hotel Bakersfield, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your stay. We are so happy your stay was comfortable; it tells us we are doing something right. Your positive comments are greatly appreciated and glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Come visit us again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
107 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2006

My wife and I stayed here overnight on our way from Las Vegas to San Francisco. We found the staff cheerful and courteous. The room was large and clean, and the facilities were good. The swimming pool area is fantastic, like an oasis in the desert, if you have kids travelling with you I believe they will find this area to be fun. Don't expect 5 star, it isn't, but it is good value if you want somewhere clean and close to the downtown area. We would have no hesitation staying here again if the opportunity arose.

  • Stayed May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Navek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Front Office Manager at Red Lion Hotel Bakersfield, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Thank you for your recent comments regarding your stay with us.
We are delighted to hear that our staff offered a helping hand for you and you’re. We are pride ourselves on guestroom cleanliness and I’m so happy that you took notice and experience we appreciate your business hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2006

Used this motel for one night, whilst in transit from Las Vegas.
No problems. Easy to find.
Very helpful staff.
Clean, with a nice pool and barbacue area.
Recommended

  • Stayed May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Guest Relations Manager at Red Lion Hotel Bakersfield, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Thank you for your recent comments regarding your stay with us.
We are delighted to hear that our staff offered a helping hand for you and you’re. We are pride ourselves on guestroom cleanliness and I’m so happy that you took notice and experience the results of the staff’s hard work.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bakersfield hotels
1.3 mi away
Red Roof Inn Bakersfield
Red Roof Inn Bakersfield
#20 of 62 in Bakersfield
3.5 of 5 bubbles 118 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Rosedale
Hotel Rosedale
#26 of 62 in Bakersfield
3.5 of 5 bubbles 308 reviews
0.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Bakersfield
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN Heritage Inn
BEST WESTERN Heritage Inn
#9 of 62 in Bakersfield
4.0 of 5 bubbles 278 reviews
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Bakersfield Central
4.3 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Bakersfield North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Lion Hotel Bakersfield? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Lion Hotel Bakersfield

Property: Red Lion Hotel Bakersfield
Address: 2620 Buck Owens Blvd, Bakersfield, CA 93308-6310 (Formerly Crystal Palace Inn & Suites)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Bakersfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 62 Hotels in Bakersfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Red Lion Hotel Bakersfield 3.5*
Number of rooms: 198
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A tropical Bakersfield, CA Hotel Near Downtown Welcome to a tropical oasis in the heart of Bakersfield. Red Lion Hotel Bakersfield is set amidst lush landscaping with an Olympic-sized swimming pool, soothing hot tub and relaxing courtyard, among other unique features. Suitable for business trips, family vacations, special events and groups, our Bakersfield, CA hotel is conveniently located within easy access of the vibrant downtown area, where guests will find a variety of shops, restaurants and attractions. Red Lion Hotel Bakersfield features 198 spacious and well-appointed guest rooms with amenities like 42" flat screen TVs with HBO and free Wi-Fi. Just outside your door, our hotel in Bakersfield, CA offers complimentary made-to-order breakfast every morning, a modern fitness center and 4,000 square feet of flexible meeting space. Centrally located to Freeway 99 and Highways 58 and 178, our Bakersfield hotel offers guests premier access to such attractions as the Kern County Fairgrounds, the Buck Owens Crystal Palace, Camelot Park and the Fox Theater. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Red Lion Hotel Bakersfield reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Crystal Palace Hotel Bakersfield
Best Western Bakersfield
Bakersfield Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing