We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I would NEVER stay here again!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Courtyard Bakersfield
Ranked #22 of 63 Hotels in Bakersfield
Reviewed 30 January 2014 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here for 1 night and found that the front desk staff and the breakfast staff were very rude!

I have been a Marriott rewards member since about 1994 and I have generally been very happy with their properties and the service provided.

I have been a platinum member, gold member, and I am currently a silver member and I would not stay here!

There are plenty of other options, so there is no need to tolerate being treated rudely.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank ScenicWeddings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BFLCHGM, General Manager at Courtyard Bakersfield, responded to this reviewResponded 31 January 2014

Hello ScenicWeddings- Thank you for taking the time to comment about your latest stay at the hotel. I would like to discuss further any details you may have of the situation, so that I may conduct training with any individual that did not meet the Marriott standards. Please feel free to contact me at Jenny.gatlin@marriott.com.

Thank you for your time and I look forward to hearing from you.

Jenny Gatlin
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (195)
There are newer reviews for Courtyard Bakersfield
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

98 - 104 of 195 reviews

Reviewed 28 January 2014 via mobile

This was a nice property but outside the hotel stunk like a garbage dump and the service personnel stunk even worse. My wife and I stayed here for on night and thought everything was good until the morning when we went to have the breakfast we paid for. We paid for 4 meals and only used 2 of them and when my wife asked for orange juice the server rudely said she could only have a child's apple juice. Not happy with the treatment from this server we went on with this breakfast. Then upon checking our banking we say we had been severely over charge on our card so we went to the front desk who were even more rude and inquired about this and they said ever hotel charges extras for incidentals. Well that is a lie being a business traveler that uses hotels over 50 nights a year. I do not see extra charge unless I was notified prior to the charge. Just very poor customer service and never lie it will not be good in the end.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
2  Thank TreyTomsik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BFLCHGM, General Manager at Courtyard Bakersfield, responded to this reviewResponded 29 January 2014

Mr. Tomsik-

Thank you for taking the time to express how your recent stay went at the Courtyard. I apologize if there was any confusion on the authorization that was placed on your debit card. All major hotels including Marriott and Hiltons authorize for room and tax plus an additional small amount for any incidental charges you may charge to your room. Upon checking out if those funds are not used, they are returned to your account. We must do this in order for guests to be able to charge anything to their room. There was never a lie or false statement said, and I apologize if you feel you were treated in a less than professional manner. Please feel free to contact me at 661-324-6660 if you have any further questions or concerns.

Jenny Gatlin
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2013

Stayed here after a long 12 hour drive. We just wanted something with a hot tub and close to freeway. Bed was comfortable and hot tub was really really nice. We had dinner at the hotels "Bistro". Very spendy for the food quality I thought. The front desk employee seemed rude. Not a bad place, but probably would stay somewhere else next time.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kevin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BFLCHGM, General Manager at Courtyard Bakersfield, responded to this reviewResponded 26 December 2013

Happy Holidays Kevin G. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Please email me at jenny.gatlin@marriott.com with your name so I may look into who checked you into the hotel. Service is very important to us and would like to follow up with the associate.

Best Wishes,
Jenny Gatlin
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2013

After driving all day from Phoenix it was so nice to get to the Courtyard and have a really comfortable bed with nice pillows to sleep on. My husband really enjoyed using the hot tub to unwind and relax after the long day. The property is very well maintained and it was good value for the money.

We were concerned when we parked our car, however, as they have signs up everywhere warning you that you are leaving your vehicle unattended is at your risk and they accept no responsibility for any damage to your vehicle or loss of possessions. I don't know whether they have a lot of thefts in this area but it really is disconcerting.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vbrother
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BFLCHGM, General Manager at Courtyard Bakersfield, responded to this reviewResponded 26 December 2013

Thank you vbrother for your kind words regarding your stay here in Bakersfield.

Sincerely,
Jenny Gatlin
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2013 via mobile

Very nice courtyard with bistro serving a variety of casual food. Nice seating area to enjoy it while watching tv. Clean and well appointed rooms. Excellent value. We will return when passing through again.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
Thank Jvt560
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BFLCHGM, General Manager at Courtyard Bakersfield, responded to this reviewResponded 23 December 2013

I'm excited to hear that you enjoyed your stay here at the Bakersfield Courtyard and hope you return during your next trip to the area.

Best Wishes,

Jenny Gatlin
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2013

We arrived around 9pm on Thursday night for check in, minimal rooms available, we got a "king handicapped room" the shower was a walk in shower, was very clean, the room was cramped due to the king size bed. I described it to my husband that it felt like stuffing Shaquill O'Neil's shoes into an average sized shoe box, he laughed, other than that it was nice. I'd stay here again, the coffee was bitter.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Suzi B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BFLCHGM, General Manager at Courtyard Bakersfield, responded to this reviewResponded 23 December 2013

Thank you Suzi B for your most recent comments regarding the hotel. Unfortunately, the layout of the accessible rooms are a bit different than our standard rooms, but I'm glad you got a good nights sleep. The bathroom in those rooms are larger and do have a walk in shower. Please note that Starbucks is available 15 hours per day in the lobby if you would like a different tasting coffee.

Best Wishes,

Jenny Gatlin
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2013

The people at this hotel were very polite and helpful, and the layout was a standard Courtyard you'd find anywhere else. This hotel is very convenient to the highway, great if you're passing through. The only downside is that it's located a few blocks from a recycling center, so depending on the wind/weather, there's a pretty foul smell outside. This does not affect inside the hotel at all, just outside in the parking lot.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lawrencemon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BFLCHGM, General Manager at Courtyard Bakersfield, responded to this reviewResponded 23 December 2013

Thank you Lawrencemon for your most recent post and stay at the Bakersfield Courtyard. You are correct in saying we are nicely located and have a great updated and renovated hotel. I have never heard of the issue of the recycling shop down the street but will look into it further.

Best Wishes,

Jenny Gatlin
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bakersfield hotels
0.1 mi away
SpringHill Suites Bakersfield
SpringHill Suites Bakersfield
#11 of 63 in Bakersfield
272 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Bakersfield
Hilton Garden Inn Bakersfield
#8 of 63 in Bakersfield
567 reviews
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Bakersfield
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Comfort Suites Bakersfield
Comfort Suites Bakersfield
#14 of 63 in Bakersfield
193 reviews
0.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Bakersfield
0.8 mi away
Residence Inn Bakersfield
Residence Inn Bakersfield
#15 of 63 in Bakersfield
135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Bakersfield? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Bakersfield

Address: 3601 Marriott Drive, Bakersfield, CA 93308-6248
Region: United States > California > Bakersfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 63 Hotels in Bakersfield
Price Range: £63 - £106 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Bakersfield 3*
Number of rooms: 146
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Take travel to the next level at Courtyard Bakersfield. As one of the premier hotels in Bakersfield, California, we invite you to indulge in the perfect mix of comfort and convenience. Enjoy easy access to exciting attractions including Kern River, Lake Isabella, Buck Owens Crystal Palace and Bakersfield Speedway. Back at the hotel, retreat to relaxing accommodations featuring free Wi-Fi, spacious work desks, luxurious bedding, mini refrigerators and plenty of space for the whole family to spread out. When it's time to fuel up for adventures, The Bistro - Eat. Drink. Connect.® makes mouths water with refreshing morning favorites, as well as specialty Starbucks® beverages. Dinner and evening cocktails are also served on site, giving guests the space to socialize while satisfying their cravings. During downtime, enjoy a brisk workout in our state-of-the-art fitness center, or make a splash in our sparkling outdoor pool. Book your stay today and experience better travel for yourself! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Courtyard Bakersfield reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Bakersfield Hotel Bakersfield
Bakersfield Courtyard
Bakersfield Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing