We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a nice stay in Bakersfield - Courtyard”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Courtyard Bakersfield
Ranked #21 of 63 Hotels in Bakersfield
Reviewed 9 June 2014

As usual I rely on Marriott for my travel and stays on the road. Clean and friendly. I must have reserved on the wrong day and arrived the next day which I had thought I had reserved; 2 rooms. Unfortunately I was charged for the no show for the night before; 2 rooms. My bad...but I have never been billed if I missed a reservation especially when the hotel wasn't sold out.

That being said the hotel was nice and I would stay again.

Room Tip: If you can view the courtyard it's nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JMMcD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BFLCHGM, General Manager at Courtyard Bakersfield, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2014

Thank you JMMcD for choosing the Courtyard by Marriott. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay, and if you will contact me we can discuss the second room charge.

Regards,

Jenny Gatlin
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (197)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

89 - 95 of 197 reviews

Reviewed 8 June 2014 via mobile

This was my second time here in a week, the first time I had literally arrived at ten am and left at 6am, and I was just passing thru on my drive from Las Vegas to San Francisco. This is a trip I do often for business and I have started breaking it up with a night in Bakersfield. It is clean and comfortable the staff is very sweet. Just two things I need to mention, one is that you can't get a cup of coffee before 7am, being that this is right on the highway, I would think they would have coffee available by 6 am, but I was told to go across to the doubletree if I couldn't wait 30 minutes. The other thing was the pool, it's June and 100 degrees outside, I expected the pool to be a nice temperature, but the water was freezing and the towels were the size of kitchen dish towels. Next time I will try the Doubletree.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
1  Thank Jsandh694
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BFLCHGM, General Manager at Courtyard Bakersfield, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2014

Thank you for staying while passing through on your business trips. I apologize if there was a mix up with getting coffee at any time throughout the day, as our Starbucks is available 24 hours per day. And as far as the pool, it is heated to 78 year round. I will look into the situations and ensure that these issues get resolved promptly.

Regards,

Jenny Gatlin
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014 via mobile

My Husband and I stayed at the Courtyard Marriott Bakersfield for one night as part of our trip around the US. The service from the person on check in was very good and she was friendly and polite. We have gold status with Marriott rewards and expected breakfast to be included as part of our stay. At this particular hotel it is not the case but the check in employee explained this to us politely and handled all our other enquiries in the same way.
Our room was on the ground floor with a sliding door opening the the car park. The screen was a little broken and didn't seem to close properly. It was very hot anyway so we had the aircon and the door closed. The room was very nice and spacious with a comfortable king bed and nice TV. The bar fridge was welcome as we have found many hotels in the US don't seem to have them as standard. I have milk in my coffee and would have liked some complementary UHT portions to go with the sugar etc. However I was able to buy a small milk from the bistro.
The bathroom was clean and adequate in size and design. I was disappointed in the complimentary toiletries that were offered. We travel light and rely on the soap, shampoo and conditioner in the hotels where we stay. This particular Marriott only had a tiny bottle of shampoo and conditioner for the two of us to share and two bars of soap. There was no shower cap or shower wash or moisturizer/body lotion.
So overall a very nice place to spend the night but could supply more complimentary toiletries.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank RosF800
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BFLCHGM, General Manager at Courtyard Bakersfield, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2014

Thank you so much for the kind words and I'm glad you enjoyed your stay at the Bakersfield Courtyard. Unlike the full service Marriott's, the Select Service Brands do not offer as many amenties in the room, but many can be gotten at the front desk, such as lotion and shower caps. Again, thank you and please think of us the next time you travel through Bakersfield.

Jenny Gatlin
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2014

Had a bad experience on a previous night so we went with a sure thing by staying at a Marriott. They did not disappoint. Clean property centrally located and comfortable bed. The only suggestion is that they have complimentary good coffee and some light breakfast for guests. It seems most others do provide that and Marriott commands a fair price for their room.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank TLgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BFLCHGM, General Manager at Courtyard Bakersfield, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2014

Thank you TL Girl for staying with us on your way to Vegas. We are a great stop for travelers such as yourself. I know it can be a bit confusing, but Courtyard and Full Service properties are the only brands that do not have complimentary breakfast, rather offer a great Bistro and coffee in your room.

Regards,

Jenny Gatlin
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2014

Stayed here because the Hilton Garden Inn couldn't help me. Carlos the night concierge was very helpful and accomodating. The room was very nice, clean and spacious. The free breakfast was woderfull. the beds and pillows were very comfortable. Oh and it was about 20.00 cheaper than the Hilton Garden Inn. I would definitely recommend for anyone coming to the bakersfield area

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pat L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BFLCHGM, General Manager at Courtyard Bakersfield, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2014

Thank you Pat L for the kind remarks and I'm so glad you enjoyed our hotel. Please think of us the next time you are in town, and hopefully we swayed you for all future stays.

Jenny Gatlin
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2014 via mobile

There were a few changes that need to be made to this hotel. One, the TV goes in and out like your watching satellite TV. This was experiences in other rooms as well with my coworkers. Two the shower could use a little more pressure. I know they like to conserve water but, it's hard to wash your hair when it's kinda low. Other than those 2 things. The hotel was great, friendly workers and located in a great area with lots of restaurants to choose from.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
Thank Alan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BFLCHGM, General Manager at Courtyard Bakersfield, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2014

Thank you for choosing the Bakersfield Courtyard and the suggestions you made regarding the room. Our staff loves what they do and I'm glad you enjoyed your stay.

Regards,

Jenny Gatlin
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for one night on our way to Las Vegas. Great value for money, room was excellent. Best part was the free breakfast the next morning eggs, fruit, pastries, toast, cereal etc was a great inclusion to our stay. Would definitely recommend to anyone coming to Bakersfield.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Staceismint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BFLCHGM, General Manager at Courtyard Bakersfield, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2014

Glad we were able to accommodate you while coming through Bakersfield and you were able to participate in the Breakfast included rates.

Best Wishes,
Jenny Gatlin
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bakersfield hotels
0.1 mi away
SpringHill Suites Bakersfield
SpringHill Suites Bakersfield
#11 of 63 in Bakersfield
278 reviews
1.6 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Bakersfield
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Bakersfield
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Residence Inn Bakersfield
Residence Inn Bakersfield
#15 of 63 in Bakersfield
137 reviews
0.1 mi away
Comfort Suites Bakersfield
Comfort Suites Bakersfield
#13 of 63 in Bakersfield
197 reviews
2.1 mi away
Bakersfield Marriott at the Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Bakersfield? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Bakersfield

Address: 3601 Marriott Drive, Bakersfield, CA 93308-6248
Region: United States > California > Bakersfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 63 Hotels in Bakersfield
Price Range: £64 - £102 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Bakersfield 3*
Number of rooms: 146
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Take travel to the next level at Courtyard Bakersfield. As one of the premier hotels in Bakersfield, California, we invite you to indulge in the perfect mix of comfort and convenience. Enjoy easy access to exciting attractions including Kern River, Lake Isabella, Buck Owens Crystal Palace and Bakersfield Speedway. Back at the hotel, retreat to relaxing accommodations featuring free Wi-Fi, spacious work desks, luxurious bedding, mini refrigerators and plenty of space for the whole family to spread out. When it's time to fuel up for adventures, The Bistro - Eat. Drink. Connect.® makes mouths water with refreshing morning favorites, as well as specialty Starbucks® beverages. Dinner and evening cocktails are also served on site, giving guests the space to socialize while satisfying their cravings. During downtime, enjoy a brisk workout in our state-of-the-art fitness center, or make a splash in our sparkling outdoor pool. Book your stay today and experience better travel for yourself! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Courtyard Bakersfield reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Bakersfield Hotel Bakersfield
Bakersfield Courtyard
Bakersfield Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing